Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/03 23:41:03
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Warwick Kinrade
Mesa, Arizona
|
I feel like I know the answer to both of these but it's better to check.
First off, if Player X uses a Stratagem that costs 3 CP, and Player Y uses Agents of Vect, rolling a 2-5 as the result, AND Player Y has a Warlord with the Trait: Labyrinthe Cunning, does he roll six dice for the Trait or three? 99% sure it's six but there was some recent confusion.
Second, if a Deathwatch Player shoots a Harlequins Unit and chooses to Wound on 2's, but the Harlequins are in range of the -1 to Wound Aura, do the attacks wound on 2's or 3's? Hellfire Rounds say "Always wounds on a 2+" which seems like it invalidates the Aura.
Thank you!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 00:56:43
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For the second part. The always wounds on a 2+ would be in reference to S v T. The modifier would still be taken into account. So it would be a 3+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 06:03:34
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
Fragile wrote:For the second part. The always wounds on a 2+ would be in reference to S v T. The modifier would still be taken into account. So it would be a 3+
"Always" doesn't really mean "usually, unless other circumstances arise". I'd play it as the set value winning over the modifier
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 06:07:46
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
nekooni wrote:Fragile wrote:For the second part. The always wounds on a 2+ would be in reference to S v T. The modifier would still be taken into account. So it would be a 3+
"Always" doesn't really mean "usually, unless other circumstances arise". I'd play it as the set value winning over the modifier
Agreed.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 07:26:09
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Does the wounding on 2+ state that it happens regardless of any modifiers?
Does the harlequin ability state that you add 1 to the wound roll when an enemy is trying to wound the unit?
Answers to these questions would tell us how the second interaction plays out.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 08:06:11
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yes, "Always wounds on a 2+" is regardless of modifiers because of the use of the word always.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 09:35:55
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
DeathReaper wrote:
Yes, "Always wounds on a 2+" is regardless of modifiers because of the use of the word always.
“Always wounds on 2+” is a very simple sentence, not sure how it could be misconstrued. It’s a rule inherently designed to bypass modifiers.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 10:38:37
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Aren't there similar rules that state "always wounds on a 2+ regardless of any modifiers" or am I imagining things?
The key really is whether the Harlie ability subtracts 1 to the wound roll, because then you could roll a literal 2 but it would be modified to be a 1 and fail. I'm guessing the harlie ability adds 1 to the requirement of the wound roll though? Which is moot if the weapon 'always wounds on a 2+', agreed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 10:42:54
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
Shield From Harm states that your opponent must subtract 1 from wound rolls. Deathwatch wounding on 2+ would need a 3+ to wound due to a 2 being modified into a 1, and last time I checked, a 1 is not a 2.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 10:44:48
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
An Actual Englishman wrote:Aren't there similar rules that state "always wounds on a 2+ regardless of any modifiers" or am I imagining things?
The key really is whether the Harlie ability subtracts 1 to the wound roll, because then you could roll a literal 2 but it would be modified to be a 1 and fail. I'm guessing the harlie ability adds 1 to the requirement of the wound roll though? Which is moot if the weapon 'always wounds on a 2+', agreed.
Consistency really ain’t GW’s thing, haha. There are such rules, but they’re essentially tautologous.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 10:52:15
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
Nighttail wrote:Shield From Harm states that your opponent must subtract 1 from wound rolls. Deathwatch wounding on 2+ would need a 3+ to wound due to a 2 being modified into a 1, and last time I checked, a 1 is not a 2.
If that is the rule this would be my take on the interaction also.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 11:38:31
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Wouldn't this be akin to the dark reapers always hitting on X vs modifiers. IIRC they always hit overrides all modifiers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 13:35:28
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Witch Hunter in the Shadows
Aachen
|
An Actual Englishman wrote:Aren't there similar rules that state "always wounds on a 2+ regardless of any modifiers" or am I imagining things?
The key really is whether the Harlie ability subtracts 1 to the wound roll, because then you could roll a literal 2 but it would be modified to be a 1 and fail. I'm guessing the harlie ability adds 1 to the requirement of the wound roll though? Which is moot if the weapon 'always wounds on a 2+', agreed.
Hm. That kinda makes sense, what's the difference between Dark Reapers and this? The dark reaper says something along the lines of "ignoring any modifiers", iirc?
So a natural 2 is a roll of 1 which fails.
A natural roll of 2 for a reaper would remain a 2,and if it had special ammo it would then wound since it'd always wound on 2+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 13:48:13
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Dark Reapers explicitly ignore modifiers. The Harlies would be wounded on 3's.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 14:04:59
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Leo_the_Rat wrote:Wouldn't this be akin to the dark reapers always hitting on X vs modifiers. IIRC they always hit overrides all modifiers.
Dark Reapers always hit on 3+, regardless of modifiers, (however still require a 6 when firing Overwatch).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 17:00:42
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Guys, you're all making the exact same mistake. Modifiers affect the ROLL, not the result needed. "Always wounds on a 2+" means you need a result of 2 to wound. It doesn't mean you always roll a D6. "Always wound on a 2+" with a D6-1 still always wounds on a 2. You just need a 3 on the physical dice to make it. Dark Reapers explicitly say to ignore modifiers, so you're always rolling a D6 for Dark Reapers.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/06/04 17:02:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/06/04 17:02:23
Subject: Question on Agents of Vect Interaction and Deathwatch Harlequin Interaction
|
 |
Warwick Kinrade
Mesa, Arizona
|
So seems like I was wrong on the Deathwatch interaction and right on the Agents of Vect one.
|
|
 |
 |
|