Switch Theme:

Shooting wound allocation and units with one model with a better save.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

I was just thinking about this and I don't know how it works exactly.

Lets say I have a tactical squad with 8 bolters, 1 plasma gun and 1 lascannon.

It fires everthing and scores 5 bolter successful wound rolls, 1 plasma gun wound and 1 lascannon wound


and lets say my opponent has a 5 man space wolf long fangs squad, including one guy has a storm sheild.

Assuming that my opponent is very lucky and makes every save with his storm sheild, can he allocate all the wounds, one at a time to the storm sheild bearer, or do they have to get spread out?



   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





They should be resolved one at a time. He can keep allocating them to the Storm Shield bearer until he is slain, then any remaining would have to be made without the Storm Shield.

Note that you choose which order to shoot your weapons (though the same weapons have to be all shot together), so you can do this tactically if you think it helps.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

So I can force him to take the bolter fire first?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Sazzlefrats wrote:
So I can force him to take the bolter fire first?


Absolutely. Though he can of course allocate them to other models and save the Storm Shield for the Plasma and Lascannon.

Exception being for multi wound models, once they lose a wound then you must allocate future wounds to them until the model is slain - you can't have multiple models in the same unit with wounds missing!
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

If you review the shooting rules, you will see that technically when using the Fast Rolling rules, you only roll the dice for one type of weapon resolving To Hit, To Wound, Save, and Damage before you even roll for the next type of weapon.

Players commonly roll all the weapons for a unit by using different color dice. If you do that, you should declare the order resolution to avoid either player attempting to "game" resolution of saves.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

What about, if you have a model with 2 wounds, and the rest of the unit has 1 wound. If you allocate one 1 wound to that model, can you then just take any 1 wound model off the board, because at that point, any wounds equals a kill?

I'm thinking of unit leaders with 2 wounds... use one to save a grunt from dying, and then afterwards take all wounds on the grunts and leave the leader until the last.

I have a feeling from the rules primer its not a legit tactic
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

No. Once a model with multiple wounds has lost a wound, all Wounds must be allocated to the model in the Save step until the model is dead.
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

 alextroy wrote:
Players commonly roll all the weapons for a unit by using different color dice. If you do that, you should declare the order resolution to avoid either player attempting to "game" resolution of saves.


Is this how its done in tournaments? I don't want to be labeled as "that" guy.


BTW thanks for the confirmation on the 2 wound leader in units of 1 wound models.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

I don't play tournaments, but I would declare, before rolling to hit, I am rolling these together, but we will resolve them as Bolter, Plasma Gun, then Las Cannon.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

i've seen it done but I wouldn't say its common. it can be useful time saving for firing multiple plasma guns in the same unit as a 1 for two different plasma guns is different to the same plasma gun rolling two ones.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: