Switch Theme:

Which unit goes in which transport --- Is this an army list decision or a deployment decision?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Ottawa

Must I decide which unit goes in which transport ahead of the game, when writing my army list? Or am I allowed to see what my opponent's army is made of before I allocate units to transports, thereby making it a deployment decision?

.

Cadians, Sisters of Battle, Drukhari, Custodes

Read my Drukhari short stories: Chronicles of Commorragh 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






-Guardsman- wrote:
Must I decide which unit goes in which transport ahead of the game, when writing my army list? Or am I allowed to see what my opponent's army is made of before I allocate units to transports, thereby making it a deployment decision?

.
You declare during deployment what units a transport is holding, if any.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






It happens in deployment. Remember, in 8th there is no such thing as dedicated transports anymore, there is no tie list-wise between a transport and any particular unit.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





 Peregrine wrote:
It happens in deployment. Remember, in 8th there is no such thing as dedicated transports anymore, there is no tie list-wise between a transport and any particular unit.


To be precise, there is such a thing as a dedicated transport but it means something different this edition.

In 8e it is simply a battlefield role for a unit (which you cannot have more of in a detachment than the total of other units, and which isn't constrained by the rule of 3 when that rule is in use).

In previous editions it referred to a transport that was tied to a particular unit during list construction, and that is indeed no longer a thing.
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Ottawa

Thanks a lot!

Cadians, Sisters of Battle, Drukhari, Custodes

Read my Drukhari short stories: Chronicles of Commorragh 
   
Made in gb
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller




 Stux wrote:
In previous editions it referred to a transport that was tied to a particular unit during list construction, and that is indeed no longer a thing.


All the way up to and including not even being able to transport the units in your army.

So you can take 3 units of Intercessors and 3 Rhinos, even though the Intercessors cant ride in Rhinos.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

A legal detachment is a Terminator Captain, 3 Predators, and 4 Razorbacks. Now we have about three units that can't be transported at all!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: