Switch Theme:

Can one and the same psyker attempt to manifest Smites more than once in a psychic phase?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






torblind wrote:
I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
No. BRB Page 178: "A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn." Even if you could manifest 43 powers, only 1 can be Smite.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/02 22:12:12


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 BaconCatBug wrote:
torblind wrote:
I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
No. BRB Page 178: "A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn." Even if you could manifest 43 powers, only 1 can be Smite.


Didnt Ahriman have some sort of exception?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Desubot wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
torblind wrote:
I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
No. BRB Page 178: "A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn." Even if you could manifest 43 powers, only 1 can be Smite.


Didnt Ahriman have some sort of exception?
Not that i can see.
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
torblind wrote:
I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
No. BRB Page 178: "A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn." Even if you could manifest 43 powers, only 1 can be Smite.


Didnt Ahriman have some sort of exception?
Not that i can see.


Im probably thinking of the previous edition where he could cast 3 spells of the same kind or something stupid.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 Desubot wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Desubot wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
torblind wrote:
I'm hearing both answers to this, and the FAQ/Errata/Rule update situation in 40k is somewhat hard to keep track of. From what I see in my original rule book he could not, as he cannot cast one power more than once, with no exception for Smite. The matched play rule on page 215 seems to be mistaken by some to grant them this, but in the English words used there, it clearly isn't the case.
No. BRB Page 178: "A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn." Even if you could manifest 43 powers, only 1 can be Smite.


Didnt Ahriman have some sort of exception?
Not that i can see.


Im probably thinking of the previous edition where he could cast 3 spells of the same kind or something stupid.


Yeah, in 7th he had a special workaround. Now he just gets +1.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: