Switch Theme:

Khorne Berserker Rules Question(s)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Hello,

To begin, I have not read the rules and have played twice now with a group of friends (who taught me how to play). I'm a returning player and want to be sure that I'm not breaking the rules.

Is this legal?:

Khorne Berserkers charge a unit and butcher them with their attacks. After killing the unit I consolidate into another unit nearby and use my Blood for the Blood God special rule to attack a second time during the same Fight phase. I used my +1 attacks for the charge. Do I get these +1 attacks on the charge (World Eaters trait) due to having charged that turn? Or do I get them because consolidation counts as charging (they get to overwatch, so it counts as a charge, right?)? Or were these bonus attacks illegal? After butchering that unit, I consolidated into a third unit. I used 3CP for Fury of Khorne to attack a third time with that Khorne Berserker unit. Again, I gave myself the +1 attack for the charge.

What, if anything, was illegal about this? My friends told me that this was okay, but I wanted to double check since we aren't the best at correctly interpreting rules.

A couple other questions:

I charge a unit that is 4" away and I roll a 10" charge. Do I need to charge closest model to closest model or can I take full advantage of my 10" charge and move my closest models to as far as they can go against the enemy unit? This would allow my stragglers in the back to move to the front of the enemy unit while my frontline models could make it to the side/rear of the enemy blob.

If I replace my 'Zerkers' pistols (instead of Chainswords) for Chainaxes and thus have Chainaxes AND Chainswords, does this allow me to benefit from both weapons or does it simply offer the option to have axes or swords during a single fight phase/encounter? I can't have +1S, +1A, and -1AP can I???

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





Or so, I think you played a lot of little rules wrong here and there.
But it's ok their fairly easy to forget at first.

First, if you charged this turn, you can only attack an enemy unit that you charged. That usually means you receive overwatch from it, and that you must be able to reach it with your charge roll.

Secondly, your charge bonus is active for the whole turn, if you charged. The rule for World Eater says : In any turn in wich you charged (which you did) get X bonus. You fulfill the condition, so you get the bonus, even if you fight twice, thrice, etc.

Thirdly, consolidating into an enemy unit is possible, and does not count as a charge, and such you would not get overwatched. It actually a nice way to bypass overwatch. However, you would not be able to actually fight them, if you did not declare a charge against them (and here this part is sometimes understood differently between player where declaring a charge and suffering overwatch is enough, or that you need to actually also reach them. Hopefully a FAQ will clear this eventually)

When you charge, you only have to reach with at least one model, and he doesn't have to necessarly take the shortest route to the enemy. As long as one model reach 1" of his charge target, the rest of the unit is free to mode however they want.

You can replace the zerker pistol with both chainaxe and chainsword, that would give you 2 (or 3 if you charged as WE) chainaxe attack, and a extra chainsword attack.

   
Made in ie
Battleship Captain





If I remember you can't attack a unit you consolidate into with additional attacks unless you declared a charge against them in the charge phase as well.

I could be wrong but Iremember it being discussed when the codex came out.


 
   
Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant






Ive played Bezerkers over 20 games in 8th, so let me speak from experience

Any extra fight phase stuff can only be done against units you declared charge on. This can be literally anything within 12". So if you declare multiple units, you very much so can kill one each fight, and then spend 3 CP to consolidate AGAIN and beat the rest down.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 vaklor4 wrote:
Ive played Bezerkers over 20 games in 8th, so let me speak from experience

Any extra fight phase stuff can only be done against units you declared charge on. This can be literally anything within 12". So if you declare multiple units, you very much so can kill one each fight, and then spend 3 CP to consolidate AGAIN and beat the rest down.


Depending on who you declare a charge against, isn't that pretty risky as you'll receive overwatch fire from ALL the units you declared charge against (even if you don't actually fight them all in the first time you fight as a bezerker).

 
   
Made in ie
Battleship Captain





TarkinLarson wrote:
 vaklor4 wrote:
Ive played Bezerkers over 20 games in 8th, so let me speak from experience

Any extra fight phase stuff can only be done against units you declared charge on. This can be literally anything within 12". So if you declare multiple units, you very much so can kill one each fight, and then spend 3 CP to consolidate AGAIN and beat the rest down.


Depending on who you declare a charge against, isn't that pretty risky as you'll receive overwatch fire from ALL the units you declared charge against (even if you don't actually fight them all in the first time you fight as a bezerker).


Yes.


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 Sim-Life wrote:
If I remember you can't attack a unit you consolidate into with additional attacks unless you declared a charge against them in the charge phase as well.

I could be wrong but Iremember it being discussed when the codex came out.


So let me explain what I understand to be the proper way to do this just to be sure I correctly understand.

There are 3 squads of enemies within 12", close enough that I feel confident I can make the charge to the closest. It's the beginning of my Assault Round or whatever it's called now. I believe that I can kill each of the squads using my double fight special rule and strategum. For some reason I don't plan to actually charge all 3 squads (I guess the other 2 are a little further away?). I declare a charge against all 3 knowing I'll only reach the first squad, but I have the intention to consolidate into the other after. I take overwatch from all 3 squads (the 30-man shoota-boy squad only killed 1 zerker during overwatch, pft). After overwatch is finished I move my models into only the first squad, even though I declared a charge against the other 2 as well. During the fight phase I attack the squad I charged, killing them all. Then I consolidate into 1 (maybe both) of the other squads. My special rule allows me to attack again against any squad I declared a charge against, so now I attack the new squad that I've reached. I kill them and consolidate into the 3rd squad that I declared a charge into and use my strategum to attack them, because I declared a charge against them as well.

It sounds like what we did was basically the same, though with no risk to me at all. All 3 squads overwatched, but if I had not killed the initial squad I wouldn't have taken the overwatch. So, in another instance it may have saved me from some necessary damage. I'll be sure to keep this in mind.

New questions:

1) After I move my charging Berserkers, but before I attack, I'm allowed to move-up 3" prior to attacking with them each time it's their turn to fight, right? So, after declaring a triple charge, I can move 3" deeper into the squad, closer to my next target. Then attack and be 3" closer to the next squad. So, when I move my berserkers into their charged position, I ought to make sure they are within 6" of their next target, right?

2) I can still multi-charge, right? Can I not declare a charge against two nearby units and charge them both simultaneously? If so, what exactly is the use for the above strategy? To charge a squad that is behind another squad? Like if a squad is 6" away, 9" away, and 12" away. I use the closer squad to charge the ones that are further away?

3) Are these things that you commonly do with your Berserkers or are we talking about a pretty unusual situation, here?

Thanks so much for clearing up the rules!

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






1) You can move 3" but they have to move towards the closest enemy unit. You have to be careful with your model placement during your initial charge move to do so.

2) You charge in the Charge Phase, not the Fight Phase. The reason you multi-charge is so you can actually attack the models you consolidate/pile in to. If you don't charge them (and let them fire overwatch), you can't attack them the turn you charged. Like, if you charged enemy unit A, wiped them, then consolidated into enemy unit B, when you attack the 2nd time you cannot actually make any attacks into them, because you didn't declare them as a target for the charge, and you charged this turn. You'd get to pile in and consolidate, but not make any attacks.

3) That's the whole point of Berserkers.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/10 14:59:24


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
1) You can move 3" but they have to move towards the closest enemy unit. You have to be careful with your model placement during your initial charge move to do so.

2) You charge in the Charge Phase, not the Fight Phase. The reason you multi-charge is so you can actually attack the models you consolidate/pile in to. If you don't charge them (and let them fire overwatch), you can't attack them the turn you charged. Like, if you charged enemy unit A, wiped them, then consolidated into enemy unit B, when you attack the 2nd time you cannot actually make any attacks into them, because you didn't declare them as a target for the charge, and you charged this turn. You'd get to pile in and consolidate, but not make any attacks.

3) That's the whole point of Berserkers.


1) Can I move down the side of the squad to surround them (aka getting closer to other squads at the same time) provided I don't get further away? I guess what I'm asking is, is it legal to stay as close to the squad as I already am? If I'm in base contact with a model, can I move into base contact with another model of the same squad? Technically speaking, I'm not moving closer because I'm already as close as possible. In practice, I often find that my models get in each other's way. So it makes sense, as a general, for me to move my frontline infantry down the side of the enemy squad so my backline infantry have room to fight where the frontliners used to be.

2) Your answer seems to contradict a previous answer I've received. Perhaps I misunderstood, though. Are you saying that if I declare a charge against squad A and squad B but end up only within 1" of squad A during the fight phase I cannot use my consolidate move (after slaying the entire squad A) to move within 1" of squad B and then attack them as well? How is "declaring a charge" defined? If I declare a charge against a squad but do not end up within 1" of it, does my declaration become negated? Is the purpose of the "Blood for the Blood God" special rule designed merely to let me attack the same squad twice in the fight phase?

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






1) No, if you're in BTB you can't move, you're already as close as you can get. You have to move CLOSER. You can move the 3" however you want so long as you get closer to the closest enemy model.

2) Sorry, you can attack squad B because you declared the charge against them. If you didn't declare the charge and let them attempt overwatch, then you can't attack them. It doesn't matter if you didn't end up within 1", the charge was still declared. Rule of thumb is basically "Did this unit get the chance to overwatch me? If yes, I can hit them this turn."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 15:19:02


 
   
Made in fr
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot






First let's have a look at a diagram example in this.

If you declare charge against the Dark angels units 1 and 2. Both unit will get to Overwatch your Khorne unit. However you only Reach unit 1 if you roll a 5 for the charge.

In this scenario you fight Unit 1 first. If you wipe out unit 1 and manage to consolidate into unit 2 yes you will be able to fight again as you declared a charge against them and they overwatched.

Scenario two. You declare charge against Unit 2 only. Only Unit 2 can overwatch you, you roll a 9" for the charge. You MUST be more than 1" away from unit 1 otherwise your charge counts as failed as you are engaged in combat. with unit 1" and you didn't declare charge. If you wipe out unit 2 you can then consolidate into unit 1, they cannot fire overwatch as it is a consolidation not a charge but you cannot attack them as you didn;t charge them and they didn;t get to overwtach you. BUT they can attack you and you are classed as engaged and moved into them via a none charge move.

Hope this makes sense.
[Thumb - charge diagram.png]
Charge Diagram


5500
2500 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 SeanDavid1991 wrote:
First let's have a look at a diagram example in this.

If you declare charge against the Dark angels units 1 and 2. Both unit will get to Overwatch your Khorne unit. However you only Reach unit 1 if you roll a 5 for the charge.

In this scenario you fight Unit 1 first. If you wipe out unit 1 and manage to consolidate into unit 2 yes you will be able to fight again as you declared a charge against them and they overwatched.

Scenario two. You declare charge against Unit 2 only. Only Unit 2 can overwatch you, you roll a 9" for the charge. You MUST be more than 1" away from unit 1 otherwise your charge counts as failed as you are engaged in combat. with unit 1" and you didn't declare charge. If you wipe out unit 2 you can then consolidate into unit 1, they cannot fire overwatch as it is a consolidation not a charge but you cannot attack them as you didn;t charge them and they didn;t get to overwtach you. BUT they can attack you and you are classed as engaged and moved into them via a none charge move.

Hope this makes sense.


Actually, it's not quite so limited as you paint in scenario 1; you don't necessarkly have to wipe out unit 1 first. When the berserkers start their fight phase, they get a pile in move. If any of the berserkers have a model in unit 2 as the closest enemy model, they have to move closer to that model. If they get within 1" of unit 2 with their pile in move, they get to swing on unit 2 during that first fight, before consolidation. If you still wipe out unit 1, however, you can consolidate into unit 2 and do the fight again as you describe. In the charge phase you have to decide to whether to move the the berserkers to a spot where they pile in on unit 1 or pile in on unit 2.


EDIT: Scenario 2 is correct - even with fight again, if you charged in that phase you can only fight units you charged that turn even if it's fighting again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 15:51:39


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

In summery you as the bezerker unit can only attack what you charged, two you can only declare charges against units that are 12 inches away max, and if 2units are in 12 inches and you declair a multi charge and fail in reaching both you still cannot even after the 3 inch consolidation attack the unit the charge was failed against.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






I'm getting a lot of mixed answers here. Does anyone have RAW quotes to back up their information? I'm going to dig deep into the rulebook this weekend when I have the chance.

With SeanDavids' diagram:

1) When piling in, does the rule say that I have to move to the closest enemy unit? Or does the rule say my move must bring me closer to the enemy? Both of these mean something different.

2) I declare charge against unit 1 and unit 2, but roll 5" charge. I move to unit 1. I pile in before attacking. If my pile in brings me to unit 2, I can attack them? If I pile in to unit 1 only and annihilate them and then consolidate to unit 2 I can still attack unit 2 this turn?

3) Is a charge declaration negated by failing to reach the unit? As in, if I declare a charge against 3 units (all within 12") and they all overwatch me, but I only make it to 1 unit do I still count as declaring a charge against all 3? If using pile-in and consolidation movement brings me to within 1" of the other 2 units can I still attack them?

It seems like the RAI is saying yes to these questions, but frankly I have not read the actual rules. I've only been taught how to play by players. I'm a pretty strict RAW kind of person, but I'll play with whatever rules my group of friends have agreed to. I'm asking here to know what the "official" stance is for players because if I ever bring my army to a tournament I'd like to be relying on a proper interpretation.

Thank you guys for your patience! I know this is a very nuanced conversation!

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Kharneth wrote:
I'm getting a lot of mixed answers here. Does anyone have RAW quotes to back up their information? I'm going to dig deep into the rulebook this weekend when I have the chance.

With SeanDavids' diagram:

1) When piling in, does the rule say that I have to move to the closest enemy unit? Or does the rule say my move must bring me closer to the enemy? Both of these mean something different.

2) I declare charge against unit 1 and unit 2, but roll 5" charge. I move to unit 1. I pile in before attacking. If my pile in brings me to unit 2, I can attack them? If I pile in to unit 1 only and annihilate them and then consolidate to unit 2 I can still attack unit 2 this turn?

3) Is a charge declaration negated by failing to reach the unit? As in, if I declare a charge against 3 units (all within 12") and they all overwatch me, but I only make it to 1 unit do I still count as declaring a charge against all 3? If using pile-in and consolidation movement brings me to within 1" of the other 2 units can I still attack them?

It seems like the RAI is saying yes to these questions, but frankly I have not read the actual rules. I've only been taught how to play by players. I'm a pretty strict RAW kind of person, but I'll play with whatever rules my group of friends have agreed to. I'm asking here to know what the "official" stance is for players because if I ever bring my army to a tournament I'd like to be relying on a proper interpretation.

Thank you guys for your patience! I know this is a very nuanced conversation!
1) "Closest enemy model" is the exact wording used for both Pile In and Consolidate.

2) Correct. That's the point of charging unit 2, if you didn't you couldn't attack them this way.

3) No. So long as you reach at least one of your target units, you successfully did the charge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 16:56:48


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
I'm getting a lot of mixed answers here. Does anyone have RAW quotes to back up their information? I'm going to dig deep into the rulebook this weekend when I have the chance.

With SeanDavids' diagram:

1) When piling in, does the rule say that I have to move to the closest enemy unit? Or does the rule say my move must bring me closer to the enemy? Both of these mean something different.

2) I declare charge against unit 1 and unit 2, but roll 5" charge. I move to unit 1. I pile in before attacking. If my pile in brings me to unit 2, I can attack them? If I pile in to unit 1 only and annihilate them and then consolidate to unit 2 I can still attack unit 2 this turn?

3) Is a charge declaration negated by failing to reach the unit? As in, if I declare a charge against 3 units (all within 12") and they all overwatch me, but I only make it to 1 unit do I still count as declaring a charge against all 3? If using pile-in and consolidation movement brings me to within 1" of the other 2 units can I still attack them?

It seems like the RAI is saying yes to these questions, but frankly I have not read the actual rules. I've only been taught how to play by players. I'm a pretty strict RAW kind of person, but I'll play with whatever rules my group of friends have agreed to. I'm asking here to know what the "official" stance is for players because if I ever bring my army to a tournament I'd like to be relying on a proper interpretation.

Thank you guys for your patience! I know this is a very nuanced conversation!
1) "Closest enemy model" is the exact wording used for both Pile In and Consolidate.

2) Correct. That's the point of charging unit 2, if you didn't you couldn't attack them this way.

3) No. So long as you reach at least one of your target units, you successfully did the charge.


Beautiful. That's what I believed I was being told. Thanks for clearing it up!

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kharneth wrote:
I'm getting a lot of mixed answers here. Does anyone have RAW quotes to back up their information? I'm going to dig deep into the rulebook this weekend when I have the chance.

With SeanDavids' diagram:

1) When piling in, does the rule say that I have to move to the closest enemy unit? Or does the rule say my move must bring me closer to the enemy? Both of these mean something different.

2) I declare charge against unit 1 and unit 2, but roll 5" charge. I move to unit 1. I pile in before attacking. If my pile in brings me to unit 2, I can attack them? If I pile in to unit 1 only and annihilate them and then consolidate to unit 2 I can still attack unit 2 this turn?

3) Is a charge declaration negated by failing to reach the unit? As in, if I declare a charge against 3 units (all within 12") and they all overwatch me, but I only make it to 1 unit do I still count as declaring a charge against all 3? If using pile-in and consolidation movement brings me to within 1" of the other 2 units can I still attack them?

It seems like the RAI is saying yes to these questions, but frankly I have not read the actual rules. I've only been taught how to play by players. I'm a pretty strict RAW kind of person, but I'll play with whatever rules my group of friends have agreed to. I'm asking here to know what the "official" stance is for players because if I ever bring my army to a tournament I'd like to be relying on a proper interpretation.

Thank you guys for your patience! I know this is a very nuanced conversation!


1) Pile in - "You mauy move each model in the unit up to 3" - this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model."

2) You have a successful charge by reaching unit 1. This lets you fight in the fight phase, which means you get the pile in move. As you can see in the quote above, if you have models closer to a model in unit 2 than unit 1, you have to make sure the model piling in ends up closer to unit 2 than unit 1. If it can move within 1" of unit 1 while still being closer to unit 2 you can do that, but you can also just pile in on unit 2. If you piled in on unit 2 and got within 1", you are eligible to go to step 3 in the fight phase and pick targets in unit 2 to fight. As you declared a charge against them you meet the reguirements to be able to pick unit 2 as a target; there is nothing in the rules saying that only reaching one of the two units you charged negates that unit from having a charge declared against it.

3)As above, if you reach one unit you have a successful charge. That means you go to the fight phase and get to follow the steps there. There is nothing saying that your declaring a charge against multiple units doesn't count against units you don't reach unless you are completely unsuccessful at charging any of them. If you can get models within 1" of a unit you didn't reach in a charge by piling in, then you still fulfill the requirement to chose them as a target to attack in stpe 3 of the Fight phase as you declared a charge against them. They would have needed to have something specific in the rules stating these other units you declared a charge against have those charges negated; this is not in the rules, so the permission to attack units you declared a charge against still exists.

If you're using consolidation, that is after pile in. If the berserkers get within 1" of a unit you declared a charge against that turn with their consolidation, you can use your fighting again against that unit as you can still select that unit at a target to fight because of declaring a charge. (This also applies if for some reason you are coming off your second turn of a battle and are not declaring charges - a turn where you declare a charge only limits you for that turn. If you're in another turn then you can fight anything you're within 1" of since you didn't declare any charges that turn.)

You should be able to get the information from the Battle Primer if you still have questions. https://www.games-workshop.com/en-US/Battle-Primer-2017-ENG

   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






Thanks. I read that Battle Primer before I played, but I should have looked at it again after my first battle. My friends are definitely hazy regarding some rules! We played where we had to declare all charging units before rolling any charge dice or overwatch! That sounded weird, but whatever. Glad to have reread that.

Now I have a new question, regarding Berserkers with Chainaxes and Chainswords...

Regarding close combat weapons, the rules say that "if a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several close combat attacks, it can split its attacks between these weapons however you wish." A Khorne Berserker wielding both a chainaxe and chainsword has 3 attacks (2 base, +1 because of chainsword), can I choose to make all 3 attacks with the Chainaxe?

Thanks

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 17:41:43


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.
Right, you can split your base attacks between weapons.
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.
Right, you can split your base attacks between weapons.


I guess 0 and 3 doesn't count as splitting! haha

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Kharneth wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.
Right, you can split your base attacks between weapons.


I guess 0 and 3 doesn't count as splitting! haha
It does. The thing is the Chainsword is a bonus attack made with that weapon, so it MUST be done with the chainsword. If you had a Power Fist and Power Sword, and 3 attacks, you can make any number of attacks with either, including 0.
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.
Right, you can split your base attacks between weapons.


I guess 0 and 3 doesn't count as splitting! haha
It does. The thing is the Chainsword is a bonus attack made with that weapon, so it MUST be done with the chainsword. If you had a Power Fist and Power Sword, and 3 attacks, you can make any number of attacks with either, including 0.


Doesn't the rule say that a model equipped with a chainsword has 1 extra attack? Or does it say that a model wielding a chainsword can use one extra attack when using the chainsword?

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Kharneth wrote:
Doesn't the rule say that a model equipped with a chainsword has 1 extra attack? Or does it say that a model wielding a chainsword can use one extra attack when using the chainsword?
Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon.

So you just get a bonus attack with the chainsword, regardless of what you do with the base attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 19:24:20


 
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
Doesn't the rule say that a model equipped with a chainsword has 1 extra attack? Or does it say that a model wielding a chainsword can use one extra attack when using the chainsword?
Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon.

So you just get a bonus attack with the chainsword, regardless of what you do with the base attacks.


Thanks! I thought I'd be okay with sharing the codex with my buddy, but clearly I need me own!

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.


Model is so the chainsword is on one side and the chainaxe on the other of an extended weapon connected by a (possibly short) staff in the middle?
   
Made in us
Possessed Khorne Marine Covered in Spikes






 doctortom wrote:
 Kharneth wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
You would have to make at least 1 attack with the chainsword because that bonus attack is with that weapon. If you get a weapon that says you get +x (normally 1) bonus attack with that weapon, the attack has to be used with that weapon.


Yeah, that's fair and makes perfect sense. I just thought maybe...! lol.

But there's nothing wrong with rolling 2 chainaxe attacks and 1 chainsword attack? That sounds like way more fun than using pistols that never do anything, even if I can now shoot with my pistols while engaged in melee.

The minis will look so ugly with a chainaxe and chainsword, I wonder if I can find a way to make my zerkers two-hand their axes or something.


Model is so the chainsword is on one side and the chainaxe on the other of an extended weapon connected by a (possibly short) staff in the middle?


Ewwwww! A bunch of Darth Zerker Mauls xD I don't know how I could get the arms to be designed in such a way that they'll hold a straight line. If I could figure that out, I'd do it!

Blood for the Blood God!
Skulls for the Skull Throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: