| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 09:49:56
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hey all.
I got a question about the summoning ritual.
Can it be used in turn 1 in matched play?
The answer is probably hidden in a FAQ somewhere, but i looked and i couldnt seem to find it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 10:16:15
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
This should be in YMDC.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 12:22:37
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
Great, thanks.
Follow up question.
Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 12:25:01
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
Miroll wrote: Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
Great, thanks.
Follow up question.
Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table?
No, not in the movement phase anyway, because it is already the end of the phase when you use Daemonic Ritual.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 12:36:12
Subject: Re:Question about summoning
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
Per the Reinforcement rules, you cannot move a unit setup by Daemonic Ritual for any reason outside of Charging, Piling-In and Consolidation.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 12:36:16
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Stux wrote:Miroll wrote: Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
Great, thanks.
Follow up question.
Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table?
No, not in the movement phase anyway, because it is already the end of the phase when you use Daemonic Ritual.
Fantastic.
Thank you
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 14:26:28
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Stux wrote:Miroll wrote: Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones. Great, thanks. Follow up question. Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table? No, not in the movement phase anyway, because it is already the end of the phase when you use Daemonic Ritual.
Not just in the movement phase, but at all that turn outside of Charging, Piling in and Consolidating as they are Reinforcements.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/27 14:26:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/27 15:18:16
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Stux wrote:Miroll wrote: Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
Great, thanks.
Follow up question.
Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table?
No, not in the movement phase anyway, because it is already the end of the phase when you use Daemonic Ritual.
Not just in the movement phase, but at all that turn outside of Charging, Piling in and Consolidating as they are Reinforcements.
Indeed. There are some instance where you can move as you stated, but generally no moving after being summoned.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 05:38:30
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Stux wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Stux wrote:Miroll wrote: Jidmah wrote:Yes, as you are not deploying units that were part of your army, but rather creating new ones.
Great, thanks.
Follow up question.
Can a unit that has been summoned move in the turn it is put on the table?
No, not in the movement phase anyway, because it is already the end of the phase when you use Daemonic Ritual.
Not just in the movement phase, but at all that turn outside of Charging, Piling in and Consolidating as they are Reinforcements.
Indeed. There are some instance where you can move as you stated, but generally no moving after being summoned.
Ok so it works like a ''deep strike'' except that you can do it turn one
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 07:13:08
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Summoning has several of its own rules that make it different to Deep Strike mechanics. It is probably easier not to think of them as being similar.
|
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 08:11:43
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Bilge Rat wrote:Summoning has several of its own rules that make it different to Deep Strike mechanics. It is probably easier not to think of them as being similar.
Like what?
It sounds like the only difference is that it can be done turn 1
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 08:16:34
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Deep striking units start as part of your army. You have to pay points for them during list creation, include them in your army list and declare that they are deep striking during deployment. None of this is true for summoned units.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/28 08:16:58
8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 08:47:00
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Bilge Rat wrote:Deep striking units start as part of your army. You have to pay points for them during list creation, include them in your army list and declare that they are deep striking during deployment. None of this is true for summoned units.
Yeah i get all that.
But from the moment they hit the table its pretty much the same.
Cant move as its the end of movement.
9'' from the enemy ( 12'' from the summoner).
Please correct me if i'm wrong.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 09:12:50
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
|
It's just a matter of perspective. If you understand the rule, that's all that really matters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 12:28:05
Subject: Re:Question about summoning
|
 |
Pious Palatine
|
It's and Apples and Oranges thing. They are both fruit, but an Apple is not an Orange. Similarly, Units set up in "Deep Strike" and Summoning are both Reinforcements, but that doesn't make one the other.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2019/06/28 14:54:05
Subject: Question about summoning
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Miroll wrote:
But from the moment they hit the table its pretty much the same.
Cant move as its the end of movement.
9'' from the enemy ( 12'' from the summoner).
Please correct me if i'm wrong.
The point of summoning is that you can summon whatever you want. You want the rock to the opponents scissor ? Summon it (if you have the models). And after you roll you can pick what will be summoned. Its almost impossible to fail summoning. Did i roll enough for a 20 model unit ? No, i dont. So, only a 10 model unit is summoned.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|