Switch Theme:

Eldar Shenaningans: Nimble Soulbursting Warriors of the Raging Wind  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




I'm going to do this as a list of bullet points as I think it's clearer

1) An Ynarri Saim Hann Warlock Conclave moves and advances, then uses Warriors of the Raging Winds to allow it to charge.
2) It declares a charge against 2 enemy units, 18" apart from each other, but both within 12" of the Conclave
3) It successfully charges one of these units and wipes it out
4) This triggers Soulburst, but the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action
5) The unit finishes fighting and uses the Nimble Escape stratagem to move and advance 22" and be within 2" of the other enemy unit
6) It uses Soulburst to Fight Again and can pile in and attack the new unit

Is this legal?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/04/11 16:32:22


 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Yes per order of events
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Drager wrote:
I'm going to do this as a list of bullet points as I think it's clearer

1) An Ynarri Saim Hann Warlock Conclave moves and advances, then uses Warriors of the Raging Winds to allow it to charge.
2) It declares a charge against 2 enemy units, 18" apart from each other, but both within 12" of the Conclave
3) It successfully charges one of these units and wipes it out
4) This triggers Soulburst, but the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action
5) The unit finishes fighting and uses the Nimble Escape stratagem to move and advance 22" and be within 2" of the other enemy unit
6) It uses Soulburst to Fight Again and can pile in and attack the new unit

Is this legal?
As long as they from a Windrider Host formation specialist detachment and by "new unit" you mean the second of the two units they declared a charge, yes, this is legal. Because you declared a charge against both units (and took overwatch from them), they may direct their attacks towards them even if they didn't initially make the charge against them by, as in your example, piling into them while fighting again. It's just a bit more extreme due to the distances involved because Eldar are bloody obnoxious in that regard. Because you made it to the first unit, the charge was successful.

It's the same as a Khorne Berserker unit charging units A and B that are 3" apart, only getting enough distance to make it to A, then using their pile in and consolidates to get within 1" of unit B.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/04/11 17:21:31


 
   
Made in bg
Dakka Veteran




Drager wrote:
I'm going to do this as a list of bullet points as I think it's clearer

1) An Ynarri Saim Hann Warlock Conclave moves and advances, then uses Warriors of the Raging Winds to allow it to charge.
2) It declares a charge against 2 enemy units, 18" apart from each other, but both within 12" of the Conclave
3) It successfully charges one of these units and wipes it out
4) This triggers Soulburst, but the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action
5) The unit finishes fighting and uses the Nimble Escape stratagem to move and advance 22" and be within 2" of the other enemy unit
6) It uses Soulburst to Fight Again and can pile in and attack the new unit

Is this legal?


Ynnari can`t use special detachments.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Marin wrote:
Drager wrote:
I'm going to do this as a list of bullet points as I think it's clearer

1) An Ynarri Saim Hann Warlock Conclave moves and advances, then uses Warriors of the Raging Winds to allow it to charge.
2) It declares a charge against 2 enemy units, 18" apart from each other, but both within 12" of the Conclave
3) It successfully charges one of these units and wipes it out
4) This triggers Soulburst, but the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action
5) The unit finishes fighting and uses the Nimble Escape stratagem to move and advance 22" and be within 2" of the other enemy unit
6) It uses Soulburst to Fight Again and can pile in and attack the new unit

Is this legal?


Ynnari can`t use special detachments.
Yes, they can.
Index: Xenos 1 Errata wrote:If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urion Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <HAEMONCULUS COVEN> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all AELDARI units in that Detachment gain the YNNARI keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, YNNARI INFANTRY and BIKER units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).
Imperium Nihilus - Vigilus Defiant, Page 188, Windrider Host stratagem wrote:Use this Stratagem when choosing your army. Pick a Craftworld Detachment from your army to be a Windrider Host Specialist Detachment.
Yellow for Emphasis.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The OP should note that the Ynnari are receiving an Index Xenos article in next month's White Dwarf, so this may change with the new rules.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Marin wrote:
Drager wrote:
I'm going to do this as a list of bullet points as I think it's clearer

1) An Ynarri Saim Hann Warlock Conclave moves and advances, then uses Warriors of the Raging Winds to allow it to charge.
2) It declares a charge against 2 enemy units, 18" apart from each other, but both within 12" of the Conclave
3) It successfully charges one of these units and wipes it out
4) This triggers Soulburst, but the Soulburst action is resolved after the unit has completely resolved its current action
5) The unit finishes fighting and uses the Nimble Escape stratagem to move and advance 22" and be within 2" of the other enemy unit
6) It uses Soulburst to Fight Again and can pile in and attack the new unit

Is this legal?


Ynnari can`t use special detachments.
Yes, they can.
Index: Xenos 1 Errata wrote:If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urion Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <HAEMONCULUS COVEN> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all AELDARI units in that Detachment gain the YNNARI keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, YNNARI INFANTRY and BIKER units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).
Imperium Nihilus - Vigilus Defiant, Page 188, Windrider Host stratagem wrote:Use this Stratagem when choosing your army. Pick a Craftworld Detachment from your army to be a Windrider Host Specialist Detachment.
Yellow for Emphasis.
No they can't, Marin is right. I had a feeling I was missing an interaction in this combo as I remembered discarding it in the past for some reason.

Vigulus Defiant Designers Commentary, Page 1 wrote:Page 188 – Windrider Host, Specialist Detachment,
Windrider Host
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Pick a Craftworlds Detachment from your army (other
than a Detachment that includes any Ynnari units) to
be a Windrider Host Specialist Detachment.’
Page 189 – Wraith Host, Specialist Detachment,
Wraith Host
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Pick a Craftworlds Detachment from your army (other
than a Detachment that includes any Ynnari units) to
be a Wraith Host Specialist Detachment.’



Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Ghaz wrote:
The OP should note that the Ynnari are receiving an Index Xenos article in next month's White Dwarf, so this may change with the new rules.
I'm aware of that, not planning any purchases just tooling around with interactions whilst I wait for the new Index, I have all the Eldar one could shake a stick at. Thanks for pointing this out anyway, very considerate!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/04/12 07:57:20


 
   
Made in bg
Dakka Veteran




Sadly there is hardly anything good for eldar in the special detachments. The only really good synergy was with the use of Ynnari and GW panic and made snap errata to make it useless.


   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Of course it was changed via an errata, why did I bother thinking that GW books were ever accurate? My mistake and I apologize for the confusion.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 BaconCatBug wrote:
Of course it was changed via an errata, why did I bother thinking that GW books were ever accurate? My mistake and I apologize for the confusion.


Battlescribe is significantly more reliable than any codex at this point!
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Very related question so didn't want to start a new thread. Can you Nimble Escape away from something that Explodes when you kill it, without getting caught in the explosion?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Drager wrote:
Very related question so didn't want to start a new thread. Can you Nimble Escape away from something that Explodes when you kill it, without getting caught in the explosion?


Explosion happens at the same time the model is removed, which is before consolidating and therefore before you have finished fighting. So no.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I don't believe this is a legal move. The soulburst action must be taken immediately after they have finished fighting.

So it's already qued up. Nimble Escape can be used on a unit from your army that has fought IE already finished fighting.

So soul burst would happen before you use nimble escape. Since it must take place immediately it happens before you can do anything else after fighting.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: