| Author | 
					Message | 
				
				
  | 
| 
 | 
  | 
| 
Advert
 | 
  
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
 - No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
 
 - Times and dates in your local timezone.
 
 - Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
 
 - Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
 
 - Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
  If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |   
  
  
 
 | 
				 
				
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:28:28
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers (Airborne Rule) 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Damsel of the Lady
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									Here's the scenario:
  
 An Alarus Custodes Shield-Captain has the Praetorian Plate relic.  The relic allows him to teleport within 1" of an enemy that is in combat with his designated character.  Here, found a quote I can copy for the Plate:
 
  
  At the end of your opponent's Charge phase, if there is an enemy model within 1" of that character, you can remove the bearer from the battlefield (if they are on the battlefield) and, even if they were not on the battlefield, set them up within 3" of that character and within 1" of an enemy model. The bearer is not considered to have charged.
    
 
 Let's assume he chose Celestine and she is in combat with a Fire Raptor.
 
  Since he's within 1" of the Flyrant, can he fight it even though he doesn't have Fly?
 
  Not quoting a lot of rules because I'm on a phone.  Apologies in advance 
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							| 
								
								 This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/03/26 23:48:47 
							
    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:43:14
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Norn Queen
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									Audustum wrote:Here's the scenario:   An Alarus Custodes Shield-Captain has the Praetorian Plate relic.  The relic allows him to teleport within 1" of an enemy that is in combat with his designated character.  Here, found a quote I can copy for the Plate:     At the end of your opponent's Charge phase, if there is an enemy model within 1" of that character, you can remove the bearer from the battlefield (if they are on the battlefield) and, even if they were not on the battlefield, set them up within 3" of that character and within 1" of an enemy model. The bearer is not considered to have charged.  
    Let's assume he chose Celestine and she is in combat with one of those new Flyrants that were all over Adepticon.   Since he's within 1" of the Flyrant, can he fight it even though he doesn't have Fly?   Not quoting a lot of rules because I'm on a phone.  Apologies in advance   
 You're confusing the FLY keyword and the Airborne rule often given to Flyer Battlefield Role units. FLY has no effect whatsoever (by default) in the Fight Phase, it only affects movement, what happens when you Fall Back, and some weapons are better at shooting units that can FLY.
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							| 
								
								 This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/26 23:44:10 
							
    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:44:47
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Damsel of the Lady
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									     BaconCatBug wrote:Audustum wrote:Here's the scenario:
 
  An Alarus Custodes Shield-Captain has the Praetorian Plate relic.  The relic allows him to teleport within 1" of an enemy that is in combat with his designated character.  Here, found a quote I can copy for the Plate:
 
  
  At the end of your opponent's Charge phase, if there is an enemy model within 1" of that character, you can remove the bearer from the battlefield (if they are on the battlefield) and, even if they were not on the battlefield, set them up within 3" of that character and within 1" of an enemy model. The bearer is not considered to have charged.
    
 
 Let's assume he chose Celestine and she is in combat with one of those new Flyrants that were all over Adepticon.
 
  Since he's within 1" of the Flyrant, can he fight it even though he doesn't have Fly?
 
  Not quoting a lot of rules because I'm on a phone.  Apologies in advance   
 You're confusing the FLY keyword and the Airborne rule often given to Flyer Battlefield Role units. FLY has no effect whatsoever (by default) in the Fight Phase, it only affects movement, what happens when you Fall Back, and some weapons are better at shooting units that can FLY.  
 
