Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 20:54:03
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Let's say I have a unit of Skitarii Rangers "embarked" in/on a Fortification that has firing ports and I select the Canticle of the Omnissiah that let's me re-roll to-hit rolls of 1 in the shooting phase. Would that still apply to the Rangers? I know a dominus aura wouldn't work as the models aren't technically "on the table", but would Canticles affect them? I'm inclined to say they would be affected by Canticles, my logic being that Orks are affected by DDD when they're embarked, but I wanted a second opinion.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 20:55:57
Subject: Re:Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The transport rule says that embarked units cannot be affected in any way, unless a special rule says otherwise. So, no, you can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 20:56:39
Subject: Re:Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
I may have missed it, but where did it clarify that DDD is applied to units embarked?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 21:03:22
Subject: Re:Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
skchsan wrote:I may have missed it, but where did it clarify that DDD is applied to units embarked?
It isn't clear either way, because the rules don't sufficiently cover whether a units own special rules apply to themselves when they fire from a transport. There are legitimate arguments either way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 21:06:48
Subject: Re:Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
BaconCatBug wrote: skchsan wrote:I may have missed it, but where did it clarify that DDD is applied to units embarked?
It isn't clear either way, because the rules don't sufficiently cover whether a units own special rules apply to themselves when they fire from a transport. There are legitimate arguments either way.
Yeah that's what I had thought. The OP had sounded like there was a SFF.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 21:15:23
Subject: Re:Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I was under the impression DDD did apply for some reason, apologies. But the consensus seems to be no Canticles, so that's good to know, thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 21:22:42
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
FWIW I am personally in the camp of "No, they don't benefit" for the reasons p5freak stated. Is it stupid that Orks in a Battlewaggon suddenly forget how to shoot indiscriminantly? Yes. Is it stupid that the literal Author Of The Codex Astartes can't remember how to fall back and shoot like his genesons can? Yes. The rules, however, don't care what is stupid or not, they just are.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 22:12:58
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I think that’s stretching the term “affected” to breaking point. A unit’s rules are its rules. Another unit’s special rules that affect the embarked unit is what they mean, to my mind. You can play the “the rules don’t have to make sense” card if it makes you feel better, or you can try to apply the most sensible reading of a rule if there’s a grey area.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 22:50:34
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
JohnnyHell wrote:I think that’s stretching the term “affected” to breaking point. A unit’s rules are its rules. Another unit’s special rules that affect the embarked unit is what they mean, to my mind. You can play the “the rules don’t have to make sense” card if it makes you feel better, or you can try to apply the most sensible reading of a rule if there’s a grey area.
This is my interpretation. Affected in this context refers to abilities outside of the unit itself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 23:25:49
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:I think that’s stretching the term “affected” to breaking point. A unit’s rules are its rules. Another unit’s special rules that affect the embarked unit is what they mean, to my mind. You can play the “the rules don’t have to make sense” card if it makes you feel better, or you can try to apply the most sensible reading of a rule if there’s a grey area.
This is my interpretation. Affected in this context refers to abilities outside of the unit itself.
So by this interpretation Canticles would apply since that's a rule the unit has rather than something "affecting" it? This might end up being a "ask the TO" question
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/25 23:29:42
Subject: Canticles of the Omnissiah and embarked models shooting out of firing ports
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Jackal444 wrote: Stux wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:I think that’s stretching the term “affected” to breaking point. A unit’s rules are its rules. Another unit’s special rules that affect the embarked unit is what they mean, to my mind. You can play the “the rules don’t have to make sense” card if it makes you feel better, or you can try to apply the most sensible reading of a rule if there’s a grey area.
This is my interpretation. Affected in this context refers to abilities outside of the unit itself.
So by this interpretation Canticles would apply since that's a rule the unit has rather than something "affecting" it? This might end up being a "ask the TO" question
Yes and yes.
|
|
 |
 |
|