| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:01:45
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Just wanted to check, what happens if turn 1 everything you had on the table is killed, say because the majority of your points (but only half your units) are in reserve? Do you lose?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:05:15
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
It depends on what set of missions you're playing, but generally speaking: if a player has no more models on the battlefield, they lose and their opponent wins a crushing victory.
edit: like Marmatag said, this is checked at the end of each battle round. So after both players take their turn.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/09 23:31:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:15:11
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Clousseau
|
LeviathanSwarmlord wrote:Just wanted to check, what happens if turn 1 everything you had on the table is killed, say because the majority of your points (but only half your units) are in reserve? Do you lose?
If you went first, didn't bring in your reserves, and then were tabled - this would be a loss, because at the end of the turn you have nothing on the table.
If you went second, and everything on the table was killed - you still get a turn to arrive from reserves.
|
Galas wrote:I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you 
Bharring wrote:He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:16:29
Subject: Re:Tabled first turn
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From the second bullet point of 'Sudden Death', page 215 of the main rulebook:
If at the end of any turn after the first battle round, one player has no models on the battlefield, the game ends immediately and their opponent automatically wins a crushing victory. Do not include any Fortifications when determining if a player has any units on the battlefield unless they have a unit embarked inside – even the most formidable bastion requires a garrison if it is to pose a threat.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:34:50
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
|
I fought a guy who on turn 1 killed every model I had but my 3 hwqs. XD it was a cheesy spammy girly man list vs a fluffy imperial fists successor list.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:38:34
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Yep, you always get your first turn with all your reserves, even if your deployed forces get wiped out. Some armies may even be prone to it... GSC with deployed cultists and ambushing 'stealers comes to mind.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/09 23:44:18
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
[DCM]
Sentient OverBear
|
Moved to correct forum.
|
DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++
Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k. Rule #1 - BBAP
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 02:37:19
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Marmatag wrote: LeviathanSwarmlord wrote:Just wanted to check, what happens if turn 1 everything you had on the table is killed, say because the majority of your points (but only half your units) are in reserve? Do you lose?
If you went first, didn't bring in your reserves, and then were tabled - this would be a loss, because at the end of the turn you have nothing on the table.
If you went second, and everything on the table was killed - you still get a turn to arrive from reserves.
this is incorrect, regardless if you went first or second, that pair of turns is the first battle round, and sudden death stipulates "If at the end of any turn after the first battle round, one player has no models on the battlefield" which means that you still get your second player turn to have reserved units arrive.
Player A goes, Player B goes. Player B wipes out player A, first battle round concludes, but a turn after the battle round has not. Then player A goes, and if they still have no models, they are subject to sudden death.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/04/10 02:37:44
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 03:47:12
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
WindstormSCR wrote: Marmatag wrote: LeviathanSwarmlord wrote:Just wanted to check, what happens if turn 1 everything you had on the table is killed, say because the majority of your points (but only half your units) are in reserve? Do you lose?
If you went first, didn't bring in your reserves, and then were tabled - this would be a loss, because at the end of the turn you have nothing on the table.
If you went second, and everything on the table was killed - you still get a turn to arrive from reserves.
this is incorrect, regardless if you went first or second, that pair of turns is the first battle round, and sudden death stipulates "If at the end of any turn after the first battle round, one player has no models on the battlefield" which means that you still get your second player turn to have reserved units arrive.
Player A goes, Player B goes. Player B wipes out player A, first battle round concludes, but a turn after the battle round has not. Then player A goes, and if they still have no models, they are subject to sudden death.
This is the way I play it. I've wiped out an opponent in the first player turn a couple times, to have their reserves arrive the second player turn.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 15:35:16
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Doesn't player A lose after turn 1 before his turn 2 starts? Because the second round 1 concludes it's now After round 1 and he loses. I know some people don't like the limbo space in between turn phases, so provide another example: Reserves also come in at the end of the movement phase, so player A is in their movement phase (before the end of the movement phase) which is in a phase in the second battle round (after the first battle round) and they still have no models. They don't get to bring them in on turn 2. They've already satisfied the trigger for the loss.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 15:37:51
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
deviantduck wrote:Doesn't player A lose after turn 1 before his turn 2 starts? Because the second round 1 concludes it's now After round 1 and he loses. I know some people don't like the limbo space in between turn phases, so provide another example: Reserves also come in at the end of the movement phase, so player A is in their movement phase (before the end of the movement phase) which is in a phase in the second battle round (after the first battle round) and they still have no models. They don't get to bring them in on turn 2. They've already satisfied the trigger for the loss.
No, Battle Round is not the same as Turn. You only check at the ends of Battle Round 2+ Player A's Turn 1, he wipes everything player B has. Player B decides not to bring on any reserves. End of Battle Round 1 is not checked. Player A's Turn 2, he does stuff. Now, if player B brings nothing on, he will lose because it's checked at the end of Battle Round 2. If player B brings stuff on, he won't lose because it's checked at the end of Battle Round 2.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/04/10 15:42:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 15:39:18
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
deviantduck wrote:Doesn't player A lose after turn 1 before his turn 2 starts? Because the second round 1 concludes it's now After round 1 and he loses. I know some people don't like the limbo space in between turn phases, so provide another example: Reserves also come in at the end of the movement phase, so player A is in their movement phase (before the end of the movement phase) which is in a phase in the second battle round (after the first battle round) and they still have no models. They don't get to bring them in on turn 2. They've already satisfied the trigger for the loss.
No. Once again from the second bullet point of 'Sudden Death', page 215 of the main rulebook:
If at the end of any turn after the first battle round, one player has no models on the battlefield, the game ends immediately and their opponent automatically wins a crushing victory. Do not include any Fortifications when determining if a player has any units on the battlefield unless they have a unit embarked inside – even the most formidable bastion requires a garrison if it is to pose a threat.
You only check at the end of a turn, excluding the two turns that make up the first battle round.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 16:50:51
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote: deviantduck wrote:Doesn't player A lose after turn 1 before his turn 2 starts? Because the second round 1 concludes it's now After round 1 and he loses. I know some people don't like the limbo space in between turn phases, so provide another example: Reserves also come in at the end of the movement phase, so player A is in their movement phase (before the end of the movement phase) which is in a phase in the second battle round (after the first battle round) and they still have no models. They don't get to bring them in on turn 2. They've already satisfied the trigger for the loss.
No, Battle Round is not the same as Turn. You only check at the ends of Battle Round 2+
Player A's Turn 1, he wipes everything player B has. Player B decides not to bring on any reserves. End of Battle Round 1 is not checked.
Player A's Turn 2, he does stuff.
Now, if player B brings nothing on, he will lose because it's checked at the end of Battle Round 2.
If player B brings stuff on, he won't lose because it's checked at the end of Battle Round 2.
Actually player B loses in your scenario, because sudden death would be checked for both players at the end of A's turn
Essentially the most succinct description is that any player turn after both players have had first turns matters. Only player A has the luxury of being able to have no units on field at the end of BR 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 16:58:12
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
WindstormSCR wrote: Actually player B loses in your scenario, because sudden death would be checked for both players at the end of A's turn Essentially the most succinct description is that any player turn after both players have had first turns matters. Only player A has the luxury of being able to have no units on field at the end of BR 1.
Fair enough, Misread that as checking between rounds, not turns. Player B would indeed lose if he brought nothing on turn 1, or got wiped in Player A's turn 2.
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/04/10 17:00:03
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/04/10 16:59:21
Subject: Tabled first turn
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
No, you check after every turn after the first Battle Round. Checking after Battle Rounds isn’t correct. It’s literally in what you just quoted.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|