Switch Theme:

Falling Back and MOVE MOVE MOVE  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can a unit that fell back be issued the order MOVE MOVE MOVE in the shooting phase?
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Falling Back disallows the unit from Adancing later that turn.

Move! Move! Move! requires the ordered unit to Advance as part of the movement granted by it.

So no, they don't work together.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

There are special rules giving you permission to do something which you cant do normally. Like charging after advancing. Or fighting a second time. MOVE MOVE MOVE could enable you to advance, its unclear. Needs to be FAQed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/22 06:22:14


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It’s not unclear.

The Core Rules are very clear that a unit that Falls Back cannot Advance later that turn. Nothing in The Move Move Move order overrides this restriction, so you can’t use it. Units can’t normally move twice, which is what Move Move Move is allowing. It doesn’t allow you to ignore other rules unless it says so, and it doesn’t, so you can’t.

Saying it’s unclear when it’s super clear isn’t very helpful.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Mr. Shine wrote:
Falling Back disallows the unit from Adancing later that turn.

Move! Move! Move! requires the ordered unit to Advance as part of the movement granted by it.

So no, they don't work together.
This is the correct answer. Falling Back states "If a unit Falls Back, it cannot Advance (see below), or charge (pg 182) later that turn." Since Move! Move! Move! requires the unit to Advance, you cannot use Move! Move! Move! on a unit that has fallen back, as it does not give the unit permission to ignore the Fall Back rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/08/22 11:01:36


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: