Switch Theme:

Full shooting attack v.s. shooting attack  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





I was looking at the Deathstorm drop pod.
It mentions that you should make a "full shooting attack"
Does that mean you shoot the entire heavy 2 ? or is it the same as making a "shooting attack" and just resolve a single attack ?

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

It always has to do both shots.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"When fired, this weapon makes one full Shooting attack against each enemy unit within range"

So if it is Heavy 2, you make 2 shots.

If it is Heavy 6, you make 6 shots.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





 p5freak wrote:
It always has to do both shots.


So it has this rule on the weapon

When fired, this weapon makes one full Shooting attack against each enemy unit within range, except CHARACTERS. A unit consisting entirely of CHARACTERS may only be attacked if it is the closest enemy unit to the Deathstorm Drop Pod when the attack is declared


so does this mean it shoots 2 shots at every unit within range, as a result of the ability, or ?

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




"Full shooting attack" isn't a self-contained term that's defined in the rules AFAIK. Why GW can't use consistent wording is beyond me (or is this a FW unit?) The only interpretation I can reasonably see working is that it means a shooting attack, which is firing the gun at each target. So if it's Heavy 2 that's two shots at each enemy unit in range. I'm not sure what other interpretation could be reasonably applied.
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Slipspace wrote:
"Full shooting attack" isn't a self-contained term that's defined in the rules AFAIK. Why GW can't use consistent wording is beyond me (or is this a FW unit?) The only interpretation I can reasonably see working is that it means a shooting attack, which is firing the gun at each target. So if it's Heavy 2 that's two shots at each enemy unit in range. I'm not sure what other interpretation could be reasonably applied.


It does happen to be a FW unit. I realize the language on FW units are sometimes confusing but just wondering how it should work XD.

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Yes, it shoots two shots at every enemy unit within range. Ignore the word full, its FW Every model that shoots has to shoot every shot the weapon is capable of.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2019/10/29 12:40:18


 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thanks for the clarifications guys

As an aside, as "infinite" rolls is actually impossible even if the FAQ "allows" it, then it will always be a non-zero chance to pass them all. Eventually the two players will die. If they pass the game on to their decendents, they too will eventually die. And, at the end of it all, the universe will experience heat death and it, too, will die. In the instance of "infinite" hits, we're talking more of functional infinity, rather than literal.

RAW you can't pass the game onto descendants, permissive ruleset. Unless we get an FAQ from GW.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: