Switch Theme:

April 2019 Errata and Fight Again Stratagems  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





I am confused by the new errata

Q: When using an ability or Stratagem to fight again in the
Fight phase, or fight ‘as if it were the Fight phase’, are you able to
ignore the rules for who is eligible to fight in the Fight phase? For
example, a unit is not within 1" of any enemy models and did
not charge that turn when I use the Stratagem – can it be selected
to fight again in order to pile into an enemy unit that was more
than 1" away and fight?
A: No. (BRB FAQ)


So what is here is legal

1. space marine charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 2" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with Honor the Chapter Stratagem .
2. Space marine are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 2" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks,then consolidate with Honor the Chapter Stratagem .
3. Harlequins charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 5" away,
is it legal to pile in, pile in again, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem .
4. Harlequins are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 5" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem.
5. Harlequins charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 3" away,
is it legal to pile in to be within 1", pile in again, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem .
6. Harlequins are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 3" away,
is it legal to pile in to be within 1", choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem.

For reference and the fact that all of these are worded different.

Space Marine

Honor the Chapter (3cp)
Use this stratagem at the end of the Fight phase. Select an Adeptus Astartes Infantry or Adeptus Astartes Biker unit - that unit can immediately fight for a second time.


Harlequin

War Dancers 3cp
Use this stratagem at the end of the fight phase. select a Harlequins unit from your army that has already fought this phase. That unit can immediately pile in and fight an additional time


Chaos

Fury of Khorne 3cp
Use this stratagem at the end of the Fight phase. Select an Heretic Astartes Khorne Infantry or Biker unit - that unit can immediately fight again.


Is only the Chaos one effected by the FAQ because its the only one that "fights again."
How about the Harlies ? can they use there immediate pile in to get within 1" then start the fight sequence and pile in again... if not whats the point in piling in 2 times if you have to be within 1" to use this stratagem anywaays ?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 03:19:38


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Type40 wrote:
I am confused by the new errata

Q: When using an ability or Stratagem to fight again in the
Fight phase, or fight ‘as if it were the Fight phase’, are you able to
ignore the rules for who is eligible to fight in the Fight phase? For
example, a unit is not within 1" of any enemy models and did
not charge that turn when I use the Stratagem – can it be selected
to fight again in order to pile into an enemy unit that was more
than 1" away and fight?
A: No. (BRB FAQ)


So what is here is legal

1. space marine charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 2" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with Honor the Chapter Stratagem .


Totally fine, they are a unit that charged.

Type40 wrote:
2. Space marine are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 2" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks,then consolidate with Honor the Chapter Stratagem .


Can't do this as you aren't eligible to be selected to fight.

Type40 wrote:
3. Harlequins charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 5" away,
is it legal to pile in, pile in again, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem .


Looks like a yes? Very weird, but yeah.... looks right.

Type40 wrote:
4. Harlequins are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 5" away,
is it legal to pile in, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem.


No. You can pile in once, but not fight as you are still outside 1", so can't be chosen to fight.

Type40 wrote:
5. Harlequins charge A and B, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 3" away,
is it legal to pile in to be within 1", pile in again, choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem .


Yes, they are eligible to fight and get a double pile in.

Type40 wrote:
6. Harlequins are in a CC with A, destroy all of A then consolidate towards B but are 3" away,
is it legal to pile in to be within 1", choose targets ... resolve combat attacks then consolidate with War Dancers Stratagem.


Looks like a yes due to the free pile in before fighting.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut







I tend to lean towards this interpretation... but how do we know for sure ?

Normally, we read the text of an ability or Stratagem and know what restrictions exist by the specifications of what it says, how ever this FAQ makes that logic seem wrong.
Before this FAQ, at least with the harlequins,
the stratagem said,
pick a unit that has fought before this phase, check
immediately pile in, check
go through fight sequence, check

fight sequence =

A fight is resolved in the following steps:

2. Pile In
...
3. Choose Targets
...
4. Choose Melee weapon
...
5. Resolve Close Combat Attacks
..
6. Consolidate


yes its weird that the steps start at 2. but I thought it was quite clear.
Now here's where things are geting confusing.
Even though the stratagem doesn't explicitly say the restrictions of charged or are within 1" it apparently takes precedence.
So if a unit can't be chosen to fight (i.e. steps 2 - 6) why would they be allowed to be chosen to pile in. Same amount of preceding restrictions with this logic. You arn't eligible to pile in, you arn't within 1" of something or even withing a "fight sequence." with a precedence for rules logic like this, Imagine how many rules this could effect. Just because an ability has new restrictions it does not ignore the old ones. So anything that doesn't explicitly say "do this instead" should now do both,,, causing many a paradoxical logics.

Not to mention this FAQ says

Q: When using an ability or Stratagem to fight again in the
Fight phase, or fight ‘as if it were the Fight phase’, are you able to
ignore the rules for who is eligible to fight in the Fight phase?
For
example, a unit is not within 1" of any enemy models and did
not charge that turn when I use the Stratagem – can it be selected
to fight again in order to pile into an enemy unit that was more
than 1" away and fight?
A: No. (BRB FAQ)


well a unit that has already fought is not eligible. but it does say "fight an additional time." so what circular logic do we use now ?

What this now comes down too is ,,, what abilities supersede restrictions now and what do not. How are we supposed to know with a one word answer and no modification to any text.
not to mention why do they write "For example, a unit is not within 1" ..." does this mean there are other examples we are missing that also make a unit ineligible to fight in the fight phase ?
a one word answer to a question like this doesn't explain anything, is it all of the fight phase or any of the fight phase steps that can't be done ? what eligibility restrictions does it not ignore ? all of them or just the ones in this "example"? What about other abilities that explicit have restriction and do not say ignore normal rules (almost any ability)?
I dunno, I think i understand what was RAI by this FAQ but I wish GW would stick to one set of rules logic and adjust their text to fit it instead of one word answers to multi-fold questions.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
An FAQ should not be used to add to add restrictions to where they forgot to explicitly include them. That is what well worded errata should be for. Honestly, with GWs budget, this shouldn't be that hard, smaller companies like WarmaHordes seem to be able to handle this, and MTG (they have only had a major rules overhaul once in its existence and they have thousands of unique mechanics).
If something doesn't work the way you want it to , you errata it. Done, end of story, people read the new errata and go "ah, this is how we do this."

With this particular question and answering it in this way, we are going to have tons of people going "well, the FAQ said this rule talks about how only eligible units can be chosen to do something unless specifically specified"
So the debates about what is and isn't eligible are now going to be coming up all over the place because of this precedence.
Can I use X ability to move ? is it eligible to move in this phase... ?
Can I use X ability to shoot ? Is it eligible to shoot in this phase ... ?
Can I use X ability to _____ ? is it eligible ?

There is already an active thread where someone is arguing about a units eligibility when using OIDDDE .
I am just really annoyed that they can't be a little bit more descriptive so we don't have to go, oh crap, what does x mean if b is true.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 10:19:52


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: