Switch Theme:

Nihilakh Dynasty and Overwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List




Tennessee

Nihilakh Dynasty says “...as long as they did not move in the preceding movement phase.”

Does this mean MY preceding Movement Phase or does the Nihilakh Dynasty effectively always get to re-roll 1s while firing Overwatch?

Thanks in advance!

"Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins." - 1 Peter 4:8 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





Correct, when the enemy charges you the preceding movement phase is the opponent's movement phase. Therefore you will always (unless there is some niche situation where you can actually move in your opponent's movement phase) get the re-roll on overwatch.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, if it doesnt say enemy or friendly (or similiar), its every movement phase. This is true for every phase in the game.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 PhaseLord wrote:
Nihilakh Dynasty says “...as long as they did not move in the preceding movement phase.”

Does this mean MY preceding Movement Phase or does the Nihilakh Dynasty effectively always get to re-roll 1s while firing Overwatch?

Thanks in advance!


Fairrrrrrrly obvious what the intent of the rule is here, given phrasing of the OP, but RAW blinkers will indeed make it always function.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JohnnyHell wrote:
 PhaseLord wrote:
Nihilakh Dynasty says “...as long as they did not move in the preceding movement phase.”

Does this mean MY preceding Movement Phase or does the Nihilakh Dynasty effectively always get to re-roll 1s while firing Overwatch?

Thanks in advance!


Fairrrrrrrly obvious what the intent of the rule is here, given phrasing of the OP, but RAW blinkers will indeed make it always function.


You may be right about intention, but my niggling doubt there is that several other abilities that came out before were worded so they don't work like this (eg Grim Resolve). It could easily be a mistake being GW, but it might be an intentional distinction, otherwise why change the wording that worked?
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Hah, like GW have had proofing or consistency in 8th! We’d not have half the YMDC section if they’d spent more time proofing.

Yeah I don’t know why they didn’t re-use either, but the intent of the rule is screamingly obvious. That, or the author deliberately wrote a rule with no proper function that could have just not mentioned Movement at all and had the same effect as this RAW ‘interpretation’’. Apply Occam’s Razor...

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 JohnnyHell wrote:
Hah, like GW have had proofing or consistency in 8th! We’d not have half the YMDC section if they’d spent more time proofing.

Yeah I don’t know why they didn’t re-use either, but the intent of the rule is screamingly obvious. That, or the author deliberately wrote a rule with no proper function that could have just not mentioned Movement at all and had the same effect as this RAW ‘interpretation’’. Apply Occam’s Razor...


I do like to apply a bit of context and nuance to rules interpretation, I'm not sure what they were going for in this one.

It does do something, it affects shooting in your own turn. So it's not an obsolete rule, like some rules become when read using pure RAW. The intention here could be that they always get the re-roll on overwatch, but only situationally in their own turn.

I'm just not certain on the intention here, and so given that default to RAW.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I have to change my answer to no.

Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’
phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such
phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect
‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
A: Yes.


The FAQ above refers to an ability. A dynasty choice is not an ability. Abilities are listed on a units datasheet. GW however uses the term ability for a warlord trait.

Page 181 – Ignoring Wounds
Add the following as a boxout on this page:
‘Ignoring Wounds
Some units have abilities that allow them to ignore
the damage suffered each time it loses a wound (e.g.
Disgustingly Resilient, The Flesh is Weak and Tenacious
Survivor). If a model has more than one such ability, you
can only use one of those abilities each time the model
loses a wound.’


It is unknown if GW would call a dynasty choice an ability as well. There is nothing in the rules, or FAQs about it. Until GW clarifies this my answer is no. You cant re-roll 1s when overwatching.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/07/20 12:29:25


 
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

The Flesh is Weak is the Iron Hands Chapter Tactics Trait.
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





The definition of 'ability' doesn't matter here. That FAQ is a clarification, it doesn't affect the actual rules at all.

The preceding movement phase is the opponent's.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

You are correct. I change to yes again.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Stux wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
Hah, like GW have had proofing or consistency in 8th! We’d not have half the YMDC section if they’d spent more time proofing.

Yeah I don’t know why they didn’t re-use either, but the intent of the rule is screamingly obvious. That, or the author deliberately wrote a rule with no proper function that could have just not mentioned Movement at all and had the same effect as this RAW ‘interpretation’’. Apply Occam’s Razor...


I do like to apply a bit of context and nuance to rules interpretation, I'm not sure what they were going for in this one.

It does do something, it affects shooting in your own turn. So it's not an obsolete rule, like some rules become when read using pure RAW. The intention here could be that they always get the re-roll on overwatch, but only situationally in their own turn.

I'm just not certain on the intention here, and so given that default to RAW.


That’s a totally fair solution, but I’d feel a little salty if someone tried to exploit it by claiming this was ‘unclear’, tbh.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot




I mean, in fairness, if the unit emergency disembarks from a destroyed transport, which iirc counts as moving, then we’d be agreed they would not get to re-roll 1s in subsequent overwatch, right?
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





sieGermans wrote:
I mean, in fairness, if the unit emergency disembarks from a destroyed transport, which iirc counts as moving, then we’d be agreed they would not get to re-roll 1s in subsequent overwatch, right?


Only if they emergency disembarked in the movement phase. Which might be possible, I think there are some abilities that do damage when you move over something.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Ctans do their MW at the end of the movement phase, so if necrons play against necrons its possible to destroy a night scythe or a monolith in the movement phase.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

And we’re back to Occam’s Razor. If it requires an arcane set of happenstances to make the rule function, and we have to search this much for an event that might make the rule (as written) not trigger, then it’s far more likely that the writers just made an error and forgot to write “their previous Movement Phase”. But play it how you will.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: