Switch Theme:

Cadians ALWAYS get to re-roll 1s during Overwatch...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Louisiana

Cadian Regiment Doctrine states Cadians get to Re-roll hit rolls of 1 if they did not move in the previous Movement phase. If you are preforming Overwatch that means the previous Movement phase was your opponents Movement phase.

The FAQ states :
Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’ phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect ‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
A: Yes.

The brand new FAQ also states:
Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move, shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power) outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
A: With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then
it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it werethe Shooting phase’). For the purposes of this FAQ, Overwatch attacks are also considered to be attacks made as if it were your Shooting phase.

So does this mean that if you have Cadians that did move in your opponents Movement phase and then get charged that turn, that they do get to re-roll 1s during overwatch since they did not move in the previous (opponents) Movement phase??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 15:48:54


William 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yes, this means that barring some weird shenanigans, your Cadians always re-roll 1's in overwatch.

GW knocking it out of the part with intuitive and sense-making rules writing, I must admit. Good thing there isn't any other silliness like Flamers automatically hitting Aircraft a mile in the sky going Mach 20, somehow...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 15:47:55


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






RAW, it would also indicate that any movement that has occurred outside of movement phase would not hinder the CT from triggering.
   
Made in de
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch



Netherlands

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, this means that barring some weird shenanigans, your Cadians always re-roll 1's in overwatch.

GW knocking it out of the part with intuitive and sense-making rules writing, I must admit. Good thing there isn't any other silliness like Flamers automatically hitting Aircraft a mile in the sky going Mach 20, somehow...


I will concede that when you explain to me how your mile in the sky mach 20 airplanes are stopping my monster from moving on the ground with its legs.

14000
15000
4000 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, this means that barring some weird shenanigans, your Cadians always re-roll 1's in overwatch.

GW knocking it out of the part with intuitive and sense-making rules writing, I must admit. Good thing there isn't any other silliness like Flamers automatically hitting Aircraft a mile in the sky going Mach 20, somehow...


I will concede that when you explain to me how your mile in the sky mach 20 airplanes are stopping my monster from moving on the ground with its legs.
That's been fixed.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





topaxygouroun i wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yes, this means that barring some weird shenanigans, your Cadians always re-roll 1's in overwatch.

GW knocking it out of the part with intuitive and sense-making rules writing, I must admit. Good thing there isn't any other silliness like Flamers automatically hitting Aircraft a mile in the sky going Mach 20, somehow...


I will concede that when you explain to me how your mile in the sky mach 20 airplanes are stopping my monster from moving on the ground with its legs.


Carpet bombing.

As skchsan points out, this is taken care of in the new FAQ by creating the new AIRCRAFT category with some restrictions on what they can block.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/02 17:35:35


 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Fredericksburg, VA

What the Cadian doctrine eprobably should say is: Re-roll hit rolls of 1 in the Shooting phase for units with this doctrine if they did not move in their preceding movement phase.

But it doesn't say that, so you get this result.
   
Made in us
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper




Louisiana

 skchsan wrote:
RAW, it would also indicate that any movement that has occurred outside of movement phase would not hinder the CT from triggering.


CT = Cadain trait?

If so I agree.

William 
   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

 Rockguy475 wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
RAW, it would also indicate that any movement that has occurred outside of movement phase would not hinder the CT from triggering.


CT = Cadain trait?

If so I agree.
Could also mean Chapter Tactic, as a universal for Regimental Traits, Household Traits, Forge World Traits...

But yeah, in this instance, regardless of exact nomenclature, it means Cadian ability.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: