Switch Theme:

Generic rules questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi guys, i need to clarify something that happened in game and i'm not 100% sure how to resolve:
1-If a BA unit is stuck in combat, then in my turn i use "upon wings of fire" and place it anywhere else, can i charge with him? That's not a Fall back so i'd say yes.

2-Tanks cover: does a tank receive the cover if it's at least 50% obscured from the point of view of the shooter, or there are other conditions for it to be in cover? (Other than ruins, i know that the tank must also be in the ruin to be considered in cover)

3-Can i use "Forlon Fury" to move and advance before the first turn, and then move and charge during my first turn?
   
Made in gb
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker




UK

1) if it doesnt say you cant, then probably yes. But i would check the FAQ's as well to be sure. [they are on the warhammer community site]

2) No thats fine. OFC some terrain types wont give vehicles cover but im yet to find one that would actually obscure 50% or more of the tank anyways [craters for example]

3) Im not a BA player so im not sure. What does the Forlon Fury rule actually say?

======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DR:90S++GM-B+IPw40k16#+DA++/sWDR++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

1) Yes. You did not Fall Back, so you may shoot and charge.

2) The vehicle needs to be both 50% obscured and in terrain to get the bonus from Cover.

3) Actions taken before the First Turn have no impact on your actions during the First Turn. Actions taken at the beginning of the Movement Phase would.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you guys

 alextroy wrote:


2) The vehicle needs to be both 50% obscured and in terrain to get the bonus from Cover.


About this, where could i find the rules that state this?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Alessios96 wrote:
Thank you guys

 alextroy wrote:


2) The vehicle needs to be both 50% obscured and in terrain to get the bonus from Cover.


About this, where could i find the rules that state this?


Core rule book, the section on terrain, the passage on ruins.

There is no general rule for giving vehicles a cover save, but they can get one in ruins if they are also 50% obscured.

50% obscured in itself does nothing (outside of Cities of Death).
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






As for #1, the BRB FAQ explicitly covers this.
BRB FAQ wrote:Q: If a unit starts its Movement phase within 1" of an enemy, can it use a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power?
A: Yes.

Q: If a unit starts its Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit but elects to remain stationary, but subsequently uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, is it considered to have Fallen Back this turn?
A: No.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks guys!
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Another question came to my mind:

Is overwatch affected by negative modifiers?
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





In general, overwatch hits on a natural roll of a 6 and so is unaffected by modifiers.

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




 Bilge Rat wrote:
In general, overwatch hits on a natural roll of a 6 and so is unaffected by modifiers.


The example im bringing is "Defensive gunners", with that stratagem i hit with 5 and 6. Could it be modified?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Alessios96 wrote:
Another question came to my mind:

Is overwatch affected by negative modifiers?


This is a tiny bit complex.

The roll IS affected by modifiers. Whether the shot hits is based on whether you roll a 6 on the dice regardless of modifiers though.

That might seem odd, but it is often important. For instance if you shoot overcharged plasma on overwatch and you have a -1 to hit, you still hit on a natural roll of a 6 but you will die on a natural roll of a 1 or 2.

There are some abilities such as the Mordian regimental doctrine that as printed give a +1 to hit on overwatch. This was a mistake, because whether you hit on overwatch ignores modifiers. However such abilities were erratad to instead allow natural 5s to hit.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Overwatch is affected by modifiers, but those modifiers don't change the results you need to hit.

e.g. Defensive Gunners will hit on a 5 or 6, even if you have a -1 to hit. However, if you overcharge your Plasma weapons and roll a 2 and have a -1 to hit, it will trigger the overheat even though overwatch needs a fixed number to hit.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok guys, you were clear enough.
Could you please give me the page in the errata where to find those clarifications?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Alessios96 wrote:
Ok guys, you were clear enough.
Could you please give me the page in the errata where to find those clarifications?
There aren't any, it's just what the rules say.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Core rules, charge phase, overwatch. It says that all rules of the shooting phase apply, except you need a natural 6 to hit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




USA

on a similar vein..what about weapons (like flamers) that automatically hit?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Waaaaghmaster wrote:
on a similar vein..what about weapons (like flamers) that automatically hit?
They still automatically hit on Overwatch. However anything that triggers on a result To Hit can never trigger since you don't roll To Hit with automatically hitting weapons.

Also keep in mind that range still applies in Overwatch, which means if you're charged from 8.1" away, an 8" weapon cannot fire. Is it stupid? Yes, but those are the rules and it's one of the lesser points of stupidity that is the 8th edition rules.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




Here we go again with more questions:

1-If i have a unit with 5 lascannon, i just move 1 model, is the unit considered as if all have moved, for the purpose of shooting, or just the single model suffers - 1 to hit?

2-I charge two different units, A Captain in the front and a unit of 5 Tactical Marines few inches behind him. I barely make my charge so that i arrive lets say 0.7 from the captain. With my pile in movement, can i move up to 3inches so that i reach the Marines in the back, still moving closer to the captain (so im now less than 0.7 from him)? Or do i have to move least possible so that im closer to him with no extra movement?

   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






1. Only the models that actually moved count as having moved.

2. You can move the full 3 inch's, as long as you do not move any farther from the captain (granted, this means that unless you charged with a single model unit, the guys in the back are gonna have a hard time getting to anything behind the captain).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/03 08:39:21


JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

2. Actually, the rule is when you Pile-In and Consolidate you must end "closer to the nearest enemy model". This means you can start 0.99" away on one side of him and run past him as long as you end your move at least 0.98" away from him.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 alextroy wrote:
2. Actually, the rule is when you Pile-In and Consolidate you must end "closer to the nearest enemy model". This means you can start 0.99" away on one side of him and run past him as long as you end your move at least 0.98" away from him.
This is correct. You are under no obligation to move directly towards the closest enemy model, just that you end up closer. You can do any path you wish so long as you end up closer.
   
Made in it
Fresh-Faced New User




 BaconCatBug wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
2. Actually, the rule is when you Pile-In and Consolidate you must end "closer to the nearest enemy model". This means you can start 0.99" away on one side of him and run past him as long as you end your move at least 0.98" away from him.
This is correct. You are under no obligation to move directly towards the closest enemy model, just that you end up closer. You can do any path you wish so long as you end up closer.


Yes, that is what i was thinking. Thank you.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Waaaaghmaster wrote:
on a similar vein..what about weapons (like flamers) that automatically hit?
They still automatically hit on Overwatch. However anything that triggers on a result To Hit can never trigger since you don't roll To Hit with automatically hitting weapons.

Also keep in mind that range still applies in Overwatch, which means if you're charged from 8.1" away, an 8" weapon cannot fire. Is it stupid? Yes, but those are the rules and it's one of the lesser points of stupidity that is the 8th edition rules.


I came looking for the -1 to hit for plasma overwatch but the range in overwatch is something we always doubted, as it is a friendly match, we accept the flamer firing Overwatch, because the enemy unit is supposed to be "getting closer" as it charges.

But also think about being "in cover" for overwatch, Say my hormagaunts are behind a barricade before charging, do they get +1 for being in cover to save in overwatch?

Anyone knows what is the ruling in big events?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Wallur wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Waaaaghmaster wrote:
on a similar vein..what about weapons (like flamers) that automatically hit?
They still automatically hit on Overwatch. However anything that triggers on a result To Hit can never trigger since you don't roll To Hit with automatically hitting weapons.

Also keep in mind that range still applies in Overwatch, which means if you're charged from 8.1" away, an 8" weapon cannot fire. Is it stupid? Yes, but those are the rules and it's one of the lesser points of stupidity that is the 8th edition rules.


I came looking for the -1 to hit for plasma overwatch but the range in overwatch is something we always doubted, as it is a friendly match, we accept the flamer firing Overwatch, because the enemy unit is supposed to be "getting closer" as it charges.

But also think about being "in cover" for overwatch, Say my hormagaunts are behind a barricade before charging, do they get +1 for being in cover to save in overwatch?

Anyone knows what is the ruling in big events?


The rules are pretty simple here. Everything applies based on exactly where the models are at the moment overwatch is fired, which is before moving the models for the charge. So if the Hormagaunts start their charge in cover then they get the cover save.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: