Switch Theme:

AIRCRAFT question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 p5freak wrote:
I wasn't thinking of a game breaking situation, but I'm pretty sure there are some. You really need to understand that certain rules are for certain phases only.


I do. But that’s a RAI, and you need to understand if you’re going to demand RAW for things that benefit you, yet we should RAI, then so am I.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut




 p5freak wrote:
Which daemon prince has a minimum move ?? That's required to get the AIRCRAFT keyword.


No one. But to make it more clearly. A Daemon price or any other unit with FLY keyword can’t charge a unit with the keyword AIRCRAFT if your interpretation is to be true.

As “Any kind of move”. Hmm, need to change my list so I can shoot them down.

And by RAW, we do have phases, turns and battlerounds. So why should this rule apply too every phase yet it says movement phase.
I simply do not understand your reasoning for this. If you can, try explain it to me.
   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Why wouldn't a model with fly be unable to charge an aircraft? The airborne rule provides an exception to the aircraft rule, doesn't it?
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Tazberry wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Which daemon prince has a minimum move ?? That's required to get the AIRCRAFT keyword.


No one. But to make it more clearly. A Daemon price or any other unit with FLY keyword can’t charge a unit with the keyword AIRCRAFT if your interpretation is to be true.

As “Any kind of move”. Hmm, need to change my list so I can shoot them down.

And by RAW, we do have phases, turns and battlerounds. So why should this rule apply too every phase yet it says movement phase.
I simply do not understand your reasoning for this. If you can, try explain it to me.

The restriction of moving within 1" of an enemy unit is provided in the movement phase rules, and is limited to the movement phase. Charging and pile in doesn't provide an exception to that restriction because it isn't required.
BRB wrote:When you move a model in the Movement phase, it may not be moved within 1" of any enemy models.

The problem with the Aircraft rule is that the second paragraph has no such restrictions on when it applies. This means that unless something specifically calls it out and says we can ignore that restriction, we can't move with in 1" of an aircraft.
FAQ wrote:Whenever a model makes any kind of move, it can be moved within 1" of enemy Aircraft, and it can be moved across such models (and their bases) as if they were not there, but it cannot end the move on top of another model (or its base), and it cannot end the move within 1" of any enemy units.

The counter argument is of course, that because the rule appears in the movement section that it only applies then. The problem with that is that when we consider other types of movement (charges, pile in, consolidate, etc), is that they would not be bound by the "moving" section in the rules. I'll let you consider what the implications of that might be.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

GW doesn't consider a charge move to be a move

Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield
after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers),
and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the
battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following
rules apply to that unit:
1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that
are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on
the battlefield.
2. Models in that unit count as having moved a distance
equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so
suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and
firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move
characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum
Move characteristic.
3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn
for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to
pile in, or to consolidate.


A unit arriving as reinforcements cannot move again during that turn for any reason, but they charge, pile in, consolidate. The logical conclusion from this is that charge, pile in, consolidate isn't movement.
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




No, the logical conclusion is that they are a list of exceptions, which is exactly how they are written.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





JakeSiren wrote:
No, the logical conclusion is that they are a list of exceptions, which is exactly how they are written.


This. The quoted rule states charge move as well as pile in and consolidate. Saying that a charge move is not a type of move seems rather strange. Also both pile in and consolidate say "this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model." So we also have mention of pile in and consolidate being types of moves.
   
Made in us
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot




United States

 doctortom wrote:
JakeSiren wrote:
No, the logical conclusion is that they are a list of exceptions, which is exactly how they are written.


This. The quoted rule states charge move as well as pile in and consolidate. Saying that a charge move is not a type of move seems rather strange. Also both pile in and consolidate say "this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model." So we also have mention of pile in and consolidate being types of moves.


There are also two different meanings to "suffer a wound" in 40k. This isn't that unusual.

   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





eparedes0785 wrote:
Why wouldn't a model with fly be unable to charge an aircraft? The airborne rule provides an exception to the aircraft rule, doesn't it?
the FAQ nullifies it. Most likely accidentally.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 p5freak wrote:
GW doesn't consider a charge move to be a move

Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield
after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers),
and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
A: If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the
battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following
rules apply to that unit:
1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that
are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also
triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on
the battlefield.
2. Models in that unit count as having moved a distance
equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so
suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and
firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move
characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum
Move characteristic.
3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn
for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to
pile in, or to consolidate.


