Switch Theme:

Tyranids and Genestealer Cults Soup  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So I keep hearing that not every GSC Model can be used with Tyranids and if that is true, which models can I and cannot use with my Tyranids? I'd really appreciate knowing the answer as I am in a strong need to use GSC with my Tyranids as I lack Long-Ranged Models right now.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





I don't know where this has come from...

Your Tyranids and Genestealer Cults units must be in separate detachments, but other than that there is nothing limiting which units can be in the same army.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Alright, thank you. I was quite worried that what I kept hearing was true but it's good to hear those rumors were wrong.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Ok so, all tyranids and gsc have the TYRANID keyword so they can be in the same army ( All be it in different detachments) in addition to this for every gsc detachment you may take one detachment of astra militarum. This ignores the IMPERIAL keyword so you can have an army conisiting of detachments of all three.

I am curious as to where you heard this restriction as the only ones I am aware of is the astra militarum get brood brothers as a keyword and cannot use relucs or anything specific to a regiment or special characters. Other than that, you get everything.
   
Made in us
Inspiring SDF-1 Bridge Officer





Mississippi

Can you do an IG (brood brothers)/Genestealers/Tyranid army? I have a feeling the answer is no (Brood Brothers don't share the Tyranid keyword), but thought I'd ask.

It never ends well 
   
Made in nz
Longtime Dakkanaut





Auckland, NZ

 Stormonu wrote:
Can you do an IG (brood brothers)/Genestealers/Tyranid army? I have a feeling the answer is no (Brood Brothers don't share the Tyranid keyword), but thought I'd ask.

Yes you can. As stated in the post above yours, the Brood Brothers rule lets you take an IG detachment and totally ignore its faction keywords for the purposes of fitting it in your army.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Arson Fire wrote:
 Stormonu wrote:
Can you do an IG (brood brothers)/Genestealers/Tyranid army? I have a feeling the answer is no (Brood Brothers don't share the Tyranid keyword), but thought I'd ask.

Yes you can. As stated in the post above yours, the Brood Brothers rule lets you take an IG detachment and totally ignore its faction keywords for the purposes of fitting it in your army.


Not only this, but the requisite GSC unit can be an Auxiliary Support, so could be just a single model! You could take an Astra Militarum Battalion, a single GSC Sanctus, and then a Tyranid Battalion.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Yes. as long as you have at least one GSC detachment per Astra Militarum detachment.
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot




Hanoi, Vietnam.

 Stux wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:
 Stormonu wrote:
Can you do an IG (brood brothers)/Genestealers/Tyranid army? I have a feeling the answer is no (Brood Brothers don't share the Tyranid keyword), but thought I'd ask.

Yes you can. As stated in the post above yours, the Brood Brothers rule lets you take an IG detachment and totally ignore its faction keywords for the purposes of fitting it in your army.

Not only this, but the requisite GSC unit can be an Auxiliary Support, so could be just a single model! You could take an Astra Militarum Battalion, a single GSC Sanctus, and then a Tyranid Battalion.
Is this useful in anyway? An alliance of Tyranids and Guard? Is there any restriction on Brood Brothers using Guard stratagems? Would you still refer to yourself as a Genestealer Cult player?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Ginjitzu wrote:
 Stux wrote:
Arson Fire wrote:
 Stormonu wrote:
Can you do an IG (brood brothers)/Genestealers/Tyranid army? I have a feeling the answer is no (Brood Brothers don't share the Tyranid keyword), but thought I'd ask.

Yes you can. As stated in the post above yours, the Brood Brothers rule lets you take an IG detachment and totally ignore its faction keywords for the purposes of fitting it in your army.

Not only this, but the requisite GSC unit can be an Auxiliary Support, so could be just a single model! You could take an Astra Militarum Battalion, a single GSC Sanctus, and then a Tyranid Battalion.
Is this useful in anyway? An alliance of Tyranids and Guard? Is there any restriction on Brood Brothers using Guard stratagems? Would you still refer to yourself as a Genestealer Cult player?


Yeah, I think there is some benefit for a Tyranid army. You can take some nice artillery pieces or aircraft. Is it the optimal build? Probably not if you want to win tournaments, but there's still some strong stuff you can take.

Brood brothers do get access to Guard stratagems yes.

Depends what your army mostly is really! If my army was mostly Guard then yes I guess so, it would be GSC, as they are supposed to be military assets under the control of the cult.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: