| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 00:30:50
Subject: Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
Question came up in a game the other day. A Cadian Tank Commander has the Pound Them To Dust order, which lets you re-roll the dice for an attack that gets a random number of shots. Grinding Advance lets you shoot a gun twice.
I believe the rules interact such that because I'm firing twice, they're two separate attacks, so I can re-roll either die, I don't have to re-roll both.
Opponent argued that because they were both shot at the same target (and I generally resolve them at the same time) I would have to re-roll both.
I still think I'm right, but didn't want to slow down a tournament to argue this. Can anyone provide help one way or the other?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 00:36:50
Subject: Re:Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
The rules for variable shots and for Grinding Advance are very clear.
Whenever you fire a weapon with variable attacks, you roll the indicated dice to determine the number of attacks (see rules for Modifying Characteristics).
Grinding Advance tells you to "shoot the weapon twice". Since you fire it twice, you have to roll the random number of shots twice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 00:44:22
Subject: Re:Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The above seems to be answering if you roll the variable shots die for each separate shooting of the turret (and it says you do). However, aren't you asking if the pound them to dust forces you to re roll both variable dice if you choose to re roll one?
You do not. Fire the weapon twice does not turn it into a single shooting attack. it remains two separate attacks (with the same weapon)
Too be clearer, your opponent is trying to take advantage of the fact that you are speed rolling them together. Next time, as the rules in the BRB say, fire the turret once, resolve all of its shooting, wounding saving and damage (using the reroll if you wish) then fire it a second time. Now they are separate attacks and your friends argument is moot. You may re roll the first time, and choose not to the second or any combination.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/11 00:45:23
Keeping the hobby side alive!
I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 00:44:41
Subject: Re:Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
alextroy wrote:The rules for variable shots and for Grinding Advance are very clear.
Whenever you fire a weapon with variable attacks, you roll the indicated dice to determine the number of attacks (see rules for Modifying Characteristics).
Grinding Advance tells you to "shoot the weapon twice". Since you fire it twice, you have to roll the random number of shots twice.
... I'm still not clear. I read it as I get to shoot again, not that I get 2D6 shots. Each shot could be resolved separately, like I could roll 1D6, re-roll the D6 if I want, resolve the shots, then fire again as per Grinding Advance, roll another D6, re-roll that if I want, and then resolve the second round of shooting. Why would this not be the case? Automatically Appended Next Post: edwardmyst wrote:The above seems to be answering if you roll the variable shots die for each separate shooting of the turret (and it says you do). However, aren't you asking if the pound them to dust forces you to re roll both variable dice if you choose to re roll one?
You do not. Fire the weapon twice does not turn it into a single shooting attack. it remains two separate attacks (with the same weapon)
Too be clearer, your friend is trying to take advantage of the fact that you are speed rolling them together. Next time, as the rules in the BRB say, fire the turret once, resolve all of its shooting, wounding saving and damage (using the reroll if you wish) then fire it a second time. Now they are separate attacks and your friends argument is moot. You may re roll the first time, and choose not to the second or any combination.
This is what I think as well.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/03/11 00:45:32
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 00:48:40
Subject: Re:Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You are correct. In fact, the BRB says you MUST roll shooting attacks one at a time until resolved. We all just speed roll because we are used to it, and it works when there isn't a debate. Go back to this system of rolling separately from the BRB on shooting if your opponent pulls this again. There isn't even a rule on grinding advance saying you must shoot the turret consecutively. You could shoot it once, then shoot say the lascannon on the front, then shoot the turret again (you do of course have to follow the same target criteria)
|
Keeping the hobby side alive!
I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/11 05:58:24
Subject: Re:Pound them to Dust (Cadian Order)... Re-roll both shots or only one?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Grinding advance are two separate attacks, therefore you can re-roll each die, if you want to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|