A unit arriving as reinforcements cannot move again during that turn for any reason, but they charge, pile in, consolidate. The logical conclusion from this is that charge, pile in, consolidate isn't movement.
. Tut tut tut.. you’re not reading it strictly as it’s written in your own quote...

Cannot move again.. yadda yadda... OTHER THAN... charge moves pile-in moves and consolidation are among any kind of moves. OTHER THAN.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Tazberry wrote:
So are you saying that all units with the keyword AIRCRAFT can never be in close combat? Sad thing for my flying Daemon prince and other melee oriented armies with Fly keyword.

You play your RAI and I play my RAW. (With exceptions ofc, assault weapons, pistols for example.)
. As already mentioned Daemon Prices aren’t AIRCRAFT, AIRCRAFT are models with a minimum move AND the FLY keyword. And I didn’t say that, I said AIRCRAFT can’t be moved within 1” of. I also specifically said an Aircraft CAN move within 1” of an enemy model. The two immunities stupidly only go one direction. Only AIRCRAFT can initiate (end a) move within 1” of enemy models. Only ground pounders can leave 1” without falling back.

Thus my RAI they’ve tried - and did a very poor job of it- to make ground pounders and AIRCRAFT two separate layers in the game that only FLY and shooting can cross.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Well that’s not entirely true. Any model with FLY can leave the within 1” - as long as they travel OVER any/all models within that 1” without falling back. This fly/Aircraft FAQ was incredibly stupid. Even by GW standards.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/08/21 16:27:13


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Move isn't the same as move. The word wound has many different meanings.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Move isn't the same as move. The word wound has many different meanings.


Which may matter in the last thing you quoted, except that it said may not move any further, not move. Unless you're saying move isn't the same as move, which is ridiculous.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Breton wrote:
Well that’s not entirely true. Any model with FLY can leave the within 1” - as long as they travel OVER any/all models within that 1” without falling back. This fly/Aircraft FAQ was incredibly stupid. Even by GW standards.
This is not supported by the rules in any way. The ability to move over units as if they are not there in no way negates the fact that models with Fly cannot move at all if there is an enemy model within 1" of it at the beginning of it's move unless it performs a Fall Back move.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Move isn't the same as move. The word wound has many different meanings.


Which may matter in the last thing you quoted, except that it said may not move any further, not move. Unless you're saying move isn't the same as move, which is ridiculous.
Move isn't the same as move is ridiculous, but wound not being the same as wound isn't ?
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

The rule, as per FAQ, clearly states to add the text to the movement phase. The problem is some people are interpreting this as it applies to all phases and some people are saying just the movement phase.

If these rules are intended to apply to every phase it means that AIRCRAFT can never be charged, even with FLY.

If they only apply to the Movement Phase then AIRCRAFT can be charged with FLY.

In my mind the correct interpretation is it only applies to the movement phase, as why shouldn't units with FLY not be able to charge AIRCRAFT?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Move isn't the same as move. The word wound has many different meanings.


Which may matter in the last thing you quoted, except that it said may not move any further, not move. Unless you're saying move isn't the same as move, which is ridiculous.
Move isn't the same as move is ridiculous, but wound not being the same as wound isn't ?


Both are ridiculous, but youir statement about Move takes it to whole new levels, given that they refer to move (not Move) in all the the rules both you and I quoted. A rule says any type of move, and I provided tules quotations showing that consolidation and pile in are types of moves, and that they refer to a charge move. The same words, the same meaning (they didn't say "any type of Move" or "any type of move in the Movement Phase")


@Dadavester - AIRBORNE has a provision written in that models with FLY can charge the AIRBORNE model
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 alextroy wrote:
Breton wrote:
Well that’s not entirely true. Any model with FLY can leave the within 1” - as long as they travel OVER any/all models within that 1” without falling back. This fly/Aircraft FAQ was incredibly stupid. Even by GW standards.
This is not supported by the rules in any way. The ability to move over units as if they are not there in no way negates the fact that models with Fly cannot move at all if there is an enemy model within 1" of it at the beginning of it's move unless it performs a Fall Back move.
models with fly can move over other models as if they’re not there during the movement phase. If you move over the model, it’s as if it’s not there, and this not within 1” the same way models that can shoot as if they didn’t move.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Dadavester wrote:
The rule, as per FAQ, clearly states to add the text to the movement phase. The problem is some people are interpreting this as it applies to all phases and some people are saying just the movement phase.

If these rules are intended to apply to every phase it means that AIRCRAFT can never be charged, even with FLY.

If they only apply to the Movement Phase then AIRCRAFT can be charged with FLY.