 You are right, of course.  Change terms, same question.  I made an edit to hopefully clarify.
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							| 
								
								 This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/03/26 23:46:07 
							
    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:47:08
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Norn Queen
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									If you mean "What happens when I put him 1" from a flyer?" the answer is nothing. The Airborne rule prevents the Flyer from being charged by units without FLY and being attacked or attacking the same, for this very reason (What if something gets to within 1" without charging).   In short, you can activate them in the fight phase to pile in if you really want, but he won't get to attack the Flyer. Likewise the Flyer can do the same.   Also unless your selected Character can FLY, he can't be in combat with an Airborne unit anyway.
							  
							
						 | 
					
						
							| 
								
								 This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/03/26 23:48:39 
							
    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:51:32
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Damsel of the Lady
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									  BaconCatBug wrote:If you mean "What happens when I put him 1" from a flyer?" the answer is nothing. The Airborne rule prevents the Flyer from being charged by units without FLY and being attacked or attacking the same, for this very reason (What if something gets to within 1" without charging).
 
  In short, you can activate them in the fight phase to pile in if you really want, but he won't get to attack the Flyer. Likewise the Flyer can do the same.
 
  Also unless your selected Character can FLY, he can't be in combat with an Airborne unit anyway.  
 
 Well, I picked Celestine in the example scenario, who can fly.  Fair enough though.  I never use the darn things so I don't really use the airborne rule or know it off the cuff.
							  
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:54:32
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Norn Queen
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									Audustum wrote:Well, I picked Celestine in the example scenario, who can fly.  Fair enough though.  I never use the darn things so I don't really use the airborne rule or know it off the cuff.  
 Celestine can FLY, but isn't an Airborne Flyer. Against Celestine or a Flyrant, it's no different in Combat to any other Infantry or Monster unit.
 
  A Flyer is something like a Valkyrie or Stormraven.
							  
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:56:58
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Damsel of the Lady
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									  BaconCatBug wrote:Audustum wrote:Well, I picked Celestine in the example scenario, who can fly.  Fair enough though.  I never use the darn things so I don't really use the airborne rule or know it off the cuff.  
 Celestine can FLY, but isn't an Airborne Flyer. Against Celestine or a Flyrant, it's no different in Combat to any other Infantry or Monster unit.
 
  A Flyer is something like a Valkyrie or Stormraven.  
 
 No, I said the Praetorian Plate was targeted on Celestine and she charged the airborne unit.  Since she has Fly, it kicks in and THEN the Plate is resolved.  I didn't edit that part     
							 
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/26 23:58:42
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Norn Queen
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							
									Audustum wrote:No, I said the Praetorian Plate was targeted on Celestine and she charged the airborne unit.  Since she has Fly, it kicks in and THEN the Plate is resolved.  I didn't edit that part      
 Oh I get ya. Then yeah you can still attack Celestine no problem.
							  
							
						 | 
					
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/27 07:04:24
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers (Airborne Rule) 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Never Forget Isstvan!
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									I think were running into some confusion here.
  
  
  Praetorian plate works a bit different than your trying to use it anyway.
  
  
  The relic lets you select a character you have in your army, and deep strike within 3" of that character and within 1" of an enemy unit that charged said character (basically heroic intervention from deep strike).
  
  
  If Celestine charged the Fire Raptor, the plate would not activate, since the fire raptor did not charge her.
  
  
  If for some reason, a Supersonic flyer did charge Celestine, you would have permission to place the PP user within 1" of the flyer (and thus possibly attack it in the fight phase).
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
 http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG   | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/27 07:40:15
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers (Airborne Rule) 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Longtime Dakkanaut
	 
 
	
	
	 
	
 
		
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									But airborne prevents the flyer from charging, so this shouldn't come up?
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
 DFTT   | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
	
					
						  | 
					
					
						
	
				
		![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif)  2018/03/27 09:13:16
	  
	    Subject: Praetorian Plate and Fighting Flyers (Airborne Rule) 
	
 						 | 
					
					  | 
					
						
						
 
 
                            Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
	 
 
 
 						 | 
		
						
						
							 
									Caestus Assault Ram is about the only thing that fits here
							 
							
						 | 
					
						
							
							
   Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"    | 
						
		
					 
						| 
						 | 
					
					
						  | 
					
		
				
		
				  | 
				
					| 
						
					 |