Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 22:58:43
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
My question is in the context of RAW and I am asking is my interpretation of the following rule correct from a RAW standpoint. I obviously would not play it this way due to the topic at hand.
Here is the Rule
"Resilient: Each time this model loses a wound, roll a dice; on a 5+ it does not lose a wound."
Now am I being silly in thinking that it said DICE not D6, so any dice counts cough d100 cough RAW.
I know this would be ridiculous and be auto That Guy, however with the whole way Custom Character Rules are written you should expect That Guy behaviour.
My question was there/is their any rule I missed that when they refer to a non specific dice they mean D6 ergo RAI? Or does any dice count RAW?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/26 23:04:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:02:12
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
ThatMG wrote:My question is in the context of RAW and I am asking is my interpretation of the following rule correct from a RAW standpoint. I obviously would not play it this way due to the topic at hand. Here is the Rule "Resilient: Each time this model loses a wound, roll a dice; on a 5+ it does not lose a wound." Now am I being silly in thinking that it said DICE not D6, so any dice counts cough d100 cough RAW. I know this would be ridiculous and be auto That Guy, however with the whole way Custom Character Rules are written you should expect That Guy behaviour. My question was there/is their any rule I missed that when they refer to dice they mean D6 ergo RAI? Or does any dice count RAW?
The Character creation rules are for Open Play only, thus the rules are made up and the points don't matter. Also, BRB Page 176 "Tools of War" sidebar wrote:"Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice, sometimes abbreviated to D6."
so you're out of luck there. Of course the rules don't define that the dice need to be numbered one through six, but it's part of the English Language Parsing needed to play the game at all.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/26 23:03:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:04:39
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
The ruins of the Palace of Thorns
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:11:32
Subject: Re:Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
However this is a purely technical question the open rules don't matter because I am currently modifying the experience gaining rules and the custom characters for a campaign of Vigilus. That will only effect specific characters.
The BRB post you posted say is that D6 is the abbreviated for a six sided dice not that DICE means D6 ergo RAW! still sound...Dice = any dice...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:20:02
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
It literally says "Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice." If you use ANY dice other than a six-sided dice, you're breaking the rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:24:59
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Even outside the rules, would literally ANYONE let this happen?
Seriously. Find me a single opponent who'd let you roll a d100 or a d20 or something instead of a d6.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/01/26 23:43:08
Subject: Chapter Approved Custom Character Rule Oddity
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
|
BaconCatBug wrote:It literally says "Warhammer 40,000 uses six-sided dice." If you use ANY dice other than a six-sided dice, you're breaking the rules.
cool yeah I agree just wondered.
|
|
 |
 |
|