In my mind the correct interpretation is it only applies to the movement phase, as why shouldn't units with FLY not be able to charge AIRCRAFT?

. And you’re talking RAI. The correct interpretation is you can’t ensnare an aircraft. Failing that, we’re both playing RAW, and you can’t charge, pile-in, consolidate etc aircraft.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
 doctortom wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Move isn't the same as move. The word wound has many different meanings.


Which may matter in the last thing you quoted, except that it said may not move any further, not move. Unless you're saying move isn't the same as move, which is ridiculous.
Move isn't the same as move is ridiculous, but wound not being the same as wound isn't ?


Both are ridiculous, but youir statement about Move takes it to whole new levels, given that they refer to move (not Move) in all the the rules both you and I quoted. A rule says any type of move, and I provided tules quotations showing that consolidation and pile in are types of moves, and that they refer to a charge move. The same words, the same meaning (they didn't say "any type of Move" or "any type of move in the Movement Phase")


@Dadavester - AIRBORNE has a provision written in that models with FLY can charge the AIRBORNE model


They want to RAI in their favor and RAW against your favor.

And RAW the AIRCRAFT provision both allows models with Fly to charge AIRCRAFT and requires those charges then fail... because even with FLY no model can end any kind of move within 1” of aircraft. So you can declare the charge, but you must fail because you can’t end with it 1”.

I’m not saying it’s a good rule, just that that IS the rule, and we do t get to RAI something’s and RAW anything else when RAI doesn’t go our way.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/08/22 14:56:00


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Tribune




So again,
1) You can charge and attack aircraft units with models that have the Fly keyword.
2) You can consolidate/or pile into an aircraft unit without the Fly keyword. However you can't attack them...
3) Aircraft have to fall back from non-aircraft or die.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 00:10:05


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Breton wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Breton wrote:
Well that’s not entirely true. Any model with FLY can leave the within 1” - as long as they travel OVER any/all models within that 1” without falling back. This fly/Aircraft FAQ was incredibly stupid. Even by GW standards.
This is not supported by the rules in any way. The ability to move over units as if they are not there in no way negates the fact that models with Fly cannot move at all if there is an enemy model within 1" of it at the beginning of it's move unless it performs a Fall Back move.
models with fly can move over other models as if they’re not there during the movement phase. If you move over the model, it’s as if it’s not there, and this not within 1” the same way models that can shoot as if they didn’t move.
Your contains a logical error. Just because you can move across them as if they are were not there does not mean you ignore them for all purposes. You still can't end your move within 1" enemy models if you Fly. They are still within 1" of you before you move, which means you cannot move (across them or not) until you declare you are going to Fall Back.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





ThatMG wrote:
So again,
1) You can charge and attack aircraft units with models that have the Fly keyword.
2) You can consolidate/or pile into an aircraft unit without the Fly keyword. However you can't attack them...
3) Aircraft have to fall back from non-aircraft or die.


So Again,
1) you can charge an aircraft if you have the FLY rule, but that charge must fail by rule as you can't end any kind of move within 1"
2) You can consolidate and/or pile into an aircraft with the Fly Rule or Not, but you cannot end a Consolidate or Pile-in within 1"
3) Aircraft have to fall back if an enemy model is within 1"- UNLESS it can move OVER any and/or every enemy model within 1", BUT those models can only get to within 1" via actions by the aircraft itself.
4) Trying to summarize your RAI as the rules doesn't make it any more accurate than claiming your RAI as the rules in the first place.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 alextroy wrote:

Your contains a logical error. Just because you can move across them as if they are were not there does not mean you ignore them for all purposes. You still can't end your move within 1" enemy models if you Fly. They are still within 1" of you before you move, which means you cannot move (across them or not) until you declare you are going to Fall Back.


That's your RAI not the RAW - "as if they're not there" - if they're not there, there's no requirement to "fall back". It's silly, but that's how it's written. Just like snaring an airplane that can drag you through the air at 25,000 feet and 600+ miles per hour with a bear trap will make it crash is silly.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2019/08/23 04:02:28


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Breton, you can repeat this a million times, it will not become true. Yes, it's stupid that an aircraft can be trapped by master of snares, it's also stupid that an aircraft gets auto hit by a flamers, but that's the rules.
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





 p5freak wrote:
Breton, you can repeat this a million times, it will not become true. Yes, it's stupid that an aircraft can be trapped by master of snares, it's also stupid that an aircraft gets auto hit by a flamers, but that's the rules.


It is true. A model may not end any kind of move within 1" of Aircraft. Its in the FAQ in black and white. If it weren't you wouldn't be trying so hard to RAI it with text that isn't there.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Breton wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Breton, you can repeat this a million times, it will not become true. Yes, it's stupid that an aircraft can be trapped by master of snares, it's also stupid that an aircraft gets auto hit by a flamers, but that's the rules.


It is true. A model may not end any kind of move within 1" of Aircraft. Its in the FAQ in black and white. If it weren't you wouldn't be trying so hard to RAI it with text that isn't there.


Again if you cannot end any kind of move within 1" you cannot successfully charge them. The AIRBOURNE rule gives permission to charge, but you charge will always fail as, in your interpretation, you cannot end ANY move within 1"

Also the AIRCRAFT rule itself details how to handle enemy AIRCRAFT with 1". If you cannot get within 1", as you mantain,
why do you need that last rule?

Saying the AIRCRAFT rule applies to all phases breaks the AIRBOURNE rule, breaks all charges whenever you pass within a inch of an AIRCRAFT and ignores the last part of the AIRCRAFT rule detailing what to do if within one inch.

If you only apply the aircraft rule to the movement phase then all these things works.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 06:29:02


 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Breton wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Breton, you can repeat this a million times, it will not become true. Yes, it's stupid that an aircraft can be trapped by master of snares, it's also stupid that an aircraft gets auto hit by a flamers, but that's the rules.


It is true. A model may not end any kind of move within 1" of Aircraft. Its in the FAQ in black and white. If it weren't you wouldn't be trying so hard to RAI it with text that isn't there.


Only in the movement phase.

Can a mod please lock this ? This guy is unable to understand that certain rules are for certain phases ONLY.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 06:51:59


 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Dadavester wrote:
Breton wrote:
 p5freak wrote:
Breton, you can repeat this a million times, it will not become true. Yes, it's stupid that an aircraft can be trapped by master of snares, it's also stupid that an aircraft gets auto hit by a flamers, but that's the rules.


It is true. A model may not end any kind of move within 1" of Aircraft. Its in the FAQ in black and white. If it weren't you wouldn't be trying so hard to RAI it with text that isn't there.


Again if you cannot end any kind of move within 1" you cannot successfully charge them. The AIRBOURNE rule gives permission to charge, but you charge will always fail as, in your interpretation, you cannot end ANY move within 1"

Also the AIRCRAFT rule itself details how to handle enemy AIRCRAFT with 1". If you cannot get within 1", as you mantain,
why do you need that last rule?

Saying the AIRCRAFT rule applies to all phases breaks the AIRBOURNE rule, breaks all charges whenever you pass within a inch of an AIRCRAFT and ignores the last part of the AIRCRAFT rule detailing what to do if within one inch.

If you only apply the aircraft rule to the movement phase then all these things works.


1)This is true, you can change, but you must fail.

2) The Aircraft itself could consilidate/pile-in within 1" of another model - but no the Aircraft rule details how to handle enemy models within 1" not enemy aircraft. You're still putting language that isn't there - there.

3) This is not the first time, and will definitely not be the last time a GW rule breaks itself.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 p5freak wrote:


Can a mod please lock this ? This guy is unable to understand that certain rules are for certain phases ONLY.


Can a mod please lock this? This guy is unable to understand he doesn't get to add more words to a RAW because he doesn't like the result. Alternatively you could quit replying with a RAI that isn't the RAW and complaining when people point out it's not the RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 07:26:00


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Ok lets try a different approach.

You are saying that even though the rule is in the Movement Phase, it applies to all phases as it does not state movement phase only.

So, no where in the psyhic phase does it state the rules only apply to the psyhic phase, so following your logic they apply to all phases and I can cast smites in every single phase?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 08:00:36


 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran




Dadavester wrote:
Ok lets try a different approach.

You are saying that even though the rule is in the Movement Phase, it applies to all phases as it does not state movement phase only.

So, no where in the psyhic phase does it state the rules only apply to the psyhic phase, so following your logic they apply to all phases and I can cast smites in every single phase?

Just like how in the movement phase you can't move a model through other models, but in other phases you can.
BRB, Movement Phase, Moving Header wrote:A model can be moved in any direction, to a distance, in inches, equal to or less than the Move characteristic on its datasheet. No part of the model’s base (or hull) can move further than this. It cannot be moved through other models or through terrain features such as walls, but can be moved vertically in order to climb or traverse any scenery
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

JakeSiren wrote:
Dadavester wrote:
Ok lets try a different approach.

You are saying that even though the rule is in the Movement Phase, it applies to all phases as it does not state movement phase only.

So, no where in the psyhic phase does it state the rules only apply to the psyhic phase, so following your logic they apply to all phases and I can cast smites in every single phase?

Just like how in the movement phase you can't move a model through other models, but in other phases you can.
BRB, Movement Phase, Moving Header wrote:A model can be moved in any direction, to a distance, in inches, equal to or less than the Move characteristic on its datasheet. No part of the model’s base (or hull) can move further than this. It cannot be moved through other models or through terrain features such as walls, but can be moved vertically in order to climb or traverse any scenery


That does not answer my question? Can i smite in the movement phase?

To answer your question, there are many abilities that allow you to Move in other phases EG Tryanid 'Hive Commander' These abilities state AS IF MOVEMENT PHASE, so no you cannot move through models in other phases.

Again if the AIRCRAFT rules applies only to the movement phase the rules work. If you try and apply the AIRCRAFT rule to all the phases you start to break many other rules. It is obvious how it should apply.

   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Dadavester wrote:


Again if the AIRCRAFT rules applies only to the movement phase the rules work. If you try and apply the AIRCRAFT rule to all the phases you start to break many other rules. It is obvious how it should apply.



I'd say it's obvious how the snare rule should apply. But if we can't agree on the RAI, we're stuck with the RAW.

The AIRCRAFT rule itself has generic rules, and Specifically IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE rules contained there-in. Thus the AIRCRAFT rules that don't specify IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE apply outside the movement phase. And you are correct, it breaks a whole lot of things it shouldn't. I'd blame GW and the people who want to ensnare an airplane if I were you.

My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine



Manchester, UK

Breton wrote:
Dadavester wrote:


Again if the AIRCRAFT rules applies only to the movement phase the rules work. If you try and apply the AIRCRAFT rule to all the phases you start to break many other rules. It is obvious how it should apply.



I'd say it's obvious how the snare rule should apply. But if we can't agree on the RAI, we're stuck with the RAW.

The AIRCRAFT rule itself has generic rules, and Specifically IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE rules contained there-in. Thus the AIRCRAFT rules that don't specify IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE apply outside the movement phase. And you are correct, it breaks a whole lot of things it shouldn't. I'd blame GW and the people who want to ensnare an airplane if I were you.


Using this logic, as the psychic phase does not specify "in the psychic phase" can i smite in the movement phase?

You cannot claim RAW then add bits yourself. The AIRCRAFT rule applies to the movement phase. no where does it state it applies to all phases. If you state that because it doesn't specify IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE it applies in all other phases, you can then smite in the movement phase.

The rules clearly states "Add the following text to the end of the Movement Phase section:" so it applies to the movement phase. applying it to all phases breaks nearly the entire game.


   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard





Dadavester wrote:
Breton wrote:
Dadavester wrote:


Again if the AIRCRAFT rules applies only to the movement phase the rules work. If you try and apply the AIRCRAFT rule to all the phases you start to break many other rules. It is obvious how it should apply.



I'd say it's obvious how the snare rule should apply. But if we can't agree on the RAI, we're stuck with the RAW.

The AIRCRAFT rule itself has generic rules, and Specifically IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE rules contained there-in. Thus the AIRCRAFT rules that don't specify IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE apply outside the movement phase. And you are correct, it breaks a whole lot of things it shouldn't. I'd blame GW and the people who want to ensnare an airplane if I were you.


Using this logic, as the psychic phase does not specify "in the psychic phase" can i smite in the movement phase?

You cannot claim RAW then add bits yourself. The AIRCRAFT rule applies to the movement phase. no where does it state it applies to all phases. If you state that because it doesn't specify IN THE MOVEMENT PHASE it applies in all other phases, you can then smite in the movement phase.

The rules clearly states "Add the following text to the end of the Movement Phase section:" so it applies to the movement phase. applying it to all phases breaks nearly the entire game.


I'm not adding bits. I"m reading exactly what's there. Any Kind of Move. In the Movement Phase. I'm not adding ONLY in the movment phase when it isn't there. Or that Movement Phase Rules don't apply outside of the movement phase. You guys are. When something says only in the movement phase, then it's only in the movement phase. When it doesn't, it's not.

Page 249 says the number and type of powers a psyker can manifest in the psychic phase are on the model's datasheet. Can you find a rule suggesting where to look for the powers they can manifest outside of the psychic phase? Apparently Page 249 does indeed specify "In the psychic phase".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/08/23 10:00:29


My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: