Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 15:23:19
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
I'm pretty sure I know how this works, but as with many things that come up with new playgroups we've got a bit of disagreement on the following:
When you fire a Haywire Blaster at a Doomed vehicle, what happens? Haywire Blasters are S4, so when fired at a T8 vehicle do you (a) Reroll 1-3 (b) Reroll 1-5 or (c) Something else. Rules quotes below for clarity. Haywire Blaster wrote:If the target is a VEHICLE and you roll a wound roll of 4+ for this weapon, the target suffers a mortal wound in addition to any other damage. If the wound roll is a 6+, inflict D3 mortal wounds instead of 1.
Doom wrote:If manifested, choose an enemy unit within 24" of the psyker. You can re-roll failed wound rolls against that unit until your next Psychic phase.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 15:27:51
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe it would be (b) Reroll 1-5's. A 1-5 is not a wounding roll on its own, so it would have to be rerolled. Note, we can infer this to be the case because other things that trigger off a roll result first count both the reroll and then any bonuses or penalties to the roll. This is a bonus that occurs after all modifiers, of which the reroll from Doom is one.
|
Galef wrote:If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 16:19:36
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It is indeed Re-roll 1 through 5. A roll of 4 is still a failed "To Wound" roll, thus it's permitted to re-roll it. Of course if you re-roll a 4 or 5 and end up with a 1, 2 or 3, you no longer get the bonus damage.
Risk-vs-Reward and all that jazz.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 16:20:56
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
You reroll 1-5. Question is, does the vehicle suffer suffer a MW on a 4 or 5 ? Even if that doesn't wound it ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 16:23:57
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:You reroll 1-5. Question is, does the vehicle suffer suffer a MW on a 4 or 5 ? Even if that doesn't wound it ?
Yes, it does. It suffers it in "addition to any other damage". 0+X is X, so you get X mortal wounds.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/05 16:24:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 17:51:09
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote: p5freak wrote:You reroll 1-5. Question is, does the vehicle suffer suffer a MW on a 4 or 5 ? Even if that doesn't wound it ?
Yes, it does. It suffers it in "addition to any other damage". 0+X is X, so you get X mortal wounds.
So, one shot from a haywire blaster can do 2 MW, without doing a single wound.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/05 17:51:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 17:54:19
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
If you re-roll a result - the roll does not count. Come on man. THIS IS COMMON SENSE.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 18:00:04
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: p5freak wrote:You reroll 1-5. Question is, does the vehicle suffer suffer a MW on a 4 or 5 ? Even if that doesn't wound it ?
Yes, it does. It suffers it in "addition to any other damage". 0+X is X, so you get X mortal wounds.
So, one shot from a haywire blaster can do 2 MW, without doing a single wound.
See I know you're arguing in bad faith now, because I literally explained this in my initial post. If you roll a 4, re-roll it and it's a 2, the result is 2, not 4 and 2.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 1919/10/05 18:02:05
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Another question, if i inflict a MW, but the wound roll itself fails, does that count as a failed wound roll ? I did a MW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 18:29:06
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:Another question, if i inflict a MW, but the wound roll itself fails, does that count as a failed wound roll ? I did a MW.
Yes, it is a failed wound roll because the rules for rolling to wound say so. Another special rule causing a mortal wound has no interaction with the normal wounding process.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/05 19:10:14
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: p5freak wrote:You reroll 1-5. Question is, does the vehicle suffer suffer a MW on a 4 or 5 ? Even if that doesn't wound it ?
Yes, it does. It suffers it in "addition to any other damage". 0+X is X, so you get X mortal wounds.
So, one shot from a haywire blaster can do 2 MW, without doing a single wound.
Of course it can, if you roll a 6 then a 2 on the D3.
Thanks, Yarium and BCB, that's what I thought as well, but I always prefer checking with others who spend time thinking on an issue than assuming I'm right just because the person with the opposite opinion is bad at forming an argument.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/08 05:44:53
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Sweden
|
Maybe i am interpreting doom wrong, but since it says that I "can" reroll wound tools, does not that make it optional. Thus I should be able to reroll my choose of failed rolls. Thus 1-3 and leave the 4-5 if I dont want to reroll those.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/08 07:27:17
Subject: Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
McRage wrote:Maybe i am interpreting doom wrong, but since it says that I "can" reroll wound tools, does not that make it optional. Thus I should be able to reroll my choose of failed rolls. Thus 1-3 and leave the 4-5 if I dont want to reroll those.
That's how I would read it, yes. You're not required to re-roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/08 12:54:48
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It’s optional to re-roll what you want to re-roll or not with doom. There’re very few forced re-rolls in 40k (e.g. arch contaminator) which may force you to re-roll all failed wounds (before modifiers, which are actually common in the Nurgle example).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/08 16:19:38
Subject: Re:Doom and Haywire Blasters
|
 |
Omnipotent Necron Overlord
|
p5freak wrote:Another question, if i inflict a MW, but the wound roll itself fails, does that count as a failed wound roll ? I did a MW.
Yes - but if you reroll it - you don't do the mortal wound unless you reroll a mortal wound.
|
If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder |
|
 |
 |
|