Switch Theme:

Vector Shift  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I'm curious about how people interpret the Vector Shift rule of the Nightwing.

Vector Shift: At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare
if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings. When operating with Retracted Wings and this
model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also
gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings. While operating with Extended
Wings, this model may be turned to face directly towards any one enemy model it has line of sight to instead of
performing its first pivot in the Movement phase (as per the Wings of Khaine ability), this model then adds 1
when making hit rolls against the chosen enemy model for the following Shooting phase, but also loses the Hard
to Hit ability until it switches to operating with Retracted Wings.


1. "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player..." I interpret this as meaning the controlling player's movement phase, though it could be read as being every movement phase. If this occurs every movement phase, the controlling player could use extended wings on each of their turns to gain the +1 to hit bonus and then switch back on the opponent's turn, gaining hard to hit. If this occurs on your movement phase only, it means it will not gain either extended or retracted wings until the controlling player's first turn, which impacts my second question.

2. "When operating with Retracted Wings and this model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings". Is the 5++ contingent upon having both retracted wings and having advanced? This is my interpretation. However, the wording seems ambiguous enough that the 24" bonus to move and the 5++ could be taken as independent of one another. Curious as to what people think.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Orbei wrote:
I'm curious about how people interpret the Vector Shift rule of the Nightwing.

Vector Shift: At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare
if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings. When operating with Retracted Wings and this
model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also
gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings. While operating with Extended
Wings, this model may be turned to face directly towards any one enemy model it has line of sight to instead of
performing its first pivot in the Movement phase (as per the Wings of Khaine ability), this model then adds 1
when making hit rolls against the chosen enemy model for the following Shooting phase, but also loses the Hard
to Hit ability until it switches to operating with Retracted Wings.


1. "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player..." I interpret this as meaning the controlling player's movement phase, though it could be read as being every movement phase. If this occurs every movement phase, the controlling player could use extended wings on each of their turns to gain the +1 to hit bonus and then switch back on the opponent's turn, gaining hard to hit. If this occurs on your movement phase only, it means it will not gain either extended or retracted wings until the controlling player's first turn, which impacts my second question.

2. "When operating with Retracted Wings and this model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings". Is the 5++ contingent upon having both retracted wings and having advanced? This is my interpretation. However, the wording seems ambiguous enough that the 24" bonus to move and the 5++ could be taken as independent of one another. Curious as to what people think.
1. RaW it triggers at the start of every movement phase. Standard FW poor writing.

2. Yes, you need to have done both. It's an If-Then statement. If X and Y then A and B.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/28 01:24:33


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Regarding point 1, to me it is pretty clear that RAI is for you to only do it in your own movement phase. Trying to argue that you should be allowed to do in in both player turns is not very sporting IMHO, although I can see the RAW justification.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/28 07:19:30


8930 points 6800 points 75 points 600 points
2810 points 5740 points 2650 points 3275 points
55 points 640 points 1840 points 435 points
2990 points 700 points 2235 points 1935 points
3460 points 1595 points 2480 points 2895 points
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Bilge Rat wrote:
Regarding point 1, to me it is pretty clear that RAI is for you to only do it in your own movement phase. Trying to argue that you should be allowed to do in in both player turns is not very sporting IMHO, although I can see the RAW justification.
It is only for your own movement phase, because taking context into account means that it needs to be declared "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved"

And you can only can move the model in one persons movement phase.

Therefore, if you do not ignore the context, you have the RAW saying it is only for the Movement phase of the person that owns the model, since you need to declare "before this model is moved"

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
 Bilge Rat wrote:
Regarding point 1, to me it is pretty clear that RAI is for you to only do it in your own movement phase. Trying to argue that you should be allowed to do in in both player turns is not very sporting IMHO, although I can see the RAW justification.
It is only for your own movement phase, because taking context into account means that it needs to be declared "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved"

And you can only can move the model in one persons movement phase.

Therefore, if you do not ignore the context, you have the RAW saying it is only for the Movement phase of the person that owns the model, since you need to declare "before this model is moved"
FAQ disagrees with you.
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.5 wrote:Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’ phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect ‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
A: Yes.
Or are FAQs not considered "context"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/28 08:25:32


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

"At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings."

This is the relevant part they were refering to. Ie: you have to declare whether it is operating with Extended or Retracted Wings *before* the model is moved. If you cannot move the model, then you also can't make that declaration. And, under normal circumstances, you cannot move in your opponent's Movement Phase. Unless you're suggesting we don't have to follow every part of a rule?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 flandarz wrote:
"At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings."

This is the relevant part they were refering to. Ie: you have to declare whether it is operating with Extended or Retracted Wings *before* the model is moved. If you cannot move the model, then you also can't make that declaration. And, under normal circumstances, you cannot move in your opponent's Movement Phase. Unless you're suggesting we don't have to follow every part of a rule?
Again, not true. The rule says "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved". This triggers at the start of your opponents movement phase and is before the model is moved, thus activates. The fact that you normally could not move the model is irrelevant for the rules activation.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/06/28 09:33:01


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
"At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings."

This is the relevant part they were refering to. Ie: you have to declare whether it is operating with Extended or Retracted Wings *before* the model is moved. If you cannot move the model, then you also can't make that declaration. And, under normal circumstances, you cannot move in your opponent's Movement Phase. Unless you're suggesting we don't have to follow every part of a rule?
Again, not true. The rule says "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved". This triggers at the start of your opponents movement phase and is before the model is moved, thus activates. The fact that you normally could not move the model is irrelevant for the rules activation.


You actually must declare if the wings are extended or retracted in every players turn, but you cant move it in the opponents movement phase, you dont have permission. You cant advance with retracted wings in the opponents movement phase, you dont have permission. You also cant turn the model, because turning is movement, and you dont permission to do so in the opponents movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 p5freak wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
"At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved, the controlling player must declare if it is operating with either Extended Wings or Retracted Wings."

This is the relevant part they were refering to. Ie: you have to declare whether it is operating with Extended or Retracted Wings *before* the model is moved. If you cannot move the model, then you also can't make that declaration. And, under normal circumstances, you cannot move in your opponent's Movement Phase. Unless you're suggesting we don't have to follow every part of a rule?
Again, not true. The rule says "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved". This triggers at the start of your opponents movement phase and is before the model is moved, thus activates. The fact that you normally could not move the model is irrelevant for the rules activation.


You actually must declare if the wings are extended or retracted in every players turn, but you cant move it in the opponents movement phase, you dont have permission. You cant advance with retracted wings in the opponents movement phase, you dont have permission. You also cant turn the model, because turning is movement, and you dont permission to do so in the opponents movement phase.
Yes, agreed.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 Bilge Rat wrote:
Regarding point 1, to me it is pretty clear that RAI is for you to only do it in your own movement phase. Trying to argue that you should be allowed to do in in both player turns is not very sporting IMHO, although I can see the RAW justification.
It is only for your own movement phase, because taking context into account means that it needs to be declared "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved"

And you can only can move the model in one persons movement phase.

Therefore, if you do not ignore the context, you have the RAW saying it is only for the Movement phase of the person that owns the model, since you need to declare "before this model is moved"
FAQ disagrees with you.
WARHAMMER 40,000 RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.5 wrote:Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’ phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect ‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
A: Yes.
Or are FAQs not considered "context"?

Good thing the RAW in the BRB agrees with me.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
Good thing the RAW in the BRB agrees with me.
FAQs overrule RAW. I don't like it, but it is what it is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/06/28 10:42:46


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Good thing the RAW in the BRB agrees with me.
FAQs overrule RAW. I don't like it, but it is what it is.


Except that Vector Shift can not be used in every phase, in context it can only be used "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved" Which, when taken in context means At the start of the friendly Movement phase.

Ignoring context causes issues like you are having with this.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Ok. Let's say that using it during your opponent's movement phase counts as "before you move" because you will eventually move on your own turn. What happens if the model is slain before your turn? Seems like a paradoxical situation to me. If your model is slain, it can no longer move. Thus anything it used that required it to move at a later time (because you used it "before you moved") would have been used illegally, correct?

I dunno. Seems like a lot of rules lawyering to potentially end at a situation in which you'd have to ignore RAW anyway.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Any other opinions on RAI for point 2, the 5++? The wording is so ambiguous that it can easily be read as being dependent or independent of advancing. My interpretation is dependent.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 DeathReaper wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Good thing the RAW in the BRB agrees with me.
FAQs overrule RAW. I don't like it, but it is what it is.


Except that Vector Shift can not be used in every phase, in context it can only be used "At the start of the Movement phase, before this model is moved" Which, when taken in context means At the start of the friendly Movement phase.

Ignoring context causes issues like you are having with this.
You keep saying "context" as if that somehow changes the rules.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





When operating with Retracted Wings and this
model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also
gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings.


My reading of the above is that the 5++ applies after the model has advanced, but provided it doesn't subsequently switch to Extended Wings, the 5++ will continue to apply in subsequent turns whether the model advances or not. This seems a bit off, but unless I'm misreading then this is how the rule applies.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Aash wrote:
When operating with Retracted Wings and this
model Advances, add 24" to its Move characteristic for that Movement phase instead of rolling a dice – it also
gains a 5+ invulnerable save until it switches to operating with Extended Wings.


My reading of the above is that the 5++ applies after the model has advanced, but provided it doesn't subsequently switch to Extended Wings, the 5++ will continue to apply in subsequent turns whether the model advances or not. This seems a bit off, but unless I'm misreading then this is how the rule applies.


Agreed. Once its wings are retracted, and it advances its got a 5+ inv in subsequent turns, until the controlling player says that its wings are extended. The wings can be extended in the opponents movement phase, but it cant turn, no permission to move.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It’s a FW Rule. We’ve know for about two years now that they wrote the FW rules in a lunch break and they are riddled with typos, errors and unintentional mismatches with what 8th’s rules actually are. Trying to play RAW lawyer with their partly-functional rules is silly at best.

Is it really worth expending such energy railing against one guy who’s claiming “RAW SAYS THIS RULE DOES THIS” when it’s entirely possible to just play the more reasonable, logical interpretation when using the model? You won’t convince the intractable internet chap who’s gonna continually tell you that a rule is RAW even when it was written by FW guys who didn’t know the damn rules. You simply can’t play some FW units by RAW alone. Do the sensible thing and play what makes sense. It’s to the detriment of the owning player, so that’s the fairest thing to do.

Trying to claim an interpretation that’s against the screamingly-clear intent is up to you, but hardly seems worth losing friends over.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: