Switch Theme:

Grot Shields, grammer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nasty Nob





United States

Grot shields certainly sounds awesome. But I am concerned about the wording especially this part; ",and the Gretchin unit is closer to the attacking model than the target.".

Now I know what makes sense, and what really doesn't. But do the gretchin just need to be inbetween the action or do they need to be further from the orkz then the firing unit?

Edit, have a range to the enemy that is less than their range to the orkz

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/07 22:10:44


I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





Since i don't know the whole Stratagem text i can't be fully sure if there are further requirements (like the grot unit must be at X from ork unit) for it.

Following the bit of text provided when using the stratagem all you need is measure from the attacking model to the grot unit and the target unit, if the Grot unit is closer (even in the opposite side of the table) then RAW it should work.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, at a first glance, that looks like the gretchin need to be closer to the attacker than they (the grots) are to the target... but it can be read either way, and I would strongly suspect the intention is that they just need to be closer than the target is to the attacker.

 
   
Made in ar
Been Around the Block





Use this Stratagem after a <Clan> Infantry unit from your army (excluding units comprised entirely of Gretchin models) has been hit by a ranged weapon. Until the end of the phase, you can roll a D6 each time a model from that unit loses a wound if there is a friendly unit comprised entirely of <Clan> Gretchin Infantry models within 6" of it, and the Gretchin unit is closer to the attacking model than the target. On a 2+ the original model does not lose that wound but one model in that Gretchin unit (your choice) is slain. Otherwise, the model loses the wound as normal.

No, gretchins dont have to be inbetween, the UNIT of gretchins has to be within 6" of the targeted ork UNIT and closer to the firing MODEL than it.
I resalt those words because in some circumstances the enemy will have to split his shots even if they are from the same unit between the models that are closer to the gretchins (and so you can use the rule) and those who arent.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2018/11/08 05:39:09


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






It doesn't technically have to be in between, but because of the 6" limit it's a rare scenario.

It would have to be set up like:

Gretchin <-3"->Enemy<-2"->Orks.
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 Rismonite wrote:
Grot shields certainly sounds awesome. But I am concerned about the wording especially this part; ",and the Gretchin unit is closer to the attacking model than the target.".

Now I know what makes sense, and what really doesn't. But do the gretchin just need to be inbetween the action or do they need to be further from the orkz then the firing unit?

Edit, have a range to the enemy that is less than their range to the orkz


They have to be closer to the enemy than the orks are to the enemy. So for example:

G.E...O

E...G..O

Where G=gretchin, E=enemy, O=ork both are ok(first one is rather funny one).

Other things to keep in mind:

-Clans need to match. Goff ork won't use death skull grot as a screen ever.
-Unlike regular wounds multi damage weapons WILL spill over. If lascannon hits and wounds 6 time you roll 6 dice. For each 1 damage goes to original target(so W1 target is dead) but for each 2+ grot dies. If you roll 1,2,3,4,5,6 you will lose both the ork and 5 grots.
-You don't HAVE to use grot screen even if strategem is activated. In above case with 6 damage from lascannon just eat up the casualty is going to be best option most of the times as odds of losing ork is almost sure AND lose spare grots in process. D2-D3 weapons are going to be pretty nasty though. High chance of losing ork anyway AND grots as well...
-Going to be "fun" rolling D2 weapons against W3 models protected by grot screens. You can't simply roll all damage and apply all 1's to wounds as if model with W3 has 2 wounds down and gets hit by D2 weapon you need to check will you roll double 1(dead ork and wasted damage) or 1 and 2+(dead ork and dead gretchin).

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: