Switch Theme:

Chaos Summoning  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




Does this fall under the turn 3 rule? Recently I nearly tabled my opponent and by turn 3, he hadn't summoned any units. I told him that by turn 3 all reinforcements are destroyed, and he said they don't count as reinforcements. Is there a clear FAQ regarding summoning on turn 4?

Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Does this fall under the turn 3 rule? Recently I nearly tabled my opponent and by turn 3, he hadn't summoned any units. I told him that by turn 3 all reinforcements are destroyed, and he said they don't count as reinforcements. Is there a clear FAQ regarding summoning on turn 4?

Thanks.
They are "reinforcements" (because they are set up mid turn) but the rule for Tactical Reserves doesn't care about "reinforcements", it cares about units that are set up somewhere other than the battlefield.

Summoned Daemons are never set up somewhere other than the battlefield, so the Tactical Reserves rule doesn't apply to them.
   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Does this fall under the turn 3 rule? Recently I nearly tabled my opponent and by turn 3, he hadn't summoned any units. I told him that by turn 3 all reinforcements are destroyed, and he said they don't count as reinforcements. Is there a clear FAQ regarding summoning on turn 4?

Thanks.
They are "reinforcements" (because they are set up mid turn) but the rule for Tactical Reserves doesn't care about "reinforcements", it cares about units that are set up somewhere other than the battlefield.

Summoned Daemons are never set up somewhere other than the battlefield, so the Tactical Reserves rule doesn't apply to them.


So can Daemons be summoned on turn 1 then?

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
Does this fall under the turn 3 rule? Recently I nearly tabled my opponent and by turn 3, he hadn't summoned any units. I told him that by turn 3 all reinforcements are destroyed, and he said they don't count as reinforcements. Is there a clear FAQ regarding summoning on turn 4?

Thanks.
They are "reinforcements" (because they are set up mid turn) but the rule for Tactical Reserves doesn't care about "reinforcements", it cares about units that are set up somewhere other than the battlefield.

Summoned Daemons are never set up somewhere other than the battlefield, so the Tactical Reserves rule doesn't apply to them.


So can Daemons be summoned on turn 1 then?


Yep so long your chaos Charachter did not move atleast according to the CSM codex rule.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




What about not daemons, like summoned cultists? Lets just say Summoning. He can SUMMON on any turn, and totally disregard the tactical reserves rules?

I'm sorry to be dense about this but I've never seen a game where a player waited until turn 4 to summon. Seemed odd.
   
Made in ch
The Dread Evil Lord Varlak





 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
What about not daemons, like summoned cultists? Lets just say Summoning. He can SUMMON on any turn, and totally disregard the tactical reserves rules?

I'm sorry to be dense about this but I've never seen a game where a player waited until turn 4 to summon. Seemed odd.


Only Daemons and the daemonic ritual allows that to my knowledge.
Everything else not. to my knowledge.

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/766717.page
A Mostly Renegades and Heretics blog.
GW:"Space marines got too many options to balance, therefore we decided to legends HH units."
Players: "why?!? Now we finally got decent plastic kits and you cut them?"
Chaos marines players: "Since when are Daemonengines 30k models and why do i have NO droppods now?"
GW" MONEY.... erm i meant TOO MANY OPTIONS (to resell your army to you again by disalowing former units)! Do you want specific tyranid fighiting Primaris? Even a new sabotage lieutnant!"
Chaos players: Guess i stop playing or go to HH.  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
What about not daemons, like summoned cultists? Lets just say Summoning. He can SUMMON on any turn, and totally disregard the tactical reserves rules?

I'm sorry to be dense about this but I've never seen a game where a player waited until turn 4 to summon. Seemed odd.
You can't summon Cultists because they don't have the Daemonic Ritual special rule.
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

 FezzikDaBullgryn wrote:
What about not daemons, like summoned cultists? Lets just say Summoning. He can SUMMON on any turn, and totally disregard the tactical reserves rules?

I'm sorry to be dense about this but I've never seen a game where a player waited until turn 4 to summon. Seemed odd.


With summoning there was no unit in existence at turn 3 to be destroyed so the turn 3 caveat is irrelevant. There is no restrictions to summoning turn 4 and beyond.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: