Switch Theme:

Wound allocation and saving throws  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi there I was playing with a friend recently and when it came to save throws against his unit of Guardian defenders he was saving at a 3+ due to the heavy weapons platform he took, he was rolling all save dice simultaneously essentially giving the guardians a 3+ save until the platform died, which it did however as he was rolling all dice at the same time this ment that all the extra 3s and 4s which would normaly kill a guardians saved them as the platform took all those hits.
Any help would be much appreciated.

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Spyder335 wrote:
Hi there I was playing with a friend recently and when it came to save throws against his unit of Guardian defenders he was saving at a 3+ due to the heavy weapons platform he took, he was rolling all save dice simultaneously essentially giving the guardians a 3+ save until the platform died, which it did however as he was rolling all dice at the same time this ment that all the extra 3s and 4s which would normaly kill a guardians saved them as the platform took all those hits.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Read the fast rolling rules. What he did was breaking the rules.

You have to do saves one at a time. He can allocate the wound to the platform just fine, but has to make the save for the platform individually until it becomes wounded, then he's forced to allocate to them.

If he had 10 saves to make, he can't just roll 10 dice, he has to roll them individually, until the platform dies (and then has to be allocated to a guardian) or passed them all.

Example: You take 10 wounds.
He allocates to platform, rolls a 6.
Allocates to platform, rolls a 1.
Platform is now wounded so must be allocated, rolls a 6.
Platform is now wounded so must be allocated, rolls a 1.
Platform is dead so the wound must be allocated to a guardian with a 4+ save. Rolls a 1. Dead guardian, etc.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/05/08 23:14:15


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

He can do fast rolling for the number of wounds left on the current model making the save though. Basically if the weapons platform has 2 wounds left. he can allocate 2 wounds to the platform and roll 2 dice for saves, if he saves them both he can roll two more dice for saves. If he fails one and saves one you can only roll them individually after that.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

 DeathReaper wrote:
He can do fast rolling for the number of wounds left on the current model making the save though. Basically if the weapons platform has 2 wounds left. he can allocate 2 wounds to the platform and roll 2 dice for saves, if he saves them both he can roll two more dice for saves. If he fails one and saves one you can only roll them individually after that.


Assuming they are Damage 1 Wounds. If the wounds can do more than 1 damage, he can't roll more saves than the minimum necessary to kill the model.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 alextroy wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
He can do fast rolling for the number of wounds left on the current model making the save though. Basically if the weapons platform has 2 wounds left. he can allocate 2 wounds to the platform and roll 2 dice for saves, if he saves them both he can roll two more dice for saves. If he fails one and saves one you can only roll them individually after that.


Assuming they are Damage 1 Wounds. If the wounds can do more than 1 damage, he can't roll more saves than the minimum necessary to kill the model.

Yes, assuming they are damage 1 wounds. (The majority of weapons our there are).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/09 00:34:54


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
He can do fast rolling for the number of wounds left on the current model making the save though. Basically if the weapons platform has 2 wounds left. he can allocate 2 wounds to the platform and roll 2 dice for saves, if he saves them both he can roll two more dice for saves. If he fails one and saves one you can only roll them individually after that.


Think you can only do fast rolling for to hit and wound. When it comes to save step they have to be done individually I the case of multiple model types in the unit.

Nm I see you got that covered from your last post

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/09 04:09:10


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: