Switch Theme:

Runterd an elite choice that doesn't use up a slot?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

I'm a little confused by the new Runterd entry.

It is still listed as an elite choice, but it says it doesn't use up any of your slots.

This mechanic seems to let you take your Runterd on top of an other wise full detachment?

Also, as it is still an elite choice, does it still count towards your minimum number of elites in detachments such as brigades?

Thanks dakkabrain.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

nareik wrote:
Also, as it is still an elite choice, does it still count towards your minimum number of elites in detachments such as brigades?

If a RUNTHERD does not take up slots in a Detachment, how can he be used to fill the minimum number of slots in a Detachment? Also note the requirements to take a RUNTHERD:

If your army is Battle-forged, you must include at least one unit comprised entirely of GRETCHIN INFANTRY in a Detachment for each RUNTHERD unit in that Detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/30 14:38:35


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Yes on top of a full detatchment it doesnt use a slot

No it cannont fill a mandatory detatchment slot as it doesnt use a slot
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The entire "point" of the rule is to prevent you from using a Runtherd to fill out brigades (at least that's my take on it). The rule is not optional, and thus you cannot fill mandatory elite slots in detachments that have them, regardless of intent.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/12/30 17:53:54


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





It does still count as having the Elite battlefield role though, which is relevant for Deathwatch, and possibly certain missions.
   
Made in it
Waaagh! Ork Warboss




Italy

 BaconCatBug wrote:
The entire "point" of the rule is to prevent you from using a Runtherd to fill out brigades (at least that's my take on it). The rule is not optional, and thus you cannot fill mandatory elite slots in detachments that have them, regardless of intent.


It doesn't make any sense though. Meks are significantly cheaper than runtherds and kommandos are basically the same cost but way more useful.

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The 'Runtherd' rule is there to keep you from taking him when there's no runts for him to herd and still count as an Elites choice for rules like the aforementioned Deathwatch rule.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Ghaz wrote:
The 'Runtherd' rule is there to keep you from taking him when there's no runts for him to herd and still count as an Elites choice for rules like the aforementioned Deathwatch rule.


This is far more plausible than the other ‘splainy above.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Halandri

 BaconCatBug wrote:
The entire "point" of the rule is to prevent you from using a Runtherd to fill out brigades (at least that's my take on it). The rule is not optional, and thus you cannot fill mandatory elite slots in detachments that have them, regardless of intent.
i think it is the other way around; that if you've filled out all your elite slots you can still take the gretchin's unit leader equivalent (the Runterd).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/12/30 21:18:58


 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

nareik wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The entire "point" of the rule is to prevent you from using a Runtherd to fill out brigades (at least that's my take on it). The rule is not optional, and thus you cannot fill mandatory elite slots in detachments that have them, regardless of intent.
i think it is the other way around; that if you've filled out all your elite slots you can still take the gretchin's unit leader equivalent (the Runterd).


Who the heck manages to fill out ANY slots?

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in es
Swift Swooping Hawk





 JNAProductions wrote:
nareik wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
The entire "point" of the rule is to prevent you from using a Runtherd to fill out brigades (at least that's my take on it). The rule is not optional, and thus you cannot fill mandatory elite slots in detachments that have them, regardless of intent.
i think it is the other way around; that if you've filled out all your elite slots you can still take the gretchin's unit leader equivalent (the Runterd).


Who the heck manages to fill out ANY slots?


Someone running a Patrol, Spearhead or Outrider detachment, with some other limits on ammount of detachments for whatever reason?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: