Switch Theme:

Can i use this stratagem ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




A friend uses the relic "armor of leman russ" but can not use 2pc for counter offensive for fight? he charged with two unit
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






bananaslot wrote:
A friend uses the relic "armor of leman russ" but can not use 2pc for counter offensive for fight? he charged with two unit
A stratagem is not "an ability", so you can use the Counter Attack stratagem just fine even with the Armour of Russ in effect. The Armour of Russ would have to say "the ability" in order to prevent the Stratagem from working.

Edit: I misread the question, you're asking about charging units. AFAIK we have two contradictory statements for a unit that charged and is selected by the Armour of Russ to fight last, so we need an FAQ to fix it. I am guessing the "If the target unit has an ability that allows it to fight first in the Fight phase, it instead fights as if it didn’t have that ability" is meant to affect charging units, but RaW it does not because it says "an ability", not "the ability".

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/09/11 22:43:00


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"An ability" in this case is equivalents to "any" ability, as it is unrestricted. Chsrging units have "an" ability to fight first so are affected.
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




thank i know but my friend don t believe me
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot




Hanoi, Vietnam.

I agree with BaconCatBug's interpretation. I think there is an important distinction between the meaning of "an" ability and "the" ability. I disagree that charging units gain "an" ability to fight first, but rather, that they have "the" ability to fight first, due to the standard mechanic of the game. It seems to me that the intention of the relic is to counteract "special abilities" rather than either ordinary mechanics or stratagems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/09/12 07:58:37


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: