Switch Theme:

Armour save modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Can a weapon’s AP mean you can’t make a saving throw?

I saw a comment on another thread that seemed to suggest this, but didn’t want to query it there and bring the thread off topic so that I’d ask here.

The post I read seemed to suggest that if a model with a 5+ armour save was wounded by a weapon with AP-2 they couldn’t benefit from cover (a +1 modifier to their saving throw) since you can’t modify a roll you don’t make.

My understanding was that in this circumstance the wounded model could make a saving through and pass on a 6, essentially the AP -2 gives the model a saving throw of 7+ which you could making a saving throw for and modify the saving throw by +1, so a 6 is a save. Or more accurately, the -2 from AP and the +1 from cover are applied concurrently to the saving throw, modifying the roll by -1.

Given that some models have a saving throw on their stat line of 7+ it seems unlikely that the cover modifier can’t be applied, but I thought I’d ask here in case I’ve misunderstood.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

You can, and actually must, always make a saving throw. Unless a special rule says otherwise. Of course, no one (except one guy) bothers to make a saving throw of 7+, or even worse. Save the time and move on.

4. Saving Throw: The player
commanding the target unit
then makes a saving throw by
rolling a dice and modifying the
roll by the Armour Penetration
characteristic of the weapon
that caused the damage.


Terrain and Cover
The battlefields of the far future are littered
with terrain features such as ruins, craters
and twisted copses. Models can take shelter
within such terrain features to gain protection
against incoming weapons’ fire.

If a unit is entirely on or within any terrain
feature, add 1 to its models’ saving throws
against shooting attacks to represent the
cover received from the terrain (invulnerable
saves are unaffected). Units gain no benefit
from cover in the Fight phase.


You make that saving throw, and apply modifiers to it, like from cover, and AP from the weapon. In your example the model would pass the saving throw on 6+.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/01 11:12:17


 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





Aash wrote:
Can a weapon’s AP mean you can’t make a saving throw?

I saw a comment on another thread that seemed to suggest this, but didn’t want to query it there and bring the thread off topic so that I’d ask here.

The post I read seemed to suggest that if a model with a 5+ armour save was wounded by a weapon with AP-2 they couldn’t benefit from cover (a +1 modifier to their saving throw) since you can’t modify a roll you don’t make.

My understanding was that in this circumstance the wounded model could make a saving through and pass on a 6, essentially the AP -2 gives the model a saving throw of 7+ which you could making a saving throw for and modify the saving throw by +1, so a 6 is a save. Or more accurately, the -2 from AP and the +1 from cover are applied concurrently to the saving throw, modifying the roll by -1.

Given that some models have a saving throw on their stat line of 7+ it seems unlikely that the cover modifier can’t be applied, but I thought I’d ask here in case I’ve misunderstood.
The initial statement shows a complete failure of understanding how saving throws work in 8th.
This is not pre-8th edition where my AP denied you a saving throw. AP is a modifier to your roll, hence why its a minus value. AP -2 means you substract 2 from what you rolled.
So a space marine needs a 3 or more. Rolls a 6 but the weapon has AP -2 so the 6 - 2 = 4 which is 3 or more and therefor saved.

Since Cover is also a modifier it becomes 6 - 2 + 1 = 5

   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores





All the modifiers are applies at once and the save always remains the same.

So, for your example, with a 5+ save, AP-2 and cover you will always need to roll 5+. The die roll will however be modified with the -2 for the AP and the +1 for cover, so a resulting -1. This means that you need to roll a 6 to get your 5+.


DR:70S+G++MB+IPw40k87/f+D++A+WD087R+T(R)DM+

https://plaguegardening.wordpress.com 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




I'm guessing this was my comment on a proposed rule change.
The GW rules allow you yo make a save hence why demons have a 7+ Save.

The problem was the person was proposing a house rule that stated that "saves of 5+ can not be taken against astartes bolters"

Thats totally different and at odds with GW exsisting rules.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Ice_can wrote:
I'm guessing this was my comment on a proposed rule change.
The GW rules allow you yo make a save hence why demons have a 7+ Save.

The problem was the person was proposing a house rule that stated that "saves of 5+ can not be taken against astartes bolters"

Thats totally different and at odds with GW exsisting rules.


You could make that work with a tweak to the wording. "Models with a save of 5+ or 6+ instead have a save of 7+" or something like that. But I feel it's a bit clunky still for such a common weapon.

Anyway, to the proposed rules forum!
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ice_can wrote:
I'm guessing this was my comment on a proposed rule change.
The GW rules allow you yo make a save hence why demons have a 7+ Save.

The problem was the person was proposing a house rule that stated that "saves of 5+ can not be taken against astartes bolters"

Thats totally different and at odds with GW exsisting rules.


Yeah, I think that your comment was the one I was referring to, didn’t want to bring it up in the other forum and go off topic.
I misunderstood, thanks for clarifying.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Daemons have a 6+ for the most part, not a 7+.

Poxwalkers have a 7+, as do some DE units, I think.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Also an important thing to remember is that unlike previous editions you are not forced to take the best save. Are your Bloodletters being shot at and you need them to die for some reason? You're free to use the 6+ Save (and be affected by AP) instead of the 5+ invulnerable save if you so wish.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/01 18:30:22


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 JNAProductions wrote:
Daemons have a 6+ for the most part, not a 7+.

Poxwalkers have a 7+, as do some DE units, I think.

My bad my buddy has been blessed by nurgle and it's my usual point of reference.
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

Ice_can wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
Daemons have a 6+ for the most part, not a 7+.

Poxwalkers have a 7+, as do some DE units, I think.

My bad my buddy has been blessed by nurgle and it's my usual point of reference.
No worries-just making sure information is accurate.

It's irrelevant to the main gist of the thread, at least.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: