Switch Theme:

Charging past undeclared charge targets  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





The charge phase rules read:
No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that
was not a target of its charge


Does this restriction apply while you're physically moving the model itself or does it only apply at the end of the move? For example, if there is a 1" gap between two models that were not declared as part of a charge, is it legal for me to charge through that gap at a different target? Even though doing so would put me within 1" of undeclared targets during the actual physical movement of the models?

This ended up being a deciding factor in a game last weekend and we weren't sure if assaulting units could charge past undeclared targets or if they had to maintain a 1" bubble around undeclared targets at all times.

--- 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 slave.entity wrote:
The charge phase rules read:
No models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that
was not a target of its charge


Does this restriction apply while you're physically moving the model itself or does it only apply at the end of the move? For example, if there is a 1" gap between two models that were not declared as part of a charge, is it legal for me to charge through that gap at a different target? Even though doing so would put me within 1" of undeclared targets during the actual physical movement of the models?

This ended up being a deciding factor in a game last weekend and we weren't sure if assaulting units could charge past undeclared targets or if they had to maintain a 1" bubble around undeclared targets at all times.
It means at any point of the move, the same way as movement works in the movement phase. My guess is it is to prevent you from avoiding overwatch. If you want to shimmy past them, just declare that unit as part of the charge and suck up the overwatch. If the unit is already in combat with something there is literally no reason to not also charge that unit to allow you to move within 1".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/02 21:28:30


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It applies while you're moving the model itself. You wouldn't get to go through a 1" gap between two models if one or both of them are in a unit that you didn't declare a charge against. There's a 1" bubble around undeclared targets when making your charge move.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

Also important to note that if you can keep outside 1" for the move itself, your Pile in can be used to engage the other unit and essentially bypass its overwatch.
Very useful if a use has some nasty shooting and all you want to do is tie it up.

But as others has confirmed, you cannot fit through a gap between undeclared targets unless that gap allows you to stay 1" away from those undeclared targets.
This means that a unit of yours on 2mm bases needs the gap to be over 3"

-

   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Galef wrote:
Also important to note that if you can keep outside 1" for the move itself, your Pile in can be used to engage the other unit and essentially bypass its overwatch.
Very useful if a use has some nasty shooting and all you want to do is tie it up.


Yes, but the enemy unit will get to immediately fight you. And then it will be the enemy turn and they will likely have the opportunity to fight you a second time before you get a fight against them.

But in some circumstances it will still be worth it, where the enemy's shooting is significantly scarier than their melee ability!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





In my specific case last weekend, it was a matter of not rolling quite high enough to charge around the undeclared target while maintaining the 1" bubble. The charge roll was just barely enough to succeed if the unit could shimmy past the undeclared target, but having to go around the 1" bubble meant adding enough extra inches of movement for the charge roll to fail. The undeclared target was a Razorback so a 1" bubble demands quite a bit of extra charge distance if you're trying to charge something hiding directly behind it without eating overwatch.

Thanks for clearing that up everyone.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/02 22:23:29


--- 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

 Stux wrote:
 Galef wrote:
Also important to note that if you can keep outside 1" for the move itself, your Pile in can be used to engage the other unit and essentially bypass its overwatch.
Very useful if a use has some nasty shooting and all you want to do is tie it up.


Yes, but the enemy unit will get to immediately fight you. And then it will be the enemy turn and they will likely have the opportunity to fight you a second time before you get a fight against them.

But in some circumstances it will still be worth it, where the enemy's shooting is significantly scarier than their melee ability!
Indeed, which is when you want to use it. Units with 1 attack per model, low strength and no AP in melee that either cannot FLY away or fall back and shoot next turn.
In my experience, stopping a key unit from shooting you for a turn is worth it every turn. All the better if the unit you charged with is a decent melee unit that can also kill some stuff.

-

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: