Switch Theme:

Genestealer Cults - 2 Characters on 1 Unit Action  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




In the Index: Xenos 2, Cult Ambush says that you may "before rolling on the Cult Ambush table" for Genestealer Cults Characters, "you can pick one friendly" infantry "that was also set up in ambush to arrive with them; make one roll on the Cult Ambush table and apply the same to both units" and then provides that they must be setup within 6" of each other.

My question is whether you can select two characters for the same infantry unit. So we have this scenario:

Primus is setup in ambush.
Magus is setup in ambush.
Aberrants are setup in ambush.

"before rolling on the Cult Ambush Table" for my Primus, I select the Aberrants.

"before rolling on the Cult Ambush Table" for my Magus, I select the Aberrants.

I roll once for all 3 models. Is this legal? RAW, I don't see a problem with it. Nothing says two characters can't pick the same unit and the rule only requires you make the selection before rolling. Thus, all the requirements seem to be met from that perspective.

RAI it does say "both units" at the end there, but that could just be easse of writing on GW's part.

Thoughts?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





No you can't do this, because you pick the first character then you have to choose the unit going with it and then you have to roll. All that BEFORE moving onto the second character.
   
Made in us
Damsel of the Lady




 Stux wrote:
No you can't do this, because you pick the first character then you have to choose the unit going with it and then you have to roll. All that BEFORE moving onto the second character.


I'm following most of your chain but where does it say I have to make the roll before picking a second one? RAI I can see that, but RAW I don't see that command in the text. The rule just says "make one roll..." Without any specification as to when.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

How can you move onto another unit if you haven't completed the prior action? The norm is one unit, one roll. This allows one unit + character = 1 roll. It doesn't allow grouping several characters into one roll.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Audustum wrote:
 Stux wrote:
No you can't do this, because you pick the first character then you have to choose the unit going with it and then you have to roll. All that BEFORE moving onto the second character.


I'm following most of your chain but where does it say I have to make the roll before picking a second one? RAI I can see that, but RAW I don't see that command in the text. The rule just says "make one roll..." Without any specification as to when.
If you wish, before rolling on the Cult Ambush table for a GENESTEALER CULTS CHARACTER, you can pick one friendly GENESTEALER CULTS INFANTRY unit that was also set up in ambush to arrive with them; make one roll on the Cult Ambush table and apply the same result to both units.
You can't roll for the second character before resolving the roll for the first, at which point it's too late to pick the second character. The "immediately" is implied due to sloppy English syntax, the same way it's implied that a dice needs to be numbered 1 to 6.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/06 15:39:10


 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Audustum wrote:
 Stux wrote:
No you can't do this, because you pick the first character then you have to choose the unit going with it and then you have to roll. All that BEFORE moving onto the second character.


I'm following most of your chain but where does it say I have to make the roll before picking a second one? RAI I can see that, but RAW I don't see that command in the text. The rule just says "make one roll..." Without any specification as to when.


As the others have said, it's because the default is that when you are resolving an ability you finish before moving onto the next one.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: