Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/15 19:02:09
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
A roll of a 1 always misses, that's a general rule I believe.
So...
I roll a 1, but I have +1 to hit applied to it for whatever reason (Prescience or Tank Ace). And the model has a native BS 2+, so a modified 2 would hit. I'm thinking that that the general rule is overruled by +1 bonus specific rule?
Is that right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/15 19:07:16
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:A roll of a 1 always misses, that's a general rule I believe.
So...
I roll a 1, but I have +1 to hit applied to it for whatever reason (Prescience or Tank Ace). And the model has a native BS 2+, so a modified 2 would hit. I'm thinking that that the general rule is overruled by +1 bonus specific rule?
Is that right?
From numerous references in the main rules:
A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/15 19:07:24
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, it isn't. Look at the last sentence of the 1. Hit Roll part of the Resolve Attacks section.
"A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply"
A specific +1 bonus doesn't override a statement tthat tells you to ignore that modifier when you roll a 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/15 21:25:42
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Like the others said, while you might have a +1, a roll (as opposed to a result) of 1 always fails.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/16 23:40:38
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
It DOES, however, stop you from killing yourself with Plasma.
Since the result is a 2, you can never roll a 1 to kill yourself. However, if the die is showing a 1, it still misses.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/03/16 23:57:28
Subject: Does a Roll of 1 always miss?
|
 |
Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
JNAProductions wrote:It DOES, however, stop you from killing yourself with Plasma.
Since the result is a 2, you can never roll a 1 to kill yourself. However, if the die is showing a 1, it still misses.
To clarify, a natural roll of a 1 always fails. Some abilities, such as overcharged plasma, activate only on a *result* of 1, therefore they are affected by modifiers.
|
5250 pts
3850 pts
Deathwatch: 1500 pts
Imperial Knights: 375 pts
30K 2500 pts |
|
 |
 |
|