Switch Theme:

Losing a keyword.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




During my last game of 40K I had cast Wings of Sanguinius on my Librarian Dreadnought and placed him atop of the ruins. Now according to the Errata this is a legal move because he gained the FLY keyword from the psychic spell.

Page 248– Ruins
Change the first paragraph of rules text to read:
‘Unless they can Fly, Vehicles, Monsters, Cavalry
and Bikers can only be set up or end their move on
the ground floor of ruins.

Now my following psychic phase my psychic power was denied. So he no longer had the FLY keyword and this is where the disagreement occurred. My opponent thought that my Dreadnought should be immediately destroyed and removed from the game. I felt that was a bit harsh of a result, and argued that the Dreadnought had already been placed the turn before and I wasn't breaking the rule because I wasn't ending my movement nor was it being placed. Ultimately we could not come to an agreed result so we rolled off on it and kept playing. There was no yelling or tantrums but we both agreed we should seek an expert opinion. So I emailed G Dub and got a "ain't nobody got time for that " response. Which brings me here, hoping maybe a fresh set of eyes could help.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Sitting on the ruins doesn't violate any rules. You're only restricted to moving him there.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Agreed. If he's there already legally, as long as you don't move him and try to keep him up there. If you could reach the ground level, you could move him to the ground, or if you got Wings on him in a later turn he could move normally again.

Saying the dread would be immediately destroyed and taken out of the game has no basis in the rules.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Your friend was horribly misinformed, to the point where I feel he was intentionally trying to cheat you. The rules are explicitly clear, "Unless they can Fly, Vehicles, Monsters, Cavalry and Bikers can only be set up or end their move on the ground floor of ruins."

Nothing prevents the Dreadnought from being on the top floor of a ruin, only ending their move there.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the replies. I completely agree with all of you. I felt fortunate to have won the roll off and believed we handled in a fair way.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

While I agree with the comments above, I could certainly see the other side of this *if* you attempted to move the Dread.

As you cannot deploy or "end your move" in on an upper level of ruins, one could argue that the Dread could not make legal move, even if you stayed at the same level.
So by "beginning" your move, you have no legal way to "end the move" unless you have enough movement to end on the ground floor.
If you don't have enough movement to do so, what happens?

Of course the logical answer would be to just not move with the Dread at all if you cannot legal end its move. Problem solved, but I can kinda see why your opponent could have thought it would get destroyed, especially if he played in prior editions in which models that could not be placed for various reasons would be destroyed.

-

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




especially if he played in prior editions in which models that could not be placed for various reasons would be destroyed.


Ya, I think his knee-jerk reaction to destroy it was based from the carryover from older editions. I don't think he was trying to cheat me. With that said I also believe I caught him off-guard with the move and it might have had a little panic sprinkled in as well.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Solution clear: in your next movement phase the dread must move off the upper levels and either down to ground level or anywhere else.

I had to go read Wings of sanguinus; and your dread was allowed to remain up there during your movement phase before your failed power usage., it is just the next one that he is not allowed to end his movement there(Note: the rules only deny "setting up or ending their move" on upper levels, with the right amount of movement you can totally move up and over or down ruins with no problem.). So if you are within 6" of the ground floor you can just jump straight down(hurray nebulous terrain rules!)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Solution clear: in your next movement phase the dread must move off the upper levels and either down to ground level or anywhere else.

I had to go read Wings of sanguinus; and your dread was allowed to remain up there during your movement phase before your failed power usage., it is just the next one that he is not allowed to end his movement there(Note: the rules only deny "setting up or ending their move" on upper levels, with the right amount of movement you can totally move up and over or down ruins with no problem.). So if you are within 6" of the ground floor you can just jump straight down(hurray nebulous terrain rules!)


Why would he have to move off? The rules only forbid setting up there and ending a move there. If he doesn't move then he is doing neither of these and can stay there without breaking any rules (there is a difference between a move and a movement phase). Also if you say he has to move down in his next movement what happens if he doesn't have a long enough move?

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

He can remain stationary or move down
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

U02dah4 wrote:
He can remain stationary or move down
Correct, but remember that it needs to have the movement to do so.
A dread with a 2.5" base and 6" move would need to move at least 5.5" to clear the distance of their base and 3' down (assuming a 3" level).
In that case, if there is more that .5" between the edge of the Dread's base and the edge of the level it is on, it will not have sufficient movement to reach the ground floor, meaning it cannot "end its move' outside of the ruin.
In these cases, you would have to remain stationary rather that start the Dreads move.

-

   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

 roflmajog wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Solution clear: in your next movement phase the dread must move off the upper levels and either down to ground level or anywhere else.

I had to go read Wings of sanguinus; and your dread was allowed to remain up there during your movement phase before your failed power usage., it is just the next one that he is not allowed to end his movement there(Note: the rules only deny "setting up or ending their move" on upper levels, with the right amount of movement you can totally move up and over or down ruins with no problem.). So if you are within 6" of the ground floor you can just jump straight down(hurray nebulous terrain rules!)


Why would he have to move off? The rules only forbid setting up there and ending a move there. If he doesn't move then he is doing neither of these and can stay there without breaking any rules (there is a difference between a move and a movement phase). Also if you say he has to move down in his next movement what happens if he doesn't have a long enough move?
Exactly. People keep equating "end its move" with "end of movement phase". If it remains stationary, there was no move started, therefore no move was ended.

 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Looking back at the movement phase; you do not have to select every unit to move or remain stationary. I thought you did for some reason.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: