Switch Theme:

Fight Phase  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




I have been looking around other topics on this phase and I just can't seem to figure out how it works.

Example:

- an HQ character and a squad of marines both made successful charges on a small fire warrior squad with no other units around.
- Now in the Fight Phase, I then activate HQ to fight first. He kills all the fire warriors from the unit.
- According to the Fight Phase sequence, my HQ now consolidates if I want to the nearest enemy model up to "3

So My question is what happens to my squad of marines? (I for whatever reason have played: they have no one to fight so they just stand there...But after reading and looking at some youtube videos It got me thinking if this is right?
Some videos I have seen say I can activate my marines and now pile in "3 AND consolidate "3 for an optional total of "6 to the closest enemy?
I have specifically been reading the Fight Phase over and over and I just may be missing a keyword somewhere.

Thank you for any input and sorry if this is a dumb question or answered previously (Please link if so)
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Any unit that made a successful charge must activate in the Fight Phase. It doesn't matter if they are not within 1" anymore, that only applies to units that didn't charge.

So yes, the Marine squad can activate, Pile In, Fight if they are now in range, then Consolidate (even if they didn't actually Fight).

Also, no need to apologise. It's a complex phase that most people get wrong at first!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/27 22:06:53


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Covered in the Designers Commentary FAQ:

Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit but, due to casualties suffered and models removed, it is no longer within 1" of any enemy units later in the phase, can it still be chosen to fight?

A: No, unless the unit in question charged this turn it cannot be chosen to fight if there are no longer enemy units within 1". Note that it is possible – if heavy enough casualties have been incurred – that even a unit that did charge may not be close enough, even after a pile-in move, to make close combat attacks. It can still, of course, consolidate.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for the link! I must have skipped over the commentary when researching.

This is the link that I am specifically referring to. At 21:10 minutes in is the example:

This move with his terminators gaining an extra "6 is completely fine?

This potentially changes so much for me as I play Space Wolves (I have been playing against myself for so long)

Thank you again!
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Stux has it right, any unit that makes a successful charge gets to pile in and consolidate even if there are no enemies within range anymore. Keep in mind that Pile In and Consolidate both have restrictions on how you can move, it's not free movement.

Where this gets good is when you have units that can fight two or even three times. A unit of Khorne Berserkers that charges can theoretically move 18" in a single fight phase, plus the potential 12" from charging.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/01/27 22:50:12


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Sinisterunknown wrote:

This is the link that I am specifically referring to. At 21:10 minutes in is the example:
This move with his terminators gaining an extra "6 is completely fine?


There is no assault phase But yes, its perfectly legal to move 6" towards the nearest enemy model, in the fight phase, if the unit charged, or had enemy models within 1".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/01/27 22:54:32


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
Sinisterunknown wrote:

This is the link that I am specifically referring to. At 21:10 minutes in is the example:
This move with his terminators gaining an extra "6 is completely fine?


There is no assault phase But yes, its perfectly legal to move 6" towards the nearest enemy model, in the fight phase, if the unit charged, or had enemy models within 1".
Nitpick: It's not enough to have had enemies within 1" if you didn't charge. Eligibility is not checked once at the start, it's checked when you select a unit to fight.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you so much for the reply's!
This is something that changes and is so important to how I play my army. I'm greatful to get it answered so quickly.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: