| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/02 22:00:05
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
when you declare a charge
you have to be within 12" just to declare a charge
Are there any units in the game that can declare a charge from greater then 12" distance?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/02 22:19:18
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
You have to be within 12" to declare a charge. I am not aware of any units that can charge from further than 12" away, but there may be exceptions. I do know of several units that roll three dice for their charge, but they still can't declare about 12".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/02 22:51:18
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Gunrunner1775 wrote:when you declare a charge you have to be within 12" just to declare a charge Are there any units in the game that can declare a charge from greater then 12" distance?
There is currently ( iirc) no unit that can do so. Howling Banshees are suspected to be meant to be able to, but cannot because GW is incompetent. Units that have a bonus to their charge distance or roll an extra dice still are limited to declaring a 12" charge.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/03/02 22:52:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 06:35:20
Subject: Re:rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Howling banshees can charge 15". But RAW they cant, because their rule is badly worded. The intention however, is 100% obvious.
Acrobatic
This unit can Advance and charge in the same turn. In a turn in which it Advanced, you can declare a charge move for this unit if there are any enemy units within 15" of it, and you can add 3 to the resulting charge roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 07:10:51
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 15:31:00
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
This. No amount of internet posturing will change how the rule is understood and played by actual players.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 15:50:39
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 16:24:35
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
You are the exception that proves the rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 16:44:02
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
You are the exception that proves the rule.
That's a phrase that makes no sense at all. A rule can have exceptions, but exceptions don't prove anything except that the rule is, at least in some small way, flawed.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 16:49:00
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
This thread is destined for the bin now, as it will get dragged into the mire debating to one guy’s hot take. Regardless, real world consensus is that HB can declare and make a 15” Charge, regardless of what one random guy says on the internet. Automatically Appended Next Post: JNAProductions wrote: p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
You are the exception that proves the rule.
That's a phrase that makes no sense at all. A rule can have exceptions, but exceptions don't prove anything except that the rule is, at least in some small way, flawed.
It’s a common saying dating as far back as Ancient Rome; debating the merits of said phrase is not really a YMDC matter.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/03 16:50:27
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 18:46:11
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
JNAProductions wrote: p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
You are the exception that proves the rule.
That's a phrase that makes no sense at all. A rule can have exceptions, but exceptions don't prove anything except that the rule is, at least in some small way, flawed.
What i mean is that BCB is the one who disagrees, while everyone else agrees that HB can charge 15".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 22:19:22
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'm also failing to see the issue, a the problem is you can only declare a charge up to 12" regardless of the charge range you can actually reach (eversor has 18" possible but only 12" actual ) - could be the four games today, what's the problem? They have specific allowance to declare a charge at 15"?
An exception proves that h0 isn't correct so h1 can be.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/03 23:06:37
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:I'm also failing to see the issue, a the problem is you can only declare a charge up to 12" regardless of the charge range you can actually reach (eversor has 18" possible but only 12" actual ) - could be the four games today, what's the problem? They have specific allowance to declare a charge at 15"?
An exception proves that h0 isn't correct so h1 can be.
It's an oversight in order of operations, basically.
You can declare a charge with a unit that is within 12" of enemies, but you also must pick an enemy unit within 12" and declare them as the target of your charge.
The special rule overrides the first condition that must be met, but they forgot that the condition effectively has to be met twice and so didn't introduce a second exception.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/04 06:52:42
Subject: Re:rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
RAW, banshees dont get permission to choose the unit, which is 15" away, as a target for their charge. Therefore they are still limited to 12".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/04 08:45:07
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Elbows wrote:Yep, and you won't find a single (actual) player in the world who doesn't play it as 15" for declaring charges, etc.
I am an actual player and I play by the rules. Therefore your assertion is demonstrably false.
You are the exception that proves the rule.
And besides it's somewhat questionable to claim he plays by the rules when by definition that means he can't even finish games so he's by now long stuck in one game that's waiting for GW to change rules so that deadlock can proceed.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/04 12:04:32
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
JNAProductions wrote:
That's a phrase that makes no sense at all. A rule can have exceptions, but exceptions don't prove anything except that the rule is, at least in some small way, flawed.
It's because the word 'prove' in English used to mean 'to test' rather than 'to demonstrate to be correct'. The phrase 'The proof of the pudding is in the eating' is another example
As far as I am aware, there are no units other than Howling Banshees that get longer charges.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/04 14:09:42
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
Kill Team Harlequins can, with their 'Rising Crescendo" (?) rule. They roll 3D6, and can declare at 18".
I can't remember about in 40k though.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/04 14:10:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/05 03:03:03
Subject: Re:rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
p5freak wrote:Howling banshees can charge 15". But RAW they cant, because their rule is badly worded. The intention however, is 100% obvious.
Acrobatic
This unit can Advance and charge in the same turn. In a turn in which it Advanced, you can declare a charge move for this unit if there are any enemy units within 15" of it, and you can add 3 to the resulting charge roll.
How is this RAW deny you a 15" charge. It clearly states you can charge a unit 15" away. What am I missing.( I assume it has to do with a core rule mechanic on wording???)
Jain Zar ALSO has this same rule, so there are at least 2 units.
Then you can throw in stuff like the Court of the young King and an avatar and get the Howling Banshees charging 15" target with a +6 to the range.
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/05 03:07:02
Subject: Re:rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
admironheart wrote: p5freak wrote:Howling banshees can charge 15". But RAW they cant, because their rule is badly worded. The intention however, is 100% obvious.
Acrobatic
This unit can Advance and charge in the same turn. In a turn in which it Advanced, you can declare a charge move for this unit if there are any enemy units within 15" of it, and you can add 3 to the resulting charge roll.
How is this RAW deny you a 15" charge. It clearly states you can charge a unit 15" away. What am I missing.( I assume it has to do with a core rule mechanic on wording???)
Jain Zar ALSO has this same rule, so there are at least 2 units.
Then you can throw in stuff like the Court of the young King and an avatar and get the Howling Banshees charging 15" target with a +6 to the range. 
It doesn't give you permission to actually SELECT a unit further than 12" away as a target of a charge. Obvious intent. Screwed up wording.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/05 13:07:09
Subject: Re:rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
admironheart wrote: p5freak wrote:Howling banshees can charge 15". But RAW they cant, because their rule is badly worded. The intention however, is 100% obvious.
Acrobatic
This unit can Advance and charge in the same turn. In a turn in which it Advanced, you can declare a charge move for this unit if there are any enemy units within 15" of it, and you can add 3 to the resulting charge roll.
How is this RAW deny you a 15" charge. It clearly states you can charge a unit 15" away. What am I missing.( I assume it has to do with a core rule mechanic on wording???)
Jain Zar ALSO has this same rule, so there are at least 2 units.
Then you can throw in stuff like the Court of the young King and an avatar and get the Howling Banshees charging 15" target with a +6 to the range. 
It doesn't state anything of the sort. It states you can charge if there are units within 15" of you, it doesn't permit you to select a unit 15" away as the target of the charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/05 13:37:12
Subject: rules question - declare charge
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Just link to your previous discussion and be done with.
Honestly, it’s depressing how many threads round here get derailed because someone thinks they’ve done a grammar clever.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|