Switch Theme:

New player confused - battle forged army and legion traits!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





Ontario

Hey dakka,

I've read the rule book page 240 on battle forged armys but I'm still a tad confused.

Just say I had 2 detatchments.

Detatchment 1 is black legion, this detatchment has the warlord.

Detatchment 2 is red coarsairs.

Is this considered a battle forged army, will I get the 3cp?

Will detatchment 1 receive the legion trait for black legion and detatchment 2 receive the legion trait benefits from the red coarsairs?

Or do all detatchments in an army need to share the same legion keyword to be battle forged and receive the legion trait benefits?

I cant seem to find a clear answer!

Thanks,

   
Made in us
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine




Yes

Yes

No, they must share a keyword but it doesn't have to be a legion. It can be chaos.
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Funny, I had some similar questions.

I'm building my GSC army, with "brood brothers".

If I have a GSC Patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment , do I HAVE to give the AS detachment "brood brothers" or could I make the AS detachment Catachans if I desired and it would still be considered Battleforged? If the latter is allowed, could I use Adeptus Mechanicus (my custom GSC are Bladed Cog, and I think it'd be fun for them to have corrupted an Admech force).

Similar with a Tau patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment (to represent Gue'Vesa). Is that legal for a Battleforged army?

It never ends well 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 Stormonu wrote:
Funny, I had some similar questions.

I'm building my GSC army, with "brood brothers".

If I have a GSC Patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment , do I HAVE to give the AS detachment "brood brothers" or could I make the AS detachment Catachans if I desired and it would still be considered Battleforged? If the latter is allowed, could I use Adeptus Mechanicus (my custom GSC are Bladed Cog, and I think it'd be fun for them to have corrupted an Admech force).

Similar with a Tau patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment (to represent Gue'Vesa). Is that legal for a Battleforged army?

Your whole army still has to share a faction keyword. Tau units do not have any faction keywords in common with Imperial factions so they can never be in the same army. Genestealer cult units do not have any keywords in common with regular Astra Militarum units, although they can bypass this by taking them as Brood Brothers (who do not get the special AM regimental doctrines, strategems and so on).

8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Battleforged means all your units in your army must be in detachments, as described on p.240 of the BRB (There are some exceptions, like stratagems which add a unit outside of detachments, but you remain battleforged). All the detachments must share a keyword, like CHAOS or HERETIC ASTARTES. In order to get legion traits, all units in one detachment must share a keyword, like RED CORSAIRS.

This is an example of an battleforged army. One battalion of RED CORSAIRS and one battalion of BLACK LEGION. Both detachments have the CHAOS or HERETIC ASTARTES keyword, you can choose whatever you like.

Spoiler:

++ Battalion Detachment +5CP (Chaos - Chaos Space Marines) [22 PL, 8CP, 369pts] ++

+ No Force Org Slot +

Detachment CP [5CP]

Legion [3CP]: Red Corsairs

+ HQ +

Chaos Lord [5 PL, 74pts]: Bolt pistol, Chainsword, No Chaos Mark

Dark Apostle [5 PL, 100pts]: No Chaos Mark

+ Troops +

Chaos Space Marines [4 PL, 65pts]: 4x Marine w/ Boltgun, No Chaos Mark
. Aspiring Champion: Bolt pistol, Boltgun

Chaos Space Marines [4 PL, 65pts]: 4x Marine w/ Boltgun, No Chaos Mark
. Aspiring Champion: Bolt pistol, Boltgun

Chaos Space Marines [4 PL, 65pts]: 4x Marine w/ Boltgun, No Chaos Mark
. Aspiring Champion: Bolt pistol, Boltgun

++ Battalion Detachment +5CP (Chaos - Chaos Space Marines) [20 PL, 8CP, 322pts] ++

+ No Force Org Slot +

Battle-forged CP [3CP]

Detachment CP [5CP]

Legion: Black Legion

+ HQ +

Chaos Lord [5 PL, 74pts]: Bolt pistol, Chainsword, No Chaos Mark

Sorcerer [6 PL, 98pts]: Bolt pistol, Force sword, No Chaos Mark

+ Troops +

Chaos Cultists [3 PL, 50pts]: 9x Chaos Cultist w/ Autogun, No Chaos Mark
. Cultist Champion: Autogun

Chaos Cultists [3 PL, 50pts]: 9x Chaos Cultist w/ Autogun, No Chaos Mark
. Cultist Champion: Autogun

Chaos Cultists [3 PL, 50pts]: 9x Chaos Cultist w/ Autogun, No Chaos Mark
. Cultist Champion: Autogun

++ Total: [42 PL, 16CP, 691pts] ++

Created with BattleScribe
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Stormonu wrote:
Funny, I had some similar questions.

I'm building my GSC army, with "brood brothers".

If I have a GSC Patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment , do I HAVE to give the AS detachment "brood brothers" or could I make the AS detachment Catachans if I desired and it would still be considered Battleforged? If the latter is allowed, could I use Adeptus Mechanicus (my custom GSC are Bladed Cog, and I think it'd be fun for them to have corrupted an Admech force).

Similar with a Tau patrol detachment and an AS Patrol detachment (to represent Gue'Vesa). Is that legal for a Battleforged army?
As per the rules in the GSC codex they must have Brood Brothers and cannot be Catachan.
This is the only way to have an Astra Militarum detachment with GSC.
No you cannot have Adeptus Mechanicus with GSC because they do not share a keyword and there is no exception rule like there is for Astra Militarum.

At best you could use Mechanicus models and play them as Astra Militarum, tho some opponents may not be ok with this and for tournaments it will depend on the organiser.

Tau cannot ally with anyone else because Tau don't share a keyword with anyone else.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Let's get this correct for everyone:

1. An army is Battleforged if all units in the army list are organized into legal detachments. Note that most detachments require all units in the detachment to possess a faction keyword in common.
2. In Matched Play, there are two more restrictions:
A. All units in your army must have a Faction Keyword in common or be Unaligned
B. The units within a detachment cannot use the faction keywords of Chaos, Imperium, Aelderi, Ynnari, or Tyranids unless that detachment is a Fortification Network

So to be clear, if you are not playing Matched Play, it is completely legal to have Tau detachment and a Astra Militarum detachment in your Battle Forged army.

Any questions?
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 alextroy wrote:
So to be clear, if you are not playing Matched Play, it is completely legal to have Tau detachment and a Astra Militarum detachment in your Battle Forged army.

'Battle-forged Armies' is an Advanced Rule and may apply to Narrative games if your using a mission that calls for it .

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Ah, thanks for clearing that up; I didn't see the "share at least one keyword" under the basic roster rules so I was wondering if it was something from an errata/designer notes that I'd missed.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
This question is more specific to Battlescribe:

When putting together a GSC/Blood Brothers list, I chose a Patrol Detachment for each. However, when I try to select 3 troop options for each detachment, it's telling me I have too many troop selections. Am I doing something wrong selecting 3 cult troop units and 3 brood troop units (total 6), when I should be only selecting 3 troop units in troops only, or is Battlescribe being cantankerous and I should report it as a bug?

(Previously, I used to do monofaction builds only - as you can clearly see, this is the first time I've really tried to run allies/soup)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/04 03:13:50


It never ends well 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stormonu wrote:
This question is more specific to Battlescribe:

When putting together a GSC/Blood Brothers list, I chose a Patrol Detachment for each. However, when I try to select 3 troop options for each detachment, it's telling me I have too many troop selections. Am I doing something wrong selecting 3 cult troop units and 3 brood troop units (total 6), when I should be only selecting 3 troop units in troops only, or is Battlescribe being cantankerous and I should report it as a bug?

(Previously, I used to do monofaction builds only - as you can clearly see, this is the first time I've really tried to run allies/soup)
Are you sure you're putting the selections in different detachments? It sounds like you're accidentally putting all 6 into the same detachment (Patrols are maxed at 3 Troops). If you can could you save the roster that is giving you the error and link it so we can see what the problem specifically is? Remember that each detachment has its own list of units in the left pane, you need to scroll down to get to the other detachments unit entries.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/04 03:22:50


 
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut





And make sure the they are separate detachments. If you have an existing detachment selected when you add a new one it will be the same detachment but with multiple armies in it.
You can check this by trying to change the type (Patrol in this case). if the list has nothing else in it your doing it wrong.
(assuming your using the desktop client)
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Hmmm...they look like they are in different detatchments to me.

Including the roster here; let's see what I've done wrong.
 Filename Genestealers - 1250.rosz [Disk] Download
 Description Genestealer 1250 roster
 File size 34 Kbytes


It never ends well 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

All units are in one detachment. When adding a new detachment make sure you click on new roster first, otherwise it will be added to the selected detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/05/05 06:37:27


 
   
Made in gb
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





UK

 p5freak wrote:
When adding a new detachment make sure you click on new roster first, otherwise it will be added to the selected detachment.

You can add multiple detachments to the same roster by clicking 'Edit Forces'.

[1,600] Chaos Knights | [1,000] Grey Knights | [1,100] Thousand Sons | 40K editions: RT, 8, 9, 10 | https://www.flickr.com/photos/dreadblade/  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Stormonu wrote:
Hmmm...they look like they are in different detatchments to me.

Including the roster here; let's see what I've done wrong.
You've added the Astra Copywritum as a sub-faction, rather than it's own detachment. You need to click the main heading before adding the second detachment (like this https://imgur.com/a/JMZlhFN it should end up looking like this https://imgur.com/a/Dvaur1n). What you did was click the detachment itself and then click add (Like this https://imgur.com/a/4bdji32). What you did is for when you want to, for example, add a SM Forge World Tank to a detachment. The way Brood Brothers works is that it's an entirely separate Astra Copywritum detachment.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/05 15:52:44


 
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Thanks guys, BattleScribe sometimes isn’t very intuitive - but I get better results than if I did things by hand.

Also, I realized that with what I putting into my GSC force I could just pick a Brigade and put it under one detachment. Wouldn’t need a IG commander, and get more CP’s to boot.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ugh, I just noticed in the GSC Codex that the rules for Power Picks for Atalan Jackals references rending claws, and it’s not fixed in the FAQ - surely GW is aware of this error?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/05/07 21:12:38


It never ends well 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: