Switch Theme:

Daemonic Ritual questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Deadly Dire Avenger





Two questions regarding summoning units via daemonic ritual:

1. Does summoning units circumvent the rule of 3? Example: can I summon a 4th or 5th unit of plague drones or flesh hounds in matched play?

2. Can units be summoned via daemonic ritual on turn one despite the tactical reserves rule in matched play?
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





 son_of_osiris wrote:
Two questions regarding summoning units via daemonic ritual:

1. Does summoning units circumvent the rule of 3? Example: can I summon a 4th or 5th unit of plague drones or flesh hounds in matched play?

2. Can units be summoned via daemonic ritual on turn one despite the tactical reserves rule in matched play?


to my knowledge, if you have the pts free and the models and manage to not feth up the roll then yes to 1.

2. the only requirement to summon/ attempt to summon is that the chaos Charachter stood still.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 son_of_osiris wrote:
Two questions regarding summoning units via daemonic ritual:

1. Does summoning units circumvent the rule of 3? Example: can I summon a 4th or 5th unit of plague drones or flesh hounds in matched play?

2. Can units be summoned via daemonic ritual on turn one despite the tactical reserves rule in matched play?
1. It doesn't circumvent it so much as doesn't interact with it at all. Summoned units are never part of any detachment and so are never included in a Battle-forged army. Keep in mind summoned CHARACTERS will never gain a Daemonic Loci but can benefit from other CHARACTER auras. Also, to nitpick, the "Rule of 3" is not a matched play rule. It's a suggestion for Organised Events.

2. Again, Daemonic Summoning doesn't interact with Tactical Reserves whatsoever. Tactical Reserves only applies to units that are "set up" somewhere other than the battlefield. Daemonic Ritual never sets up the unit anywhere other than the battlefield, they literally materialise from your pool of Reinforcement Points.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/25 20:14:44


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Can i summon a unit which is not in my army list ? For example, my list is a battalion with 3 HQ, can i summon a 4th HQ, if i have enough reinforcement points set aside ?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 p5freak wrote:
Can i summon a unit which is not in my army list ? For example, my list is a battalion with 3 HQ, can i summon a 4th HQ, if i have enough reinforcement points set aside ?

Summoned units are not a part of any detachment.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
Can i summon a unit which is not in my army list ? For example, my list is a battalion with 3 HQ, can i summon a 4th HQ, if i have enough reinforcement points set aside ?
Yes, because summoned units do not take up any slots in a detachment. They are, in fact, not part of any detachment at all.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, because summoned units do not take up any slots in a detachment. They are, in fact, not part of any detachment at all.


If a unit is not part of any detachment, is it part of my army ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/16 16:57:58


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, because summoned units do not take up any slots in a detachment. They are, in fact, not part of any detachment at all.
If a unit is not part of any detachment, is it part of my army ?
Yes.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, because summoned units do not take up any slots in a detachment. They are, in fact, not part of any detachment at all.
If a unit is not part of any detachment, is it part of my army ?
Yes.


I disagree. In a battle forged army all your units must be in detachments. Check the BRB pg. 240. Therefore, a summoned unit, which is not part of a detachment, is not part of your army. Which means you can summon additional units which normally can only be included in your army once.
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, because summoned units do not take up any slots in a detachment. They are, in fact, not part of any detachment at all.
If a unit is not part of any detachment, is it part of my army ?
Yes.


I disagree. In a battle forged army all your units must be in detachments. Check the BRB pg. 240. Therefore, a summoned unit, which is not part of a detachment, is not part of your army. Which means you can summon additional units which normally can only be included in your army once.




EXCEPT: that battleforged is determined before you use your Summoning.
Since you just put points aside instead of models, you therefore don't have models that are not in a detachment.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
I disagree. In a battle forged army all your units must be in detachments. Check the BRB pg. 240. Therefore, a summoned unit, which is not part of a detachment, is not part of your army. Which means you can summon additional units which normally can only be included in your army once.
Firstly, that's only true about making your army list pre game.

Secondly, yes, you can summon "unique" units more than once. Why did you think you couldn't?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
I disagree. In a battle forged army all your units must be in detachments. Check the BRB pg. 240. Therefore, a summoned unit, which is not part of a detachment, is not part of your army. Which means you can summon additional units which normally can only be included in your army once.
Firstly, that's only true about making your army list pre game.

Secondly, yes, you can summon "unique" units more than once. Why did you think you couldn't?


Because the datasheet says that unique units can only be in your army once. And if you summon another one you have two of those unique units.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/16 18:31:45


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
I disagree. In a battle forged army all your units must be in detachments. Check the BRB pg. 240. Therefore, a summoned unit, which is not part of a detachment, is not part of your army. Which means you can summon additional units which normally can only be included in your army once.
Firstly, that's only true about making your army list pre game.

Secondly, yes, you can summon "unique" units more than once. Why did you think you couldn't?


Because the datasheet says that unique units can only be in your army once.
Again, that is only when making your army roster pre-game. Summoning doesn't care about that.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Again, that is only when making your army roster pre-game. Summoning doesn't care about that.


Not sure if a TO would agree that whats written on a datasheet only applies to making your army roster. This can lead to some absurd combos.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Not really? You still need to pay the points for the unit and need to pass a summoning test AND have a unit able to do the summoning. Nothing broken about it.

Also screaming "I don't like it" doesn't change the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/16 18:38:55


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:

Because the datasheet says that unique units can only be in your army once. And if you summon another one you have two of those unique units.


The subject of summoning unique characters with daemonic ritual has fortunately been faqd. Hard to find tho cos it's in the csm faq (obviously right?!)

Q: If I have a Daemon model that can only be included once
in my army – for example, the Changeling – and that model is
slain during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to
summon it and add it to my army again?
A: Yes. Note that if you’re playing a matched play game
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.


So you can summon a unique model - if it has been slain.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






FWIW, you don't have to wait for the model to be slain IMHO, but I can see why people would think that it does.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/16 19:21:15


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Captyn_Bob wrote:

The subject of summoning unique characters with daemonic ritual has fortunately been faqd. Hard to find tho cos it's in the csm faq (obviously right?!)

Q: If I have a Daemon model that can only be included once
in my army – for example, the Changeling – and that model is
slain during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to
summon it and add it to my army again?
A: Yes. Note that if you’re playing a matched play game
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.


So you can summon a unique model - if it has been slain.


Classic GW move, hide it in another codex FAQ This answers if a unique slain model can be summoned, but it doesnt answer if you can summon a unique model which is still in your army. I wouldnt mind having 3 or 4 blue scribes in my army, automatically manifesting psychic powers which already have been manifested, and which cant be denied. Getting +4 to wound rolls for a daemon unit ? Pink horrors wounding a knight on 2+ ? Sounds insane. But i am not convinced that its actually possible to summon multiple unique models.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






You're paying for those models and have to somehow summon them, so it balances out.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: