Switch Theme:

n00b rules questions on detachments  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Mpls, MN

To any of you that help, I am very grateful. I haven't played in 6 years, so I'm way out of touch. So here goes,

For the use of stratagems, can you use units in another detachment for a stratagem from another detachment? Example, using the Banner of Blood or Locus of Wrath on a unit of Bloodletters from a CSM detachment and not a Daemon detachment.
Furthermore, since a CSM Daemon Prince's re-roll aura affects Daemons from both a Daemon and CSM detachment, do the Heralds affects and Loci's effect Deamon units from a CSM detachment?

Considering I haven't read anything that says otherwise, and that there are Strats like Daemonic Pact, I'm guessing the answer to these questions is yes, but I'm like help to clarify. Thank you again in advance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/09 13:24:03


REPENT for tommorrow you DIE!!!!

Chaos


I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Welcome back, prepare to read a lot of FAQs and errata.

You cant use bloodletters in a CSM detachment in matched play. The battle brothers rule doesnt allow it. And even if you could, its not recommended because you would lose legion traits.

BATTLE BROTHERS
All of the units in each Detachment in your Battle-forged army must have at least one Faction keyword in common. In addition, this keyword cannot
be Chaos, Imperium, Aeldari, Ynnari or Tyranids, unless the Detachment in question is a Fortification Network. This has no effect on your
Army Faction.


Heralds buffs and loci do affect daemon units from a CSM detachment if they have the right mark, but you only gain loci if you have a pure daemon detachment.
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

As long as you match the correct Keywords, you can use Stratagems on any unit you've field. For example, you can't use INFANTRY Stratagems on VEHICLES, but you can use CHAOS Stratagems on any unit with the CHAOS keyword.

The same goes for Abilities, Auras, etc.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 flandarz wrote:
As long as you match the correct Keywords, you can use Stratagems on any unit you've field. For example, you can't use INFANTRY Stratagems on VEHICLES, but you can use CHAOS Stratagems on any unit with the CHAOS keyword.

The same goes for Abilities, Auras, etc.


The part with stratagems is not true.

Q: When a Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Daemons uses
the Daemon keyword, can it be used to affect any unit with
the Daemon keyword, or only units with the Daemon
Faction keyword?
A: These Stratagems can only affect units with the
Daemon Faction keyword.


And its true.

Q: Is it possible to use a Stratagem from one codex to target a unit
from another?
A: Yes, so long as the unit the Stratagem is being used on
has the appropriate keywords (note that the Stratagems
in Codex: Chaos Daemons and Codex: Tyranids are specific
exceptions to this, as discussed in the relevant FAQs
and Errata).


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/09/09 13:27:14


 
   
Made in us
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel




Douglasville, GA

Why would GW do this to us?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 flandarz wrote:
Why would GW do this to us?
Because Incompetency.

RaW you can use stratagems on anything that meets the keyword criteria, but Tyranids, Daemons and now Space Marines all have Special Snowflake FAQs prohibiting it, which CSM and Death Guard have an FAQ explicitly allowing it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/09 13:59:19


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





 flandarz wrote:
Why would GW do this to us?


so people can't deepstrike morthy and magnus

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






terry wrote:
 flandarz wrote:
Why would GW do this to us?


so people can't deepstrike morthy and magnus
They could do this by using the keyword system properly, by decoupling DAEMON from so many different meanings, and using the DAEMON keyword for wibbly-wobbly-warpstuff units and LEGIONES DAEMONICA for the Daemon Faction (and use LEGIONES DAEMONICA on stratagems), just like they have in Apocalypse.

Look, I did it for free in less than 30 seconds. If GW can't manage that in 2+ years while actually paying salaries...
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Mpls, MN

 p5freak wrote:
Welcome back, prepare to read a lot of FAQs and errata.

You cant use bloodletters in a CSM detachment in matched play. The battle brothers rule doesnt allow it. And even if you could, its not recommended because you would lose legion traits.

BATTLE BROTHERS
All of the units in each Detachment in your Battle-forged army must have at least one Faction keyword in common. In addition, this keyword cannot
be Chaos, Imperium, Aeldari, Ynnari or Tyranids, unless the Detachment in question is a Fortification Network. This has no effect on your
Army Faction.


Heralds buffs and loci do affect daemon units from a CSM detachment if they have the right mark, but you only gain loci if you have a pure daemon detachment.


Wouldn't the loophole in this be is every model has the same mark of Chaos?
So if all of your models have Slaanesh, and then you include Deamonettes, they are still fine?

REPENT for tommorrow you DIE!!!!

Chaos


I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Then you have a slanesh detachment. Not Herritical astartes or Chaos Deamons...

If that's the case, you do not open the strategems.

But yes, you should be able to make a slanesh detatchment with marines and deamonettes ,,, you just loose out on a lot.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Mpls, MN

I knew I was missing something along the way lol

REPENT for tommorrow you DIE!!!!

Chaos


I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Lets say you are running daemon engines from the black legion, and you want your engines to be able to charge after advancing. All you need to do is to include a herald of slaanesh in an aux support detachment for -1CP. The detachment is pure, therefore you unlock the slaneesh loci which lets SLAANESH DAEMONS charge after advancing. This will allow your daemon engines, which have the SLAANESH keyword to charge after advancing, because they are SLAANESH DAEMONS, and within 6" of the herald. Or you can include a patrol detachment with the herald and a unit of daemonettes.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2019/09/09 17:19:54


 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Veteran Marine with Tentacles





Mpls, MN

This would also allow you to use the Deamon Icon strats on your own CSM units correct?
IE, an Icon of Excess on a Chaos Marine unit would be able to re-roll hits and wounds once per game.

REPENT for tommorrow you DIE!!!!

Chaos


I am Red/Black
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I am both selfish and chaotic. I value self-gratification and control; I want to have things my way, preferably now. At best, I'm entertaining and surprising; at worst, I'm hedonistic and violent.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Not sure what you mean with daemon icon strat, but you can only use stratagems from the daemon codex on units from the daemon codex. It doesnt matter what detachments the units are in.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: