| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 12:03:41
Subject: Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lets say I am shooting at two units with my one unit.
If I kill an HQ giving a protection aura with the first set of attacks, then the rest of my attacks from the unit are targeting a unit behind the HQ , when are models removed ?
does the unit no longer get the benefit of the aura ?
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 12:21:28
Subject: Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Once it model is reduced to zero wounds it should be removed from the board. In this case as soon as the HQ loses its last wound it will go away and the aura will not longer affect anything, even if shots have already been declared.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 12:25:48
Subject: Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Type40 wrote:Lets say I am shooting at two units with my one unit.
If I kill an HQ giving a protection aura with the first set of attacks, then the rest of my attacks from the unit are targeting a unit behind the HQ , when are models removed ?
does the unit no longer get the benefit of the aura ?
Attacks are resolved one at a time. When you split your attacks, you still resolve each attack one at a time. If you kill the HQ before resolving the shots directed at the other unit, the other unit will not benefit from the HQ's aura as it has been removed as a casualty. Do note that this is not the same as how checking for range or LOS works, which happens only once when you declare your attacks, not on an ongoing basis after every individual attack is resolved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 12:32:56
Subject: Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
thanks
|
As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.
RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 13:09:01
Subject: Re:Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
But the opponent reserves the rights to resolve the successful attacks from the same source in any order.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 13:19:14
Subject: Re:Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
How does he do that if i dont fast roll, and shoot the HQ first ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 13:23:11
Subject: Re:Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
skchsan wrote:But the opponent reserves the rights to resolve the successful attacks from the same source in any order.
Erm, no? That's not how it works, not in the slightest. The attacker decides the order he or she makes his or her attacks in. Even if he or she fast rolls his or her hits and wounds, he or she can't fast roll against two different targets, he or she has to resolve his or her attacks against one target before the other. The defender simply gets to choose which model the wound is allocated too, which is a moot point if the attacker resolves his or her attacks against a single model HQ unit first. Editspam: Misspoke regarding fast rolling wound rolls and have corrected the statement.
|
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2019/06/07 13:27:34
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/07 13:28:40
Subject: Re:Protection Aura and Shooting at multiple units
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
You are right.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|