Switch Theme:

Dark Angels Chapter Ancient Sacred Standard ability versus Culexus Etherium ability  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Imperial Recruit in Training



Oklahoma

-DA Chapter Ancient: DARK ANGELS INFANTRY models that are destroyed within 6" of any friendly DARK ANGELS CHAPTER ANCIENTS and subsequently muster one last surge of strength before succumbing to their wounds (see Astartes Banner ability, above) always resolve their final attack as if they had a Ballistic Skill and a Weapon Skill characteristic of 2+.

-Culexus Ability: Each time an enemy model attacks this model, the attacks are resolved as if the the attacker had a BS/WS of 6+

If the DA unit is shooting at the Assassin, which takes precedence?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Q: If a model whose attacks always hit on a specific roll (such as
a Vindicare Assassin or Dark Reaper’s ranged attacks) targets
a unit that can only be hit on a specific roll (such as a unit
under the effects of the Pathfinders Stratagem), which rule takes
precedent – the attacking model’s or the target unit’s?
A: The attacking model’s ability takes precedence.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
Q: If a model whose attacks always hit on a specific roll (such as
a Vindicare Assassin or Dark Reaper’s ranged attacks) targets
a unit that can only be hit on a specific roll (such as a unit
under the effects of the Pathfinders Stratagem), which rule takes
precedent – the attacking model’s or the target unit’s?
A: The attacking model’s ability takes precedence.


Neither of these are "always hits on a X+" abilities.
They are both "the attacks are resolved as if the attack has a BS/WS of X+"
It's different syntax and that FAQ does not apply.

Unfortunately, I can not seem to find the answer... I would say the closest is thing for precedence is this quoted FAQ but its a house rule because no RAW seems to exist that I can find.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






PapaHorror wrote:
-DA Chapter Ancient: DARK ANGELS INFANTRY models that are destroyed within 6" of any friendly DARK ANGELS CHAPTER ANCIENTS and subsequently muster one last surge of strength before succumbing to their wounds (see Astartes Banner ability, above) always resolve their final attack as if they had a Ballistic Skill and a Weapon Skill characteristic of 2+.

-Culexus Ability: Each time an enemy model attacks this model, the attacks are resolved as if the the attacker had a BS/WS of 6+

If the DA unit is shooting at the Assassin, which takes precedence?
Neither do, because GW can't write rules. You have to invoke TMIR and roll off.
   
Made in us
Morally-Flexible Malleus Hearing Whispers




I have always seen it played as attacking unit takes precedence in situations like this.
   
Made in tw
Regular Dakkanaut




DA takes precedence since it says always.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: