| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 02:19:02
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine
North
|
So a bit of a newbie question.
If I am exactly 1 inch away from a target am I considered within range.
Example: i am exactly 8 inches from something. If I charge do I need a 7 an 8 or a 9 to reach.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 02:20:32
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Douglasville, GA
|
Yeah, you need to be within (and including) 1" away to be in CC range.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/20 02:21:15
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 06:43:50
Subject: Re:Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
When you are exactly 8" away, you need to roll a 7.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 06:50:01
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
From the Rulebook FAQ, page 8;
Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"?
A: It means any distance up to and including 1".
There’s a lot in the Rulebook FAQ to take in, but it’s worth taking the time to absorb it as it genuinely clears up many minor discrepancies or interpretations.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/20 06:51:18
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 07:16:19
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Crantor wrote:So a bit of a newbie question.
If I am exactly 1 inch away from a target am I considered within range.
Example: i am exactly 8 inches from something. If I charge do I need a 7 an 8 or a 9 to reach.
Thanks.
For all practical purposes 'exactly' 1" doesn't exist. It will always be slightly more or slightly less. Decide which it is, and you'll have your answer.
Note that for the purpose of a charge from deep strike - you cannot deploy WITHIN 9", but the charge must finish WITHIN 1", meaning your charge roll will always need to be at least a 9. An 8 would not take you within 1", as to do so you must logically have started within 9" and so must have deployed illegally.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/20 07:18:25
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 07:38:23
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Stux wrote:
For all practical purposes 'exactly' 1" doesn't exist. It will always be slightly more or slightly less. Decide which it is, and you'll have your answer.
Our measuring tool only can measure in 0.1" steps. For practical purposes you certainly can be exactly 8" away.
Stux wrote:
Note that for the purpose of a charge from deep strike - you cannot deploy WITHIN 9", but the charge must finish WITHIN 1", meaning your charge roll will always need to be at least a 9. An 8 would not take you within 1", as to do so you must logically have started within 9" and so must have deployed illegally.
The TO didnt ask about deepstrike. Even after deepstriking some models can be closer than 9.1". Like sly marbo, who can move D6" after deepstriking. Or the calidus assasin who deepstrikes more than D6+3" of enemy models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 07:52:02
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
p5freak wrote: Stux wrote:
For all practical purposes 'exactly' 1" doesn't exist. It will always be slightly more or slightly less. Decide which it is, and you'll have your answer.
Our measuring tool only can measure in 0.1" steps. For practical purposes you certainly can be exactly 8" away.
No, you aren't exactly 8" away regardless of the tool you are using. A 10th of an inch is still easily big enough to see whether something is one side or the other of the line.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 08:21:49
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Stux wrote: p5freak wrote: Stux wrote:
For all practical purposes 'exactly' 1" doesn't exist. It will always be slightly more or slightly less. Decide which it is, and you'll have your answer.
Our measuring tool only can measure in 0.1" steps. For practical purposes you certainly can be exactly 8" away.
No, you aren't exactly 8" away regardless of the tool you are using. A 10th of an inch is still easily big enough to see whether something is one side or the other of the line.
Its true that you arent never exactly 8" away. But you cant measure better than 0.1" with our tape measures. Tape measures (at least all i have seen so far) have some play on that angled hook thing that stops the tape from disappearing inside the casing. That play alone could be 0.5". Meaning if i pull on that hook my distance is now 0.5" longer, if i push it towards the tape, my distance is 0.5" shorter.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/20 08:24:37
Subject: Does exactly also mean within when measuring range
|
 |
[MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
Getting a bit afield here and the question has been answered.
|
On parle toujours mal quand on n'a rien à dire. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|