Switch Theme:

Summoning  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

Given a list consisting solely of Chaos Space Marines, a Chaos Lord uses Daemonic Ritual to summon. Rolling on 3 dice, he gets a natural 18 (3 6s.)

What can he summon? Is he limited to units listed in Codex: Chaos Space Marines or can he summon units from Codex: Chaos Daemons as well?

I believe the answer is the later, but find myself unsure.

This happened to me in a game. While I had the dice to summon Skarbrand, my opponent objected based on the fact nothing else in my army came from C:CD. I settled for Bloodletters, but nothing in the rules say anything about which Codex the summoned unit has to come from. The wording says any Daemon with Daemonic Ritual.

   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





As far as I know, the only restrictions are that the summoned unit must have Daemonic Ritual and that it must be appropriate for the summoner's allegiance (if he has one).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/04 15:43:34


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





The above is correct. What book the datasheet is in is totally irrelevant. If it's has demonic ritual, the summoner has the correct keywords, and you roll high enough then you can summon it.
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I don't have the Daemon Codex with me, but a pick look-up online shows me that Bloodthirsters are Daemons that have the Daemonic Ritual ability, and thus are eligible to be summoned. Nothing in the rule of Daemonic Ritual says that it has to be a daemon from that particular codex, just the Daemon Keyword, and have Daemonic Ritual special rule. This is why you can summon a Bloodthirster with a Chaos Lord, but not a unit of Obliterators.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






As long as the summoning unit has the right keywords (CHAOS CHARACTER) and the summoned unit has the right keywords (DAEMONIC RITUAL), you're all good.

As an aside, the Daemonic Ritual rule is in the Daemons codex as well.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Skarbrand all the way down to bloodletters, wow.

He cheated.
   
Made in gb
Excited Doom Diver





 JimOnMars wrote:
Skarbrand all the way down to bloodletters, wow.

He cheated.
Well, he was wrong; there's no reason to assume he was cheating.

But yeah, anything with the Daemonic Ritual keyword is fair game for summoning, whether it's in Codex: Chaos Space Marines, Codex: Chaos Daemons, or a Forgeworld book.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: