Switch Theme:

Entropic Strike - first attack?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





"Invulnerable saves cannot be taken against the first close combat attack made by this character this phase."

What is a "first attack"?

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

It means the first attack you roll and resolve per the 'Resolve Attacks' step.

That means if you fluff your first attack's roll to hit you don't benefit from the rule.
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




What a lot of people mix up or forget about is that technically all die rolls should be done one at a time, the fast-dice rule exists for when the order of the die rolls don't matter (or don't matter in a meaningful way).

So in the case of Entropic Strike you either roll for your "first attack" separately, or pick a different coloured die and designate it as such to your opponent (however it could be argued you would forfeit your chance to re-roll the entropic strike die if you do, since you now have information after the "first attack" on how well your attack did... So just roll it separately...)

Another more generic example would be if you have a unit of 10 necron warriors, 8 of which are in ruins and 2 who straggled behind. If they are hit by 8 bolter shots you can then roll 2 saves at a time until one dies, then 1 die, until the two warriors who were out of cover are dead. Then your unit benefits from cover for the rest of the shooting attack.

If you roll all 8 saves at once, then no one would benefit from cover.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






RejjeN wrote:
What a lot of people mix up or forget about is that technically all die rolls should be done one at a time, the fast-dice rule exists for when the order of the die rolls don't matter (or don't matter in a meaningful way).

So in the case of Entropic Strike you either roll for your "first attack" separately, or pick a different coloured die and designate it as such to your opponent (however it could be argued you would forfeit your chance to re-roll the entropic strike die if you do, since you now have information after the "first attack" on how well your attack did... So just roll it separately...)

Another more generic example would be if you have a unit of 10 necron warriors, 8 of which are in ruins and 2 who straggled behind. If they are hit by 8 bolter shots you can then roll 2 saves at a time until one dies, then 1 die, until the two warriors who were out of cover are dead. Then your unit benefits from cover for the rest of the shooting attack.

If you roll all 8 saves at once, then no one would benefit from cover.
^^ This. Fast rolling is ONLY for cases where it does not matter. If it would matter you MUST do them one at a time.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

Just to be clear:

Let's say there is a Necron Overlord in close combat, it has been chosen to attack and has a base of 3 attacks.

Is "first close combat attack" one of those three or all three?

This is a stratagem that costs 1CP, one would hope it is all three.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Draco765 wrote:
Just to be clear:

Let's say there is a Necron Overlord in close combat, it has been chosen to attack and has a base of 3 attacks.

Is "first close combat attack" one of those three or all three?

This is a stratagem that costs 1CP, one would hope it is all three.
It's one. If it were three it would have to say "the first time this model fights."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/05 11:53:07


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: