Switch Theme:

Tome of Ectoclades single unit or multiple units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Hi! So I am confused on the wording for Deathwatch relic known as the Tome of Ectoclades. I have had people say it is for a single unit and people say it is for any amount of deathwatch units. What do you guys think?

Exact wording: At the start of each of your turns, pick a Mission Tactic. Until the start of your next turn, you can choose to apply either the effects of the Mission Tactic that is currently active or the Mission Tactic you have chosen for the Tome of Ectoclades to any Deathwatch unit from your within 6" of the bearer each time they attack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/05/15 00:31:16


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

If that is the exact wording then it applies to any unit (1+) within 6" of the bearer.

If they wanted it to affect 1 unit it would either specify 1 unit, or it would say "...to a Deathwatch unit within 6"...".

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Happyjew wrote:
If that is the exact wording then it applies to any unit (1+) within 6" of the bearer.

If they wanted it to affect 1 unit it would either specify 1 unit, or it would say "...to a Deathwatch unit within 6"...".
It says any unit, not any units. Unit is singular.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
If that is the exact wording then it applies to any unit (1+) within 6" of the bearer.

If they wanted it to affect 1 unit it would either specify 1 unit, or it would say "...to a Deathwatch unit within 6"...".
It says any unit, not any units. Unit is singular.


Unit is singular, but multiple singular units can fulfil the criteria and work with the grammar of the rule. I agree with Happyjew.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. Any unit r3sulta in multiple possible units b3ing able to fulfil the criteria.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am still unsure on this one. The wording works for both singular and plural uses.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
If that is the exact wording then it applies to any unit (1+) within 6" of the bearer.

If they wanted it to affect 1 unit it would either specify 1 unit, or it would say "...to a Deathwatch unit within 6"...".
It says any unit, not any units. Unit is singular.


"they" attack, is plural
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Fragile wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Happyjew wrote:
If that is the exact wording then it applies to any unit (1+) within 6" of the bearer.

If they wanted it to affect 1 unit it would either specify 1 unit, or it would say "...to a Deathwatch unit within 6"...".
It says any unit, not any units. Unit is singular.


"they" attack, is plural


Can't you use 'they" to refer to a single person or group as well? I know I do that all the time when I speak, but I wouldn't be surprised if my grammar was wrong! xD

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





As a hypothetical example:

"Any enemy unit coming within 6" of this Primarch takes 2D6 Mortal Wounds and makes a morale check"

If multiple units come within 6", then multiple units take 2D6 Mortal Wounds and make morale checks. The ability doesn't stop working after the first unit gets too close.The OP's question is another situation where it reads that unit can be applied to one or to multiple units.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: