| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 07:20:35
Subject: Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Hi,
I have a question regarding the timing of the tallarn ambush: Do the units have to be set up in the same turn?
Especially regarding the whole "Deepstrike outside of own deployment zone only from turn two on" beta rule.
To give some extreme example: lets say I use the stratagem and put in 1. a Deathstrike, 2. a heavy weapons squad with Lascannons 3. a special weapons squad with Melters
Can I:
1. bring the HWS in my own deployment zone turn one (I only wanted to hide them from my enemies alpha strike)
2. bring the SWS somewhere on the board turn two
3. bring the Deathstrike around Turn 4 (hiding it until there is a good chance of firing)
???
|
~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 07:31:13
Subject: Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Pyroalchi wrote:Hi, I have a question regarding the timing of the tallarn ambush: Do the units have to be set up in the same turn? Especially regarding the whole "Deepstrike outside of own deployment zone only from turn two on" beta rule. To give some extreme example: lets say I use the stratagem and put in 1. a Deathstrike, 2. a heavy weapons squad with Lascannons 3. a special weapons squad with Melters Can I: 1. bring the HWS in my own deployment zone turn one (I only wanted to hide them from my enemies alpha strike) 2. bring the SWS somewhere on the board turn two 3. bring the Deathstrike around Turn 4 (hiding it until there is a good chance of firing) ???
They must all arrive on the same turn. "At the end of any of your Movement phases these units can strike from hiding – set each of them up" means they all must each be set up at the same time. Also, that beta rule hasn't been a thing for months now. The current, finalised rule is simply you can't arrive in the first Battle Round if you deployed anywhere other than the battlefield. You can't bring units in the first battle round in matched play. Also you can't bring the Deathstrike on Turn 4 because after Turn 3 it's considered slain.
|
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2019/06/05 07:39:46
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 08:18:31
Subject: Re:Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Tallarn ambush is used during deployment, which is not a phase. Therefore its not limited to the only one time use per phase rule on pg. 215 of the BRB. So, you can use the stratagem three times to do what you want to do, except the deathstrike on turn 4, because of the reason BCB said. It has to arrive on turn 3. I wouldnt bother with it, because a game is mostly decided on turn 3/4. Some even on turn 2.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 08:21:44
Subject: Re:Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:Tallarn ambush is used during deployment, which is not a phase. Therefore its not limited to the only one time use per phase rule on pg. 215 of the BRB. So, you can use the stratagem three times to do what you want to do, except the deathstrike on turn 4, because of the reason BCB said. It has to arrive on turn 3. I wouldnt bother with it, because a game is mostly decided on turn 3/4. Some even on turn 2.
The multiple use is a fair point, you could always spend 9CP to put three individual units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 08:44:55
Subject: Re:Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Junior Officer with Laspistol
|
Thanks a lot for the fast Reply
I'm pretty new to the hobby and obviously still have to get into the rules more.
@ BaconCatBug: So I can't even bring them in my own deployment zone turn one? That's a pitty.
A small related question (my apologies, if it is as trivial as the first one): since I have not read anything speaking of "unit coherency" I understand, that I'm allowed to place the three Units in separate locations on the board, right?
|
~7510 build and painted
1312 build and painted
1200 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/05 08:48:41
Subject: Re:Do Units in a Tallarn ambush have to arrive in the same turn?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Pyroalchi wrote:Thanks a lot for the fast Reply
I'm pretty new to the hobby and obviously still have to get into the rules more.
@ BaconCatBug: So I can't even bring them in my own deployment zone turn one? That's a pitty.
A small related question (my apologies, if it is as trivial as the first one): since I have not read anything speaking of "unit coherency" I understand, that I'm allowed to place the three Units in separate locations on the board, right?
The three units are set up independently, they do not have to be anywhere near one another. The normal rules for coherency and/or deployment (e.g. Leman Russ Squadrons) for the individual units still apply though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|