Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 16:13:52
Subject: Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
During a recent game of Kill Team a situation came to a heated debate on whether it was allowed or not.
The rules state (paraphrasing) that when locked in combat only weapon type "Pistol" can be fired during the shooting phase. However a Tyranid Lictor's Flesh Hook states "The weapon can be fired with 1" of an enemy model, and can target enemy models within 1" of friendly models." The Flesh Hook is a weapon type "Assault" therefore cannot be used during the shooting phase if locked in combat. However if you are within 1" of an enemy you are deemed locked in combat so does that mean you ARE allowed to use the Flesh Hook during the shooting phase when locked in combat regardless of it being an Assault weapon?
Which rule takes priority, the general rule or the weapon rule?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 17:07:56
Subject: Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Generally specific overrides general so would be weapon rule. And indeed weapon would be worthless if it didn\t as you would never be able to shoot it otherwise
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 17:14:17
Subject: Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
UK
|
Many of the games core rules are written in a very finite way. However when a codex or warscroll rule conflicts then the warscroll/codex rule overrides the core rule.
Otherwise as Teneva says, some items would become useless. Some are simply designed to "break" core rules that most other things have to obey.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 17:22:42
Subject: Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
It seems it needed to be that way to allow them to run and shoot and also function effectively as a pistol.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 17:22:58
Subject: Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
You can also shoot Flesh Hooks when you aren't within 1" of an enemy but that enemy is within 1" of your men.
And since they're assault weapons, you can fire them with your Deathspitter/Devourer/Venom Cannon.
.....
Flesh Hooks are Pistols but better.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/11/30 17:23:46
"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."
This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.
Freelance Ontologist
When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 20:10:47
Subject: Re:Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Savannah
|
Yeah, they're just massively better pistols. You can even shoot them if you got charged this round, unlike "actual" pistols.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 20:42:20
Subject: Re:Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Trimarius wrote:Yeah, they're just massively better pistols. You can even shoot them if you got charged this round, unlike "actual" pistols.
I though you could still shoot a pistol even if you got charged just not when you charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/11/30 21:12:32
Subject: Re:Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Desubot wrote: Trimarius wrote:Yeah, they're just massively better pistols. You can even shoot them if you got charged this round, unlike "actual" pistols.
I though you could still shoot a pistol even if you got charged just not when you charge.
How I've read the rules, yes you can only shot a pitsol if you were charged. If you were the one that charged you cannot shot your pistol.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/01 03:02:06
Subject: Re:Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Colonel
This Is Where the Fish Lives
|
ColonelDSanders wrote: Desubot wrote: Trimarius wrote:Yeah, they're just massively better pistols. You can even shoot them if you got charged this round, unlike "actual" pistols. I though you could still shoot a pistol even if you got charged just not when you charge. How I've read the rules, yes you can only shot a pitsol if you were charged. If you were the one that charged you cannot shot your pistol.
No, you cannot shoot your pistol if you were charged, page 30 under the "Pistol" description.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/01 03:06:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/12/01 20:45:39
Subject: Re:Tyranid Flesh Hook in Combat
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Savannah
|
ScootyPuffJunior wrote: ColonelDSanders wrote: Desubot wrote: Trimarius wrote:Yeah, they're just massively better pistols. You can even shoot them if you got charged this round, unlike "actual" pistols.
I though you could still shoot a pistol even if you got charged just not when you charge.
How I've read the rules, yes you can only shot a pitsol if you were charged. If you were the one that charged you cannot shot your pistol.
No, you cannot shoot your pistol if you were charged, page 30 under the "Pistol" description.
Yeah, no shooting pistols if you either charged or got charged this turn. You can't overwatch and then shoot someone before they get to swing at you.
Honestly, pistols aren't great in KT. Flesh hooks are, though, especially as they're free.
|
|
 |
 |
|