| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/22 07:02:26
Subject: Fight Phase Questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The Situation:
I have two units, a unit of Nobz and a Warboss. I have both the Nobz and the Warboss choose two enemy units as charge targets, an empty Rhino and a squad of Space Marines. Both the Warboss and the Nobz make their charge into the Rhino, but won't make it within 1" of the Space Marines. I select the Warboss to fight first and he destroys the Rhino and consolidates to a new position not within 1" of another unit.
I have the following questions regarding the above situation:
1. (Assuming a 3" pile in move could get the Nobz squad within 1" of the Space Marine squad) Can I select the Nobz squad to fight? Note that they would not initially be within 1" of the Space Marine squad, but after a pile in move, they would be within 1". As a reference material the 40k Battle Primer by GW states in section 5.1. that any unit that charged or has units within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight.
2. (Assuming a 3" pile in move would not get the Nobz squad within 1" of the Space Marine squad) Can I select the Nobz squad to fight? In this case they would be able to do their 3" pile in move but there would still be no units within 1".
Side question:
3. Who can I select to use the "Get Stuck In, Ladz" stratagem on? Specifically, what criteria must be met in order for me to do so? (i.e. the unit in question has/has not charged this turn, has/has not been selected to attack this turn, is/is not within 1" of an enemy unit, is not within 1" of an enemy unit but is able to pile into a unit and get within 1" of them, can they attack a unit they did not declare a charge against, etc.)
Thanks in advance.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/14 05:04:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/22 07:38:37
Subject: Re:Fight phase questions
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Yes to 1 and 2. The nobz charged, they can fight. Even if they don't get within 1" of enemy models, they still get to pile in 3" and consolidate 3". I can't comment on question 3. Dont know the stratagem.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/22 07:42:01
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
1. Yes you can, your reasoning is correct. They successfully charged so can be chosen to fight, even though they aren't within 1" of an enemy model.
2. Yes. In fact you must select them to fight, you then pile in up to 3" (though it is valid to move 0" if you wish), and if not then within 1" of an enemy it stops there.
3. It just says select a unit that has already fought, so: they don't need to have charged, but may have. It must have already been selected to fight this turn. You can select a unit that wouldn't normally be able to be selected to fight (this is the one I'm not 100% certain on, but that's my reading). You may not allocate any attacks against a unit you didn't declare a charge against if you charged that turn - nothing in the ability would ignore this.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/22 07:42:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/22 08:48:06
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Fx19Force wrote:The Situation:
I have two units, a unit of Nobz and a Warboss. I have both the Nobz and the Warboss choose two enemy units as charge targets, an empty Rhino and a squad of Space Marines. Both the Warboss and the Nobz make their charge into the Rhino, but won't make it within 1" of the Space Marines. I select the Warboss to fight first and he destroys the Rhino and consolidates to a new position not within 1" of another unit.
I have the following questions regarding the above situation:
1. (Assuming a 3" pile in move could get the Nobz squad within 1" of the Space Marine squad) Can I select the Nobz squad to fight? Note that they would not initially be within 1" of the Space Marine squad, but after a pile in move, they would be within 1". As a reference material the 40k Battle Primer by GW states in section 5.1. that any unit that charged or has units within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight.
2. (Assuming a 3" pile in move would not get the Nobz squad within 1" of the Space Marine squad) Can I select the Nobz squad to fight? In this case they would be able to do their 3" pile in move but there would still be no units within 1".
Side question:
3. Who can I select to use the "Get Stuck In, Ladz" stratagem on? Specifically, what criteria must be met in order for me to do so? (i.e. the unit in question has/has not charged this turn, has/has not been selected to attack this turn, is/is not within 1" of an enemy unit, is not within 1" of an enemy unit but is able to pile into a unit and get within 1" of them, can they attack a unit they did not declare a charge against, etc.)
Thanks in advance.
1. Yes, you may. You declared the Space Marines as a target of your charge so you may target them.
2. Because they charged, they must be selected to fight. This means they can make their Pile in and Consolidate moves, even if they don't make any attacks due to no targets in range.
3. You can select any unit that has been selected to fight in the Fight phase, regardless of whether they made any attacks, charged, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/03 11:41:56
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Could someone give me a FAQ or page quote that says charging units MUST be selected to fight?
Far as I know per the BRB in order for a unit to be selected to fight it must start the FIGHT phase within 1" of a enemy unit. so even if a power says they can fight as if it were the fight phase. To do so would require they be within 1" prior to any pile-in.
Not trying to start discord as a Khorne Berzerker player me being wrong would be good for me. But nothing worse than hosing somebody only to find out later I basically cheated.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/03 11:54:59
Subject: Re:Fight phase questions
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BRB update 1.5 pg.4 i believe.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/03 12:21:55
Subject: Re:Fight phase questions
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
Emphasis added
Warhammer 40000 Battle Primer wrote:1. Choose Unit to Fight With
Any unit that charged or has models within 1" of an enemy unit can be chosen to fight in the Fight phase. This includes all units, not just those controlled by the player whose turn it is. All units that charged this turn fight first. Thee player whose turn it is picks the order in which these units fight. After all charging units have fought, the players alternate choosing eligible units to fight with (starting with the player whose turn it is) until all eligible units on both sides have fought once each. No unit can be selected to fight more than once in each Fight phase. If one player runs out of eligible units, the other player completes all of their remaining fights, one unit after another. A fight is resolved in the following steps:
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.5 wrote:Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase, can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until later in the phase?
A: All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally, a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot ‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight before any non-charging models in the Fight phase (barring any related abilities).
Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat attacks if it can do so – you cannot choose for it not to do so (though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close combat attack).
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/03 13:35:56
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
If a unit charged but is no longer within 1" of any enemy units (because another charging unit killed them) then in theory you still have to select them to fight, but they have no obligation to actually pile in and try to hit anything.
Also, if for some reason you are looking to minimise damage in the fight phase then you can always declare that you are making your attacks with basic 'close combat weapons'. I'm sure it is reasonable to expect that a Khorne Berserker would forgo the use of his chain axe and attempt to club someone with the butt of his bolt pistol instead.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/03 13:36:21
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 09:56:21
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Bilge Rat wrote:If a unit charged but is no longer within 1" of any enemy units (because another charging unit killed them) then in theory you still have to select them to fight, but they have no obligation to actually pile in and try to hit anything.
Also, if for some reason you are looking to minimise damage in the fight phase then you can always declare that you are making your attacks with basic 'close combat weapons'. I'm sure it is reasonable to expect that a Khorne Berserker would forgo the use of his chain axe and attempt to club someone with the butt of his bolt pistol instead.
Can they actually fight something they haven't declared as a target of their charge, a they didn't start the fight phase within 1inch of what they pile into?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 10:37:27
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
TarkinLarson wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:If a unit charged but is no longer within 1" of any enemy units (because another charging unit killed them) then in theory you still have to select them to fight, but they have no obligation to actually pile in and try to hit anything.
Also, if for some reason you are looking to minimise damage in the fight phase then you can always declare that you are making your attacks with basic 'close combat weapons'. I'm sure it is reasonable to expect that a Khorne Berserker would forgo the use of his chain axe and attempt to club someone with the butt of his bolt pistol instead.
Can they actually fight something they haven't declared as a target of their charge, a they didn't start the fight phase within 1inch of what they pile into?
A unit that charged that turn can never target a unit they didn't declare a charge against.
They can still Fight - that is they can activate, pile in, and consolidate. They just can't allocate any of their attacks to a unit they didn't declare against.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 10:42:59
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:TarkinLarson wrote: Bilge Rat wrote:If a unit charged but is no longer within 1" of any enemy units (because another charging unit killed them) then in theory you still have to select them to fight, but they have no obligation to actually pile in and try to hit anything. Also, if for some reason you are looking to minimise damage in the fight phase then you can always declare that you are making your attacks with basic 'close combat weapons'. I'm sure it is reasonable to expect that a Khorne Berserker would forgo the use of his chain axe and attempt to club someone with the butt of his bolt pistol instead. Can they actually fight something they haven't declared as a target of their charge, a they didn't start the fight phase within 1inch of what they pile into? A unit that charged that turn can never target a unit they didn't declare a charge against. They can still Fight - that is they can activate, pile in, and consolidate. They just can't allocate any of their attacks to a unit they didn't declare against. Cool that's why I thought, but having read the primer again I can't see where it says about you having to charge to allocate attacks. I'm sure it was there... Does that mean, however that if I declare a charge, but pile into something else too... that the enemy units I've piled into are allowed to target my unit that piled in (in the same fight phase)?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/05 11:12:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 11:18:23
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
TarkinLarson wrote:Cool that's why I thought, but having read the primer again I can't see where it says about you having to charge to allocate attacks. I'm sure it was there...
Does that mean, however that if I declare a charge, but pile into something else too... that the enemy units I've piled into are allowed to target my unit that piled in (in the same fight phase)?
Yes. They can attack you because they didn't charge that turn, so can attack any units within 1".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 12:08:44
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
TarkinLarson wrote:
Cool that's why I thought, but having read the primer again I can't see where it says about you having to charge to allocate attacks. I'm sure it was there...
This is from the Fight Phase section of the Primer. The last sentence is what you are looking for.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 12:16:47
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Stux wrote:TarkinLarson wrote: Cool that's why I thought, but having read the primer again I can't see where it says about you having to charge to allocate attacks. I'm sure it was there... This is from the Fight Phase section of the Primer. The last sentence is what you are looking for. Thanks. I'm rereading it now and noticed where it was! So does that mean with units like Khorne Berserkers who can fight twice... If they declare a charge only against unit1 and they successfully charge against unit1 and wipe them out entirely, and then consolidate toward unit2 and end up within 1inch of unit2, they cannot fight them for the second time in the fight phase... as they charged in the previous phase but didn't declare charge against unit2. On top of this... unit2 can then fight against the khorne berserkers as they can fight units within 1nch (and didn't charge). :( That breaks one of the fun things I thought I could do with berserkers. Wiping out a squad and then consilidating into another squad (i didn't declare a charge against) and fighting again before they can fight back is kinda the point of them to me. It wastes the second fight now in nearly all cases unless I declare charges (or is that successfully charged?) against tonnes of enemies and risk the overwatch.
|
|
This message was edited 13 times. Last update was at 2019/07/05 12:31:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 12:28:24
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Correct, they would not be able to declare attacks against the second unit in that example.
Note that you can only declare a charge against units that start the charge phase within 12" of the charging unit. So units that are further away will be safe from the berserkers no matter what shenanigans they pull!
The point is that there has to be a limit on just how far a unit can keep going within the space of time that a turn represents, in my opinion. It's a necessary balancing mechanic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 12:28:32
Subject: Fight phase questions
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
TarkinLarson wrote:Thanks. I'm rereading it now and noticed that!
So does that mean with units like Khorne Berserkers who can fight twice... If they declare a charge only against unit1 and they successfully charge against unit1 and wipe them out entirely, and then consolidate toward unit2 and end up within 1inch of unit2, they cannot fight them for the second time in the fight phase... as they charged in the previous phase but didn't declare charge against unit2.
On top of this... unit2 can then fight against the khorne berserkers as they can fight units within 1nch (and didn't charge).
:( That breaks one of the fun things I thought I could do with berserkers. Wiping out a squad and then consilidating into another squad (i didn't declare a charge against) and fighting again before they can fight back is kinda the point of them to me. It wastes the second fight now in nearly all cases unless I declare charges against tonnes of enemies and risk the overwatch.
That is literally the reason the rule exists, to stop you wiping out units who didn't get a chance to overwatch into you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 14:05:11
Subject: Re:Fight phase questions
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Just declare a charge against every unit within 12", or whatever is close to the unit you think you can wipe out with your first round of attacks. Unless they have special weapons which auto hit, or hit on 5+, or are tau. something similiar. Normal overwatch rarely does any significant damage.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/07/05 14:34:34
Subject: Re:Fight phase questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
p5freak wrote:Just declare a charge against every unit within 12", or whatever is close to the unit you think you can wipe out with your first round of attacks. Unless they have special weapons which auto hit, or hit on 5+, or are tau. something similiar. Normal overwatch rarely does any significant damage. Yeah overwatch doesn't usually bother me. In about 10 games I don't think I've lost a model to it yet, and I charge something into overwatch a lot. Most of the time I soak any up with Rhinos etc.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/05 14:34:54
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|