Switch Theme:

Can you use the new Cult 'a plan generations in the making' against a Druk player using vect on you?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut




Cult player uses a strat, druk player uses vect. Can you use 'a plan generations in the making' on their vect so that your original strat goes off?

Thanks
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






ravenerioli wrote:
Cult player uses a strat, druk player uses vect. Can you use 'a plan generations in the making' on their vect so that your original strat goes off?

Thanks
A good question that I suspect has no answer due to the vague nature of GW's rules writing. My first instinct would be that whoever's turn it is decides the ordering due to the Sequencing rule, since both APGITM and Agents of Vect happen "just after your opponent has spent CPs to use a Stratagem, but before the effects of that Stratagem are resolved."

My money is on GW flipping a coin and picking a random option to resolve it, naturally only included in the GSC codex FAQ because you obviously need that particular FAQ to play Dark Eldar amirite?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/04 23:04:24


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Assuming it's written the same as Agents, I would think that you could.

You use Strat A, Drukhari player uses Agents - this interrupts the process of applying the effects of that stratagem. You then use Plan, which interrupts the process of applying the effects of Agents. There's no reason why you can't have these sorts of "nested interruptions".
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Cheexsta wrote:
Assuming it's written the same as Agents, I would think that you could.

You use Strat A, Drukhari player uses Agents - this interrupts the process of applying the effects of that stratagem. You then use Plan, which interrupts the process of applying the effects of Agents. There's no reason why you can't have these sorts of "nested interruptions".


This is correct.

Sequencing isn't relevant here, as they don't have the same triggering event. They are reacting to CP being spent on two different Stratagems.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/05 00:42:46


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Where is the rule stating you get to resolve one before the other?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Where is the rule stating you get to resolve one before the other?


Agents of Vect is a stratagem. If you use A Plan on it, you clearly resolve A Plan before Agents of Vect. Because A Plan says that you cancel the target stratagem.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Seems like there's not really an FAQ required here. If a DE players uses Vect then has APGITM used in return the sequence is clear: APGITM gets to be resolved in response to Vect because that's what its rules say it does. The opposite would also be true if it was the DE player using Vect on APGITM.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/02/05 12:06:59


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Seems just like playing a NOPE card to counter a NOPE card in Exploding Kittens! Agree with posters just above me on how to resolve.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





 JohnnyHell wrote:
Seems just like playing a NOPE card to counter a NOPE card in Exploding Kittens! Agree with posters just above me on how to resolve.


UNO reversal, thank god they stopped us from using a stratagem more then once per turn.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Slipspace wrote:
Seems like there's not really an FAQ required here. If a DE players uses Vect then has APGITM used in return the sequence is clear: APGITM gets to be resolved in response to Vect because that's what its rules say it does. The opposite would also be true if it was the DE player using Vect on APGITM.


Agreed.

Not to mention, if A Plan can't interrupt Vect then Vect can't interrupt anything! A Plan would use the same mechanism to stop Vect from resolving as Vect uses to stop it's target from resolving.

Otherwise you can say "sure, you can use Agents of Vect in response to my Rotate Ion Shields, but I get to resolve Rotate Ion Shields before you resolve Vect". Which makes no sense.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Agreed. It’s simply logical.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Tribune




It's basically whoever plays their "you can't do this" counter trap card (yugioh) first loses in GSC vs Dark Eldar match up.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





An interrupt on an interrupt has been a thing in tabletop gaming for... longer than I've been an adult.

They both explicitly resolve before their parent. Therefore, the child definitely resolves first.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Bharring wrote:
An interrupt on an interrupt has been a thing in tabletop gaming for... longer than I've been an adult.

They both explicitly resolve before their parent. Therefore, the child definitely resolves first.
[Citation Needed] There is no indication, explicit or otherwise, about what happens in 40k when this happens. We're given a nebulous "after CP is paid but before the stratagem resolves" timing.

I agree that the last one to be played SHOULD be the first one resolved but it is in no way clear.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/02/08 22:54:09


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





`A Plan` has a rule that states you resolve `A Plan` before you resolve the stratagem it is played upon.

`Vect` has a rule that states you resolve `Vect` before you resolve the stratagem it is played upon.

`Vect` targets stratagem `somestrat`.
`A Plan` targets stratagem `Vect`.

Per `Vect`, do not resolve `somestrat` yet - `Vect` is not done - citation, AoV
Per `A Plan`, do not resolve `Vect` yet - `A Plan` is not done - citation, `A Plan`
Execute `A Plan` per its rules - citation - `A Plan`
Then, "execute" `Vect`, as modified by `A Plan` - citation `A Plan`
Then, "execute" `somestrat`, as modified by the modified `Vect` - citation, `Vect`.

It's a lot simpler to just say each layered FIFO element goes into a stack, and you pop them each. Because the above is a very wordy way to break it all down and provide citations.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Exactly. Read and apply the Stratagems. No citations other than that needed. The second interrupt interrupts the first interrupt.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Bharring wrote:
An interrupt on an interrupt has been a thing in tabletop gaming for... longer than I've been an adult.

They both explicitly resolve before their parent. Therefore, the child definitely resolves first.
[Citation Needed] There is no indication, explicit or otherwise, about what happens in 40k when this happens. We're given a nebulous "after CP is paid but before the stratagem resolves" timing.

I agree that the last one to be played SHOULD be the first one resolved but it is in no way clear.


That is how it works according to how the rules are written and it's clear. There's nothing particularly special about Vect in this scenario. It's just the same as any other stratagem. You play A Plan on it and it potentially stops Vect working. The fact Vect is basically identical to A Plan isn't relevant at all - it doesn't resolve until you've determined the results of A Plan, just like using a re-roll stratagem wouldn't resolve until you determine the effects of A Plan.
   
Made in it
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Sesto San Giovanni, Italy

I also believe that you can stop Vect with A Plan (and viceversa)...

However, even if more common, it's not necessarily true, or what GW wants.
There are A LOT of games in which any interrupting action/card/moves cannot be interrupted again by something else before it is resolved.

True, this introduces a small distinction between stratagems and counter-stratagems, so probably GW agree with us.

But, still, it would make sense that a 4 CP stratagems (pricier than ANYTHING else after FAQ, and not by mistake) will always work. Also, If their plan are to introduce more and more gameplay based on stratagems (I continue to feel a growing and hideous MTG vibe) have possibly endless indentation of effects that stack ti be resolved in reverse order... really they want that?

Honestly I dunno. Both options have pros and cons. I won't be so sure of what will happen with the FAQ (but I expect a 4 CP attached cost)

I can't condone a place where abusers and abused are threated the same: it's destined to doom, so there is no reason to participate in it. 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You’d need a rule stating it couldn’t be interrupted, so in absence of one it can.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: