Switch Theme:

When can you make a Heroic Intervention?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




When are you able to make a heroic intervention? There are some that think you are able to heroically intervene with a character for any unit within 3", not just those in combat or those that have charged. Additionally, there is confusion as to whether a unit can heroically intervene if the enemy made no charge moves this turn.

For example, a Tau Commander falls back from my Custodes Captain within 3" and doesn't charge anything in his charge phase...am I allowed to heroically intervene to fight him anyways, ignoring his overwatch as I did not charge him?

Relevant rules I could find:

Heroic Intervention (Page 182 Rulebook) - "After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your characters that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model."

Designer Commentary FAQ (See Attached) - "Q: Can CHARACTERS only perform a Heroic Intervention against enemy units that charged this turn, or can they do so against any enemy unit?
A: They can do so against any enemy unit."

My interpretation is you can heroically intervene and fight the Tau commander in the situation above, what do ya'll think?
   
Made in ca
Librarian with Freaky Familiar






Seems pretty clear to me on how and when you can do it.

To many unpainted models to count. 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter




DEATHBYSMILEY wrote:
My interpretation is you can heroically intervene and fight the Tau commander in the situation above, what do ya'll think?


I'd agree with your interpretation.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can only fight if you end up within 1 inch, but aye otherwise legal.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ice_can wrote:
You can only fight if you end up within 1 inch, but aye otherwise legal.


You need to be within 3" of an enemy unit for HI to begin with, so a 2" move would always get you within 1 inch of an enemy (and you're allowed up to 3"). If anything, it could be the inverse. You could be within 3.5 inch and, theoretically, be able to get into close combat (within 1 inch) with a 3 inch move, but you cannot HI, because you're outside of 3" to active HI.
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






Sunny Side Up wrote:
Ice_can wrote:
You can only fight if you end up within 1 inch, but aye otherwise legal.


You need to be within 3" of an enemy unit for HI to begin with, so a 2" move would always get you within 1 inch of an enemy (and you're allowed up to 3"). If anything, it could be the inverse. You could be within 3.5 inch and, theoretically, be able to get into close combat (within 1 inch) with a 3 inch move, but you cannot HI, because you're outside of 3" to active HI.


You still need to adhere to the movement rules. The 3" distance can be blocked by your own units and you would need to take a 6" detour around them to get into 1" of the enemy.

@OP: I agree, totally legal move.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Hanskrampf wrote:
Sunny Side Up wrote:
Ice_can wrote:
You can only fight if you end up within 1 inch, but aye otherwise legal.


You need to be within 3" of an enemy unit for HI to begin with, so a 2" move would always get you within 1 inch of an enemy (and you're allowed up to 3"). If anything, it could be the inverse. You could be within 3.5 inch and, theoretically, be able to get into close combat (within 1 inch) with a 3 inch move, but you cannot HI, because you're outside of 3" to active HI.


You still need to adhere to the movement rules. The 3" distance can be blocked by your own units and you would need to take a 6" detour around them to get into 1" of the enemy.

@OP: I agree, totally legal move.
Commanders can FLY
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Hanskrampf wrote:
Sunny Side Up wrote:
Ice_can wrote:
You can only fight if you end up within 1 inch, but aye otherwise legal.


You need to be within 3" of an enemy unit for HI to begin with, so a 2" move would always get you within 1 inch of an enemy (and you're allowed up to 3"). If anything, it could be the inverse. You could be within 3.5 inch and, theoretically, be able to get into close combat (within 1 inch) with a 3 inch move, but you cannot HI, because you're outside of 3" to active HI.


You still need to adhere to the movement rules. The 3" distance can be blocked by your own units and you would need to take a 6" detour around them to get into 1" of the enemy.

@OP: I agree, totally legal move.
Commanders can FLY


True, though there still needs to be space to fit the base in. It's conceivable that an enemy model is 3" away, and that the nearest space your model's base can fit in that is within 1" of the enemy model is more than 3" away.
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





Huh? Heroic intervention on your own turn? That doesn't seem right. Enemy even cannot make any charge moves...

Well guess that's RAW but that is ignored here for sure.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in nl
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker



Somewhere around fenris

He is heroicly intervening during the opponents turn as the commander moved way within 4 inches during the movement fase
wich would be legal even if you opponent didnt charge

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/06 11:31:44


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: