Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 15:47:12
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Hey Brainboyz' !
The psychic power Gaze of Fate (Discipline of Tzeentch) allows us to "re-roll a single dice roll". In the case of Psychic tests or Charge rolls, do you re-roll one or both dice ?
Thanks !
|
Deffskullz desert scavengers
Thousand Sons |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 15:53:28
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle
|
Nym wrote:Hey Brainboyz' !
The psychic power Gaze of Fate (Discipline of Tzeentch) allows us to "re-roll a single dice roll". In the case of Psychic tests or Charge rolls, do you re-roll one or both dice ?
Thanks !
Since the Gaze of Fate power says "re-roll a ... roll" you'd re-roll the whole thing. If it just said "re-roll a single dice" then you'd just be re-rolling one die. (Cue argument about "dice" vs. "die" that lasts for six pages.)
|
Death Guard - "The Rotmongers"
Chaos Space Marines - "The Sin-Eaters"
Dark Angels - "Nemeses Errant"
Deathwatch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 15:55:59
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Octopoid wrote: Nym wrote:Hey Brainboyz' ! The psychic power Gaze of Fate (Discipline of Tzeentch) allows us to "re-roll a single dice roll". In the case of Psychic tests or Charge rolls, do you re-roll one or both dice ? Thanks ! Since the Gaze of Fate power says "re-roll a ... roll" you'd re-roll the whole thing. If it just said "re-roll a single dice" then you'd just be re-rolling one die. (Cue argument about "dice" vs. "die" that lasts for six pages.)
You're correct here. A "single dice roll" is all of the dice that make up that particular roll. If it was just a "single dice" it would be worded the same way as the command re-roll stratagem. Don't forget they errata'd how re-rolls work with multi-dice rolls.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/24 15:56:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 16:01:15
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
Octopoid wrote: Nym wrote:Hey Brainboyz' !
The psychic power Gaze of Fate (Discipline of Tzeentch) allows us to "re-roll a single dice roll". In the case of Psychic tests or Charge rolls, do you re-roll one or both dice ?
Thanks !
Since the Gaze of Fate power says "re-roll a ... roll" you'd re-roll the whole thing. If it just said "re-roll a single dice" then you'd just be re-rolling one die. (Cue argument about "dice" vs. "die" that lasts for six pages.)
Yup. It's grammatically ambiguous. This is why you generally don't want to use a plural to represent both singular and plural... especially in a technical document (gaming rule set).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/10/24 16:01:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 16:05:09
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It's the same issue with the "You can't start the game with less than 0 command points" FAQ. Where you put the stress in the sentence changes the meaning.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/10/24 16:08:52
Subject: Gaze of fate re-roll
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
|
I think it's also particularly confusing for most Americans who would never use dice to mean one die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|