Switch Theme:

Where is "before the battle" or "during deployment" said to be a phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Twisting Tzeentch Horror






So, for the purposes of spending stratagems, are "before the battle" or "during deployment" treated as a phase? I know they should be, but where is the rules.

This is for stratagems saying "before the battle" and "during deployment" rather than once per battle.

I know that in one of the designers commentarys they said you could spend as many strategems and CP as you want, but can't remember if it had any restrictions for spending the same stratagem.

So if you were to take 5 different relics in your army, 1 free and 4 paid for with the stratagem you would only have to pay 4 CP rather than 6.

Right?

 insaniak wrote:

You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy.
 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




I'm not sure which of these stratagems you're referring to, but I believe all of them have the "You can only use this stratagem once per battle" restriction. Tau certainly do.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I don't think it is a specific errata or FAQ as much as it is a clarification:

You can only use a stratagem once per phase in matched play.

Deployment is not a phase, thus that restriction no longer applies.

Before the 1st Player's turn is still not during a phase, so again, the restriction is not in place.

A command reroll I believe specifically was changed to only being able to be used during a phase, and not on rolls to see if the game continues, weather abates, blah.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Completely unexepectedly, the Strategic Discipline rule itself says it, "does not affect Stratagems that are not used during a phase, such as those used ‘before the battle begins’ or ‘at the end of a battle round’."

The relic stratagems I believe all either are stated to only be able to be used once per battle, or have been FAQed to say so, so too are in the rules themselves.
   
Made in ca
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






It's in an FAQ but you can use the same strat as many times as you want prior to the turns. This is why alpha legion can infultrate multiple units using their forward operative stratagem

To many unpainted models to count. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

There are many stratagems which can be used outside of phases as many times as you want to. Until you run out of CP.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Deployment is not a phase, nor is before the battle. Thus you can use those stratagems any number of times unless something else says otherwise.
   
Made in gb
Twisting Tzeentch Horror






Ok, nice.
Thanks guys

 insaniak wrote:

You can choose to focus on the parts of a hobby that make you unhappy, or you can choose to focus on the parts that you enjoy.
 
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

The Eldar deep strike stratagem lets you deepstrike 1 unit for 1 CP, or 2 units for 3 CP.
If I can use this stratagem more than once before the battle, why would I ever pay 3 CP?
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Nivoglibina wrote:
The Eldar deep strike stratagem lets you deepstrike 1 unit for 1 CP, or 2 units for 3 CP.
If I can use this stratagem more than once before the battle, why would I ever pay 3 CP?


Because that stratagem also says it can only be used once.

DFTT 
   
Made in nl
Emboldened Warlock





Groningen

Captyn_Bob wrote:
 Nivoglibina wrote:
The Eldar deep strike stratagem lets you deepstrike 1 unit for 1 CP, or 2 units for 3 CP.
If I can use this stratagem more than once before the battle, why would I ever pay 3 CP?


Because that stratagem also says it can only be used once.


Oh right, thanks! How did I miss that...